Reading Time: 2 minutes

Like every year, the experts of Echangeur went to Portugal for the biggest European Geeks’ Meeting: the WebSummit !

This fair is now a must and it took place from November 5th till November 8th 2018. It gathered in one place the entire tech, digital and innovation ecosystem. With the CES in Las Vegas and in Shanghai, the NRF in New York and the SXSW in Austin, this is one of the key observation moment for our experts when writing the trend report #CommerceReloaded and the conference of the same name which will take place on march 21st 2019.

Watch here the daily debriefings of our experts !

DEBRIEFING DAY 1

For Nicolas Diacono, technological trends expert at Echangeur, the striking points of this first day at the Web Summit 2018 are the urban farms especially with the startup Plenty, the Ikea stores being almost self sufficient when it comes to energy production, the personal data protection with the startup PrivacyAudit, the great tool of Uizardwhich converts automatically a drawing into a ligne of code, or also the keynote of the president of  Samsung Kim Hyun Suk on the topic of privacy and property of personal data… Enjoy !

DEBRIEFING DAY 2

Nicolas Diacono comes back on this 2nd day spent at the WebSummit in Lisbon.
A particular focus on transportation and especially “flying” innovations with Eurocopter and Lilium. We also see that more and more vehicles are powered by biofuel including Scania. Finally, on the transport aspect, a special focus on Virgin Galactic and its space tourism. Also 2 key startups: Wave and LVL5, which offer optimization of the visualization of autonomous cars via Lidars. Finally it is all the stake around the voice that is presented at WebSummit including Mozilla, which offers an open voice system.

DEBRIEFING DAY 3

On this last day of the show, a little summary on the WebSummit and its 70,000 visitors, its 1,200 journalists … and the impression of having fewer startups than last year. However the quality of startups is still high. One of the big topics of this 2018 edition is the autonomous car, until the announcement of the organization of a championship of autonomous cars with the startup roborace. The smart city and smart buildings are not left out. We are talking about lifts that would allow horizontal and vertical movement in our buildings … Image recognition becomes mainstream. According to the Pinterest CEO, the smartphone camera is becoming the new consumer keyboard. Finally, China innovates on video by offering Operating Systems dedicated to video that will allow shopping directly in videos and all this very easily.
The strong messages are that to be creative, you have to get out of the process and the big trend is to make sense again, both to the consumption but more globally to the lives of the inhabitants of the planet. Finally, the AI ​​is present everywhere, (HR, Education, Health … and is the keystone of the algorithmic economy. A top trend to follow very closely!

Save the date : mark down on your diaries the event Commerce Reloaded on march, 21st 2019 in order to have a condensed and clear vision of the techno trends and their impact on retail and on the consumer journey !

Web Summit 2018
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Comme chaque année, les experts de l’Echangeur se sont rendus au Portugal, plus précisément à Lisbonne pour le grand rendez vous des geeks : le WebSummit !

Ce salon désormais incontournable se déroule du 5 au 8 novembre 2018 et regroupe en un seul lieu l’ensemble de l’écosystème tech, digital et innovation. Avec le CES de Las Vegas et de Shanghai, La NRF de New York et le SXSW d’Austin, c’est l’une des étapes d’observation clés pour nos experts dans la rédaction du rapport #CommerceReloaded et de la conférence du même nom qui se tiendra le 21 mars 2019.

Retrouvez en vidéo les débriefings journaliers de nos experts !

DEBRIEFING DAY 1

Pour Nicolas Diacono, expert tendances technologiques à l’Echangeur, les points marquants de cette 1ère journée au Web Summit 2018 sont les fermes urbaines avec notamment la startup Plenty, les magasins Ikea quasi autonomes en termes d’énergie, la protection des données personnelles avec la startup PrivacyAudit, l’outil génial de Uizardqui convertit automatiquement un dessin en ligne de code, ou encore l’intervention du président de Samsung Kim Hyun Suk sur le sujet de la propriété des datas personnelles des utilisateurs… Bon visionnage !

DEBRIEFING DAY 2

Nicolas Diacono revient à chaud sur cette 2ème journée passée au WebSummit de Lisbonne.
Un focus particulier sur les transports et notamment les innovations « volantes » avec Eurocopter et Lilium. On voit aussi que de plus en plus de véhicules sont propulsés grâce au biofuel notamment ceux de Scania. Enfin sur le volet transport, un focus particulier sur Virgin Galactic et son tourisme spacial. Egalement 2 startups marquantes : Wave et LVL5, qui proposent des optimisation de la visualisation des voitures autonomes via les Lidars. Enfin c’est tout l’enjeu autour de la voix qui est présenté au WebSummit avec notamment Mozilla, qui propose un système vocal ouvert.

DEBRIEFING DAY 3

En ce dernier jour de salon, un petit récap sur le WebSummit et ses 70 000 visiteurs, ses 1200 journalistes… et l’impression d’avoir un peu moins de startups que l’année dernière. Cependant la qualité des startups est au RDV. Un des gros sujets de cette édition 2018, c’est bien la voiture autonome, jusqu’à l’annonce de l’organisation d’un championnat de voitures autonomes avec la startup roborace. La smart city et les smart buildings ne sont pas en reste. On parle d’ascenseurs qui permettraient des déplacement horizontaux et verticaux dans nos immeubles… La reconnaissance d’image devient mainstream. Selon le CEO de Pinterest, la caméra des smartphones devient le nouveau clavier des consommateurs. Enfin la Chine innove sur la vidéo en proposant des Operating Systems dédiés à la vidéo qui permettront de faire du shopping directement dans des vidéos et cela très facilement.
Les messages forts sont que pour être créatif, il faut s’affranchir des process et que la grosse tendance est de redonner du sens, à la fois à la consommation mais plus globalement à la vie des habitants de la planète. Enfin l’AI est présente partout, (HR, Education, Health… et est la clé de voute de l’économie algorithmique. Tendance de fond à suivre de très près !

Save the date : RDV à la prochaine édition de Commerce Reloaded du 21 mars 2019 afin d’avoir le condensé et l’analyse de toutes les tendances technologiques et leurs impacts sur le parcours client !