What's hot in...?
Reading Time: 8 minutes

Bertrand Leseigneur, our US Retail Innovation correspondent, explains how New-York opens up slowly by slowly and embrace the post-Covid era.


EDITO

Stores open almost normally following very strict rules. Thus, the number of people in store is limited, opening hours are shorter to allow more time for cleaning and especially the payment process evolves to leave more freedom to customers. The FinTechs sector is therefore exploding in various offers allowing Americans to pay, be paid or invest.

Similarly, the last few months have been marked by the Black Lives Matter movement. This protest movement against police violence against African-American populations has received strong support from the population, and from companies that have had to adapt their communication strategy and sometimes their board of directors.

Finally, the other topic that drives the city and businesses is the presidential election in November. This election, which will, as always, have a global impact, is even more important this year because of the economic and health situation in the United States. Businesses are calling for a massive vote this year and many initiatives are being put in place to make it easier for employees to vote.

 

FinTechs

FinTech start-ups are transforming the U.S. financial sector, including the way people lend, invest, lend, finance start-ups and even buy insurance. On average, one in three active consumers uses at least two financial technology services. Already in 2018, the United States accounted for 57% of the global FinTech market and it continues to grow.

Fintech

The stock market investment sector is currently undergoing a major transformation. Google has even needed to offer a new web and mobile interface for its Google Finance in order to meet the growing demand for information on the stock markets.

Four of these FinTech startups are making a lot of headlines right now:

Square

Square is a fintech company that initially specialized in payment processing solutions for small businesses in the United States. It is Jack Dorsey‘s company, who is also the CEO of Twitter.

Square is developing a comprehensive business ecosystem by integrating value-added services to complement its payment solutions across physical and online channels. The start-up has the advantage of being present in almost all sectors of commerce.
GPV industry

via Square

The volume of these transactions increases every year.

 

The company has also enjoyed incredible success in reaching the consumer market with P2P payments and cryptocurrency trading.

Square’s enormous advantage over its competitors lies in its simplicity. The Covid has forced some stores to quickly equip themselves with contactless payment solutions and Square perfectly meets this demand for customers who pay by credit card in particular.

 

RobinHood

Robinhood is an app that offers to trade on the stock exchange without commission.

Based in NY, the app democratized investment by being the first to offer commission-free transactions and conquered the Millennial generation with its easy-to-use “mobile first” platform that avoids much of the traditional Wall Street suffocation. The app even offers you a free stock to sign up. Many Americans opened a RobinHood account using the $1,200 stimulus sent by the U.S. government during the Covid crisis.

Bourse

 

Currently valued at more than $11 billion, the startup’s first investors include rappers Snoop Dogg, Jay-z and Nas and actor Jared Leto. By the end of 2019, RobinHood announced that it already had more than 10 million users (in the U.S. alone).

RobinHood generates significant revenue from payments for the flow of orders, a common but controversial practice where a broker receives compensation and other benefits to direct orders to different parties for the execution of transactions.

An independent analysis suggests that payments for the order flow generated an estimated $69 million in revenue for Robinhood in 2018, up 227% from the previous year, and accounted for more than 40% of its overall revenue, according to a Bloomberg report.

Other sources of revenue include a $5 monthly fee for optional Robinhood Gold membership, which gives the customer access to loans and investment tools and purchase fees with the Robinhood card.

But this ease of buying shares also has many risks. Some users do not yet realize the risks associated with investing in the stock market and many complaints were filed last year against RobinHood for technical problems, which prevented some traders from making their offers, which caused them to lose a lot of money.

In June, Kearns, a 20-year-old trader, committed suicide after his RobinHood account mistakenly showed significant losses from the purchase of shares in companies through fairly complex transactions.

The ease of use must therefore be accompanied by serious precautions because investing in the stock market is not for everyone.

Public

Public is an equity brokerage company based on a mobile application that does not charge commissions on transactions.

Public was founded in 2017 and recently announced a $15 million Series B funding round. Investors included Will Smith, NFL star J.J. Watt and Scott Galloway.

What differentiates Public from RobinHood is that the start-up offers the purchase of shares in fractions. By dividing actions into smaller units, Public makes them accessible to more people. Instead of paying by the share, you pay in dollars.

Public’s other advantage is its online investor community. Some of them are experts in the field, others individuals and sometimes you can meet stars and see what actions they own on Public.

Star

It is also easy to create a group discussion with other users to talk strategy and exchange information to better “trade”.

This strategy can work because many market players accuse RobinHood of pushing users with no real knowledge to invest their money without really knowing what they are doing.

Venmo

We have already written an article about Venmo, the startup bought by PayPal , which allows you to make payments between any individual using the mobile app. Venmo is one of the big winners of the pandemic, as it can be used by many professionals who previously only accepted cash payments or who do not wish to invest in machines for cash collection.

The CVS chain of stores has just announced that it will accept payments from Venmo. When arriving at the checkout, the customer will only have to scan a Qr Code which will send him to his Venmo account in order to pay the amount of the bill requested by the store.

Venmo

Via Venmo

No more physical contact and a real simplicity of installation.

During the second quarter, Venmo announced that it had increased the amount of payments made to a total of $37 billion by 52% compared to the previous year.

Venmo

The #BLM movement

Black Lives Matter (BLM) is a political and social movement that advocates a form of non-violent civil disobedience to protest police brutality and racially motivated violence against blacks. The movement returned to the headlines and gained more international attention after the murder of George Floyd by a Minneapolis police officer. An estimated 15 to 26 million people participated in this year’s protests in the United States, making Black Lives Matter one of the largest movements in U.S. history.

New-York City was very concerned about the movement and these protests gave rise to several impulses in the city.

Black lives matter

A movement of financial or human support during demonstrations by many companies and stores:

BLM

An artistic movement, which took over the protective barricades of some shops in Soho in particular to show the support of artists to the movement.

Mouvement artistique Mouvement artistique

A movement in support of students and academia: at the entrance to the university buildings in NY, we can now see this plaque.

Soutien des étudiants

Banks are also beginning to communicate on their windows about the need for unity in the country. Below is the case of Chase, a bank with a strategy that focuses on local community (read more).

Banques

A community movement: some merchants clearly displaying to be “Black Owned Businesses” and Google is even now proposing to spot businesses run and created by African-Americans.

 

Politics and Trade

Tensions are rising between supporters of both sides ahead of the US presidential elections in November. Traditionally, this election is held on the 1st Tuesday of November, because it allowed rural people to come to the city to vote in the old days. Sometimes it took a day’s drive to get into town and you didn’t travel on Sunday, a day of prayer in the United States. Tuesday was therefore the preferred day.

It is a weekday and some have to take on their working time to go and vote or to volunteer at polling stations.

Many companies (such as Tory Burch) give their employees paid leave to work at the ballot box and vote. For example, Old Navy and Patagonia are participating in an initiative to recruit volunteers to their businesses to assist at polling stations in the face of a projected shortage of polling workers at the national level as a result of the current pandemic.

Apple has already announced that it is offering its employees 4 hours to vote. Coca Cola will give a day off to vote.

Time To Vote movement, launched in February, brings together more than 600 U.S. companies that will provide facilities for their employees to vote.

The move comes at a time when U.S. companies are facing increasing pressure to help increase voter turnout and demonstrate a deeper commitment to social responsibility. It will take more than 350,000 volunteers for these élections.

S'inscrire pour voter

Other companies such as Patagonia (above) and H&M are using their advertising resources in Times Square to emphasize the importance of voting.

H&M

At Nordstrom Women, the shopping paradise for New Yorkers, the message is the same !

Nordstrom Women

The NBA, which currently has a strong presence in the social and political sector, plans to open some of its locations to become polling stations in November.

Americans are bombarded with messages every day or almost encouraging them to register to vote.

Even Uber is getting on with it. Four years ago, the people transport start-up was already offering price reductions when your trip was used to vote.

Uber

It is interesting to note, however, that companies are calling for a vote because it is an important event in the life of the nation. But those who call to vote for a specific candidate always have to deal with backlash, as in this Hobby Lobby store, whose customers are calling for a boycott.

USA vote Trump


BERTRAND LESEIGNEUR

Article published on 6 October 2020 by

Bertrand LESEIGNEUR
Echangeur US Retail Innovation Correspondent

write to him

What's hot in...?
Reading Time: 8 minutes

Bertrand Leseigneur, notre correspondant Retail innovation US,
décrypte pour nous comment New York et ses magasins emblématiques amorcent chaque jour un peu plus leur transition vers l’ère post Covid.


L’EDITO

Les magasins ouvrent presque normalement en suivant des règles très strictes. Ainsi, le nombre de personnes en magasin est limité, les heures d’ouverture sont plus courtes pour laisser plus de temps pour le nettoyage et surtout le processus de paiement évolue pour laisser plus de liberté aux clients. Le secteur des FinTechs explose donc en différentes offres permettant aux américains de payer, d’être payé ou d’investir.

De même, les derniers mois ont été marqués par le mouvement Black Lives Matter. Ce mouvement de contestation contre les violences policières envers les populations afro-américaines a reçu un fort soutien de la population, et des entreprises qui ont dû adapter leur stratégie de communication et parfois leur board de directeurs.

Enfin, l’autre sujet qui anime la ville et les entreprises est l’élection présidentielle de novembre. Cette élection qui aura comme toujours un retentissement mondial a une importance encore plus grande cette année du fait de la situation économique et sanitaire des Etats-Unis. Les entreprises appellent massivement à voter cette année et de nombreuses initiatives sont mises en place pour faciliter le vote des employés.

 

Les FinTechs

Les start-ups de la FinTech transforment le secteur financier américain, y compris la façon dont les gens prêtent, investissent, optent pour des prêts, financent des start-ups et même achètent des assurances. En moyenne, un consommateur actif sur trois utilise au moins deux services de technologie financière. Déjà en 2018, les États-Unis représentaient 57% du marché mondial de la FinTech et celui-ci ne cesse de grandir.

Fintech

Le secteur de l’investissement en Bourse est en grande mutation actuellement. Google a même eu besoin de proposer une nouvelle interface web et mobile pour son Google Finance afin de répondre à la demande croissante d’informations sur les marchés boursiers.

Quatre de ces startups FinTech font beaucoup parler d’elles actuellement :

Square

Square est une société Fintech qui s’est initialement spécialisée dans les solutions de traitement des paiements pour les petites entreprises aux États-Unis. C’est aussi avant tout la société de Jack Dorsey qui est aussi le CEO de Twitter.

Square met en place un écosystème commercial complet en intégrant des services à valeur ajoutée pour compléter ses solutions de paiement sur les canaux physiques et en ligne. La start-up a l’avantage d’être présente dans presque tous les secteurs du commerce.GPV industry

via Square

Le volume de ces transactions augmente d’ailleurs tous les ans.

La société a également connu un succès incroyable pour atteindre le marché de la consommation avec les paiements P2P et le trading de crypto-monnaie.

L’énorme avantage de Square par rapport à ses concurrents réside dans sa simplicité. Le Covid a obligé certains magasins à s’équiper rapidement de solutions de paiement sans contact et Square répond parfaitement à cette demande pour les clients qui payent par carte bancaire notamment.

 

RobinHood

Robinhood est une application qui propose de faire des transactions en bourse sans commission.

Installée à NY, l’application a démocratisé l’investissement en étant la première à proposer des transactions sans commission et a conquis la génération des Millenials avec sa plateforme “mobile first » et facile à utiliser qui évite une grande partie de l’étouffement traditionnel de Wall Street. L’application vous offre même un stock gratuit pour vous inscrire. De nombreux Américains ont ouvert un compte RobinHood en utilisant les 1200$ de stimulus envoyés par le gouvernement américain durant la crise du Covid.

BourseActuellement valorisée à plus de 11 milliards de dollars, la startup compte parmi ses premiers investisseurs les rappeurs Snoop Dogg, Jay-z et Nas et l’acteur Jared Leto. Fin 2019, RobinHood a annoncé avoir déjà plus de 10 millions d’utilisateurs (sur le seul territoire américain).

RobinHood génère des revenus importants à partir des paiements pour le flux d’ordres, une pratique courante bien que controversée selon laquelle un courtier reçoit une compensation et d’autres avantages pour diriger des ordres vers différents parties pour l’exécution des transactions.

Une analyse indépendante suggère que les paiements pour le flux de commandes ont généré un chiffre d’affaires estimé à 69 millions de dollars pour Robinhood en 2018, en hausse de 227% par rapport à l’année précédente, et ont représenté plus de 40% de son chiffre d’affaires global, selon un rapport de Bloomberg.

Les autres sources de revenus comprennent des frais mensuels de 5 $ pour l’adhésion facultative à Robinhood Gold, qui donne au client l’accès à des prêts et à des outils d’investissement et les frais d’achat avec la carte Robinhood.

Mais cette facilité d’opérer des achats d’actions a aussi de nombreux risques. Certains utilisateurs ne réalisent pas encore les risques liés à l’investissement en bourse et de nombreuses plaintes ont été déposées l’an dernier contre RobinHood pour des problèmes techniques, qui ont empêché certains traders de passer leurs offres, ce qui leur a fait perdre beaucoup d’argent.

En juin, Kearns, un trader âgé de 20 ans, s’est suicidé après que son compte RobinHood ait montré par erreur des pertes importantes à la suite de l’achat d’actions de sociétés via des opérations assez complexes.

La facilité d’utilisation doit donc être accompagnée de sérieuses précautions car investir en bourse n’est pas pour tout le monde.

Public

Public est une société de courtage en actions basée sur une application mobile et qui ne facture pas de commissions sur les transactions.

Public a été fondé en 2017 et a récemment annoncé une ronde de financement de la série B d’une valeur de 15 millions de dollars. Les investisseurs comprenaient Will Smith, la star de la NFL J.J. Watt et Scott Galloway.

Ce qui différencie Public de RobinHood, c’est que la start-up propose l’achat d’actions en fractionné. En découpant les actions en unités plus petites, Public les rend accessibles à plus de personnes. Au lieu de payer à la part, vous payez en dollars.

L’autre avantage de Public est sa communauté d’investisseurs accessibles en ligne. Certains d’entre eux sont des experts en la matière, d’autres des particuliers et parfois on peut y croiser des stars et voir quelles actions ils/elles possèdent sur Public.

Star

On peut aussi facilement créer une discussion de groupe avec d’autres utilisateurs pour parler stratégie et échanger des informations pour mieux “trader”.

Cette stratégie peut fonctionner car de nombreux acteurs du marché reprochent à RobinHood de pousser des utilisateurs sans réelles connaissances à investir leur argent sans vraiment savoir ce qu’ils font.

Venmo

Nous avons déjà écrit un article sur Venmo, cette startup rachetée par PayPal , qui permet de faire des paiements entre n’importe quel individu utilisant l’application mobile. Venmo est un des grands vainqueurs de la pandémie, car elle peut être utilisée par de nombreux professionnels qui auparavant n’acceptaient que le paiement en espèces ou qui ne souhaitent pas investir dans des machines pour leur encaissement.

La chaîne de magasins CVS vient d’annoncer accepter les paiements par Venmo. En arrivant en caisse, le client n’aura qu’à scanner un Qr Code qui l’enverra vers son compte Venmo afin de payer le montant de la facture demandée par le magasin.

Venmo

Via Venmo

Plus aucun contact physique et une réelle simplicité d’installation.

Durant le deuxième trimestre, Venmo a annoncé avoir augmenté de 52% le montant des versements effectués pour un total de 37 milliards de dollars, par rapport à l’année précédente.

Venmo

Le mouvement #BLM

Black Lives Matter (BLM) est un mouvement politique et social qui préconise une forme de désobéissance civile non violente pour protester contre les brutalités policières et toute violence à motivation raciale contre les Noirs. Le mouvement est revenu à la une des journaux et a gagné une plus grande attention internationale après le meurtre de George Floyd par un officier de police de Minneapolis. On estime que 15 à 26 millions de personnes ont participé aux manifestations de cette année aux États-Unis, faisant de Black Lives Matter l’un des plus grands mouvements de l’histoire des États-Unis.

La ville a de New York a été très concernée par le mouvement et ces manifestations ont fait naître plusieurs élans dans la ville.

Black lives matter

Un mouvement de soutien financier ou humain lors des manifestations de la part de nombreuses entreprises et magasins :

BLM

Un mouvement artistique, qui s’est emparé des barricades de protection de certains magasins de Soho notamment pour afficher le soutien des artistes au mouvement.

Mouvement artistique Mouvement artistique

Un mouvement de soutien des étudiants et du monde universitaire : à l’entrée des bâtiments universitaires de NY, on peut maintenant voir cette plaque.

Soutien des étudiants

Les banques commencent elles aussi à communiquer sur leur vitrine sur le besoin d’unité dans le pays. Ici la banque Chase, sur laquelle nous avions également consacré un article, joue la carte de la communauté et du local.

Banques

Un mouvement communautaire : certains commerçants affichant clairement être “Black Owned Businesses” et Google propose même maintenant de repérer les commerces tenus et créés par des Afro-américains.

Politique et Commerce

A l’approche des élections présidentielles américaines en novembre, la tension monte entre les partisans des deux camps. Par tradition, cette élection se tient le 1er mardi du mois de novembre, car cela permettait dans l’ancien temps, aux ruraux de venir en ville pour voter. Il fallait parfois une journée de route pour aller en ville et on ne voyageait pas le dimanche, jour de prière aux Etats-Unis. Le mardi a donc été la journée privilégiée.

C’est un jour de semaine et certains doivent prendre sur leur temps de travail pour aller voter ou pour être bénévole dans les bureaux de vote.

De nombreuses entreprises (comme Tory Burch notamment) accordent à leurs employés des congés payés pour travailler aux urnes électorales et voter. Ainsi Old Navy et Patagonia participent à une initiative visant à recruter des volontaires dans leurs entreprises pour aller aider dans les bureaux de vote, face à une pénurie prévue de travailleurs du scrutin au niveau national, du fait de la pandémie actuelle.

Apple a déjà annoncé offrir 4h payées à ses employés pour aller voter. Coca Cola donnera une journée de congé payé pour aller voter.

Le mouvement Time To Vote lancé en février regroupe plus de 600 compagnies américaines qui vont accorder des facilités à leurs employés pour aller voter.

Cette décision intervient alors que les entreprises américaines sont confrontées à une pression croissante pour aider à augmenter le taux de participation électorale et à montrer un engagement plus profond envers les responsabilités sociales. Il faudra plus de 350 000 volontaires pour ces élections.

S'inscrire pour voter

D’autres entreprises comme Patagonia ou H&M utilisent leurs ressources publicitaires sur Times Square notamment pour insister sur l’importance d’aller voter.

H&M

Chez Nordstrom Women, le paradis shopping des New Yorkaise, le message de sensibilisation est le même ! 

Nordstrom Women

La NBA, très présente dans le secteur sociale et politique actuellement, a prévu d’ouvrir certains de ses emplacements pour devenir des bureaux de vote en novembre.

Les américains sont bombardés de messages chaque jour ou presque les incitant à s’inscrire pour voter.

Même Uber s’y met. Il y a 4 ans la start-up de transport de personnes proposait déjà des réductions de prix quand votre trajet servait à aller voter.

Uber

Il est cependant intéressant de noter que les entreprises appellent à voter car c’est un événement important de la vie de la Nation. Mais celles qui appellent à voter pour un candidat spécifique ont toujours à faire à des retours de bâton, comme dans ce magasin Hobby Lobby, dont les clients appellent au boycott.

USA vote Trump


BERTRAND LESEIGNEUR

Article publié le 6 octobre 2020 par

Bertrand LESEIGNEUR
Correspondant Echangeur Retail Innovation USA

lui écrire