Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

WHAT’S HOT IN STORES ? ECHANGEUR’S CHRONICLE FROM NEW YORK

25
aug
2017
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
3 minutes
After the holidays, the newsletter is back with the short opinionated column by  Guillaume Rio, our retail innovation expert.

On the programme of this transatlantic newsletter:

  • Macy’s continues to offer new in-store customer experiences with a bot,
  • Brooklyn experimenting with self-service beer,
  • Prolonging the holiday mood with a street marketing campaign somewhere between Tinder and Delta Airlines.
  • A hard look at the retail outlets: Sonos’s partnership with West Elm is thriving whereas the Microsoft store is running out of steam…

 

Macy’s continues to develop new services and launches its Chatbot

Have chatbots already become an everyday feature of American life? They are no longer making the headlines.

A passing fad? An adopted custom? Only consulting firms are still publishing forecasts on this market.

According to a PwC study, 27% of consumers weren’t sure if their last customer service interaction was with a human or a chatbot. But according to Gartner, chatbots will be handling more than 85% of all customer interaction in 2020.
In stores, brands are increasingly implementing the IBM Watson technology to best meet their customers’ requirements. Macy’s for instance has launched a bot, Macy’s on Call, to help customers find what is the product that interests them in the store. However, such assistance is still far from perfect, especially for in-store guides. In concrete terms, it is not a bot on Messenger but a mobile site available in store that uses Watson to help customers find the best product. Below, the mobile and web interfaces!

macys chatbot

Whether in store or at home, you can connect to the bot and ask it any question you want. So this tool is used to prepare a store visit or ask for information once in the store. Customers can make enquiries in natural language about products, the warehouse and the brand, and get personalized answers. Macy’s decided to launch this service when they noticed that customers were referring more to their smartphones than to the sales staff in store.

Watson also tests real-time translation into Spanish. The tool will learn and become smarter over time. Find out more information on Macy’service here.

 

A new customer experience in the bars of New York 

It’s not just stores that are innovating in search of the best customer experience, bars are too!

They need to cut waiting time during busy periods. For instance, a bar in Brooklyn proposes the “Beer ATM”. The system is very simple. You are given an RFID card in exchange for your bank card at the bar. With this card you can activate one of the 24 beer fountains. Each fountain matches a different beer and you can fill up your glass at your convenience. You no longer need to wait for the barman or a waiter. You help yourself whenever you want. Naturally the barman is still there to serve cocktails, spirits or high-end beers. When you are ready to leave, the RFID card has recorded all your orders and you only need to go and pay the bill.

bar in brooklyn with beer atm

 

Tinder and Delta Airlines for a street marketing campaign all in images 

One of the most striking marketing facts in Brooklyn is that there is virtually no poster advertising at all. Posters are replaced by advertisements painted by artists. That is what inspired Delta Airlines in its partnership with the Tinder dating app.
Delta asked artists to paint a fresco representing certain holiday destinations to help Tinder users show off their love of travel. You take a selfie in front of one of the painted monuments then just upload the picture to your Tinder account to give the impression that you are a seasoned traveller. You can always go there in later with Delta Airlines with your new companion.

the partnership between delta & tinder in brooklyn

 

Top Choice : Sonos sets up shop in furniture stores 

Loudspeaker manufacturer SONOS is not content with having opened a magnificent showroom store right in the centre of Soho. It is also increasingly present in furniture stores. A complete corner is set aside for SONOS in the West Elm store to help customers visualize how to have the best furniture and acoustics in the home. Not only can customers buy furniture in store, they can also choose the speakers that best match their environment!

Sonos in NYC for furniture shops

 

Questions about the Microsoft Store…

Microsoft had made the headlines in 2015 by opening its first New York store on 5th Avenue. 2 years on, the disappointment is evident. While Apple is undertaking building work to double the size of its neighbouring store (also on 5th Avenue), Microsoft’s concept store for its part still looks as if it is in the process of relocating: there are cables everywhere, products are arranged randomly and above all the staff spend more time playing on games or carrying out their own experiments than serving customers. That being the case, competing with Apple in store is becoming increasingly difficult…

not so god at microsoft concept store

 

Article published on August 31th 2017 by

Guillaume RIO
Echangeur Retail Innovation Expert

Send him a message

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialist
Back to the top

+ d'actus

whats hot in store NYC

Retour des vacances, et reprise de la newsletter avec le billet d’humeur de Bertrand Leseigneur, notre correspondant Retail innovation USA. 

Au programme de cette rentrée outre atlantique :

  • Macy’s continue de proposer de nouvelles expériences client en magasin en s’appuyant sur un bot,
  • Brooklyn expérimente la bière en self-service,
  • l’effet vacances prolongé grâce à l’opération de street marketing entre Tinder et Delta Airlines.
  • Retour en dur sur les points de vente : Sonos a tout bon pour son partenariat avec West Elm tandis que le magasin Microsoft s’essouffle…

 

Macy’s continue de développer de nouveaux services et lance son chatbot

Les bots conversationnels sont-ils  déjà entrés dans les moeurs des américains ? Le buzz tend à s’estomper.

Effet de mode ? Usage adopté?  Seuls les cabinets de consulting continuent à publier des prévisions sur ce marché.

Ainsi, selon une étude PwC, 27% des consommateurs qui interagissent avec un service client ne savent pas s’ils communiquent avec un bot ou un humain. Or, selon Gartner, les chatbots vont gérer plus de 85% de toutes les interactions clients en 2020.
En magasin, les marques intègrent de plus en plus la technologie IBM Watson pour répondre au mieux aux attentes des clients. Macy’s a par exemple lancé un bot, Macy’s on Call, pour aider les clients à trouver plus facilement en magasin le produit qui les intéresse. Cependant, cette aide est encore loin d’être parfaite notamment en ce qui concerne le guidage en magasin. Concrètement il ne s’agit pas un bot sur Messenger mais d’un site mobile disponible en magasin qui s’appuie sur Watson afin d‘aider le client à trouver le meilleur produit. Retrouvez ci-dessous l’interface mobile et l’interface web.

macys chatbot

Que vous soyez en magasin ou chez vous, vous pouvez vous connecter au bot et lui poser toutes vos questions. L’outil sert donc à préparer un passage en magasin ou à se renseigner une fois en magasin. Les clients peuvent poser des questions en langage naturel sur les produits, le magasin ou les marques et reçoivent ensuite des réponses personnalisées. Macy’s a décidé de lancer ce service après s’être aperçu que les clients faisaient davantage appel à leur smartphone qu’aux vendeurs en magasin.
Watson teste aussi la traduction en temps réel en Espagnol. Ainsi, l’outil va apprendre afin de devenir plus intelligent avec le temps. Retrouvez la description du service Macy’s ici.

 

Une nouvelle expérience client dans les bars new yorkais

Il n’y a pas que les magasins qui innovent à la recherche de la meilleure expérience client, les bars aussi !

Ils souhaitent réduire le temps d’attente en cas d’affluence. Un bar de Brooklyn vient ainsi de proposer le “Beer ATM”. Le système est très simple. Une carte RFID vous est échangée contre votre carte bancaire au bar. Cette carte permet d’activer l’une des 24 fontaines à bière. Chaque fontaine correspond à une bière spécifique et vous pouvez remplir votre verre à votre convenance. Plus besoin d’attendre que le barman ou un serveur se libère pour vous. Vous vous servez quand vous voulez. Le barman reste bien sûr disponible pour toute commande de cocktails, d’alcools spécifiques ou de bières haut de gamme. Quand vous souhaitez partir, la carte RFID a enregistrée toutes vos commandes et vous n’avez plus qu’à aller régler l’addition.

bar in brooklyn with beer atm

 

Tinder et Delta Airlines pour une opération de street marketing  tout en images

Un des faits marketing les plus marquants à Brooklyn est l’absence presque complète d’affichage publicitaire. Les affiches sont remplacées par des publicités peintes par des artistes. C’est ce qui a inspiré la compagnie aérienne Delta Airlines dans son partenariat avec l’application de rencontre Tinder.
Delta a donc demandé à des artistes de faire une fresque murale qui représente certains lieux de vacances afin d’aider les utilisateurs de Tinder à montrer leurs goûts pour les voyages. Vous vous prenez en photo devant l’un des monuments peints et il ne vous reste plus qu’à charger l’image sur votre Tinder pour faire croire que vous êtes un grand voyageur. Vous pourrez toujours aller sur place avec Delta Airlines plus tard avec votre nouveau (nouvelle) compagnon (compagne).

the partnership between delta & tinder in brooklyn

 

Coup de cœur : Sonos s’installe dans les magasins de meubles

Le fabricant de haut-parleurs SONOS ne se contente pas d’avoir ouvert un magnifique magasin showroom en plein coeur de Soho. La marque est aussi de plus en plus présente dans les magasins de meubles. Ainsi, un corner complet est dédié à SONOS au sein du magasin West Elm afin d’aider les clients à visualiser comment avoir les plus beaux meubles et la meilleure acoustique à la maison. Non seulement le client peut acheter ses meubles en magasin, mais également choisir l’enceinte qui conviendra parfaitement à son environnement !

Sonos in NYC for furniture shops

 

On se pose des questions quant à l’avenir du magasin Microsoft…

Microsoft avait créé l’événement en 2015 en ouvrant son premier magasin new yorkais sur la 5ème Avenue. 2 ans après la déception est là. Pendant qu’Apple fait des travaux pour doubler la taille de son magasin voisin (aussi situé sur la 5ème avenue), le concept store de Microsoft semble lui toujours en phase d’aménagement: des câbles partout, des produits disposés de façon aléatoire et surtout des employés qui passent plus de temps à jouer sur les consoles ou faire leur propre expérimentation plutôt qu’à être au service des clients. Dans ces conditions, concurrencer Apple en magasin devient de plus en plus difficile… comme quoi la technologie ne fait pas tout…

not so god at microsoft concept store

 

BERTRAND LESEIGNEUR

Article publié le 31 Août 2017 par

Bertrand LESEIGNEUR
Correspondant Echangeur Retail Innovation USA

lui écrire