Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

WHAT’S HOT IN NYC… Coronavirus and retail in the United States

20
apr
2020
Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
6 minutes
Bertand Leseigneur,  our Retail Innovation US correspondent, this month shares with us the dramatic situation for retailers in NYC since the Covid19.

Download here the presentation showed in the video


Retail in New York is taking a break

In New York, the Covid-19 crisis in the mass retail sector began to show its first signs on March 9. Long before New York State imposed more or less strict containment obligations, stores and brands spontaneously reacted quickly by putting in place rules to protect employees and respond to customer requests in stores or for online orders. However, the crisis is already making itself felt with alarming figures in the catering and non-food retail sectors. There will be a before and after Covid-19. In the meantime, with its strong customer culture, new in-store organisations or service innovations are emerging that place quality of service and the customer at the centre despite the current health and social crisis, the extent of which nobody is yet aware of.

Apple, Nike, Patagonia, Glossier, Urban Outfitters, Lululemon, Away, Warby Parker, Everlane, Allbirds, REI, Lush Cosmetics, Under Armour, Aritzia, b8ta, Abercrombie and a number of other retailers are closing their stores worldwide to help combat the spread of Covid-19 and encourage the practice of social distancing. Meanwhile, many other retailers, including Walmart, Publix and Kroger, are reducing store hours in the United States.

A brief overview of the initiatives of the various stores in the United States and particularly in New York for customers and their employees. We start with Whole Foods…


Whole Foods

Although NY State is not in total containment, food retailers are organizing to protect employees and customers.

Such is the case with Whole Foods.

All stores now apply the rule of a single entry and a single, different exit point. The idea of course is to be able to count the number of people coming into the store and avoid passing customers as they exit.

At the entrance to one of the Whole Foods stores in Brooklyn, a team of employees is specially dedicated to cleaning all the trolleys used by customers. These employees collect them directly from the customers’ cars, nobody can touch them until the carts have been disinfected.

At the entrance to the store, hand sanitizing wipes are available to all customers.

The big change in the store is of course that all self-service products (rice by weight, cereals, almonds etc.) are no longer available. Also, it used to be possible to buy coffee “in bulk” in the store. The stand is now empty.

Finally, the stand for bagels and other individual pastries only offers products that are already packaged to avoid human contact.

The cashiers systematically clean their conveyor belt and all surfaces touched by products and people after each customer.

These measures are currently all more or less deployed in physical stores in New York City.

 

 

 


B8ta 

B8ta is a startup that offers to sell innovative technological products that the company has spotted in other startups. B8ta now has 22 stores around the world that serve as showrooms for consumer electronics and home products. On March 16, the company announced that it had temporarily closed its stores until March 28, or longer in certain areas where it has a mandate.


Impact on employees

CEO Vibhu Norby, in a message dated March 24, said B8ta had had to lay off more than half of its employees and impose pay cuts on those remaining in the company. The company, which had previously guaranteed compensation from March 15 to March 28, is offering its in-store employees a one-time relief cheque of $1,000 “for each full-time b8ta tester” and $500 for each part-time b8ta tester. Employees on leave will not receive a pay cheque but will retain health care coverage.

The CEO has since sent a letter to his employees explaining his choice and offering some interesting training offers to employees who had to be laid off.

Opening a training account for its employees and ex-employees to enable them to come back better trained and more competent in their company or elsewhere is also betting on the post-Covid-19 period.


WalMart

The world leader in physical commerce has begun installing Plexiglas barriers in its pharmacy aisles and checkout counters, and is installing floor stickers in store entrances and checkout aisles to encourage social distancing. WalMart has previously adjusted store hours from 7 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. On March 18th, the retailer announced that from March 24th to April 28th, the retailer would offer a “senior shopping event” every Tuesday for more vulnerable people to shop for an hour before stores open.

Systematic cleaning of checkout conveyors and stores is of course a must.

Impact on employees

Most full-time associates will receive $300 in bonuses. WalMart has also waived the cost of video-conferencing with a doctor (previously $4 per call) and employees can access three free “behavioural counselling” sessions.

Despite its 1.5 million employees worldwide, WalMart will be hiring temporary employees to meet the extremely high demand in its stores and distribution centers. 150,000 temporary positions will be opened by the end of May and the recruitment process will be reduced from two weeks to 24 hours.


Instacart 

Founded in 2012, Instacart is a nearly $8 billion U.S. company that operates as a same-day grocery delivery and pick-up service in the United States and Canada.

Customers purchase groceries via the Instacart mobile application or Instacart.com. The order is then shipped and delivered by an Instacart personal shopper. Until the end of 2017, Instacart had operations and services only in the United States.

Today, Instacart is available to more than 85% of U.S. households in all 50 states.

Instacart expects to add 300,000 personal shoppers over the next three months as demand for grocery delivery increases in North America.

The company has seen order volume increase by more than 150% in the last week alone, and average basket size has increased by 15%. Instacart will focus on adding buyers in states where demand is highest, including California, New York, Texas, Florida, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Virginia, New Jersey, Georgia and Ohio.

According to a statement by Instacart founder and CEO Apoorva Mehta, the last few weeks have been the busiest in Instacart’s history. Not only are consumers ordering groceries for themselves during the coronavirus outbreak, but they are also ordering for their parents, neighbours and older friends who may be new to the platform.

The increasing demand for grocery delivery in the midst of the pandemic is not unique to Instacart. According to a survey by Gordon Haskett, one-third of consumers reported buying groceries for online pickup or delivery in a week earlier this month, and 41% said they were buying groceries online for the first time.

 

Impact on employees

Instacart has introduced new protocols and incentives for its personal buyers. The company will offer up to 14 days of compensation to buyers who receive a diagnosis of VIDOC-19. It will also provide health and safety guidelines for buyers, as well as a hand sanitizer for use in the workplace. A “Leave it at my door” delivery feature has been activated so that customers and workers can practice social distancing.

To attract new workers en masse, Instacart is opening up waiting lists for buyer positions across the country. It is also intensifying outreach efforts in high-demand markets and increasing referral bonuses for existing buyers.


Target

The office equipment store has announced reduced opening hours, with all stores closing at 9pm. Every Wednesday morning, Target will offer a dedicated hour for “vulnerable customers” so that they can shop in peace. This chain of stores is currently much used by customers working from home and needing office supplies to set up their “home office”. It is also very much used to buy equipment for cleaning or disinfecting their work tools.

 

Impact on employees

TARGET has announced an increase in employee wages of $2 per hour until at least 2 May. In addition, Target is paying bonuses to workers, including the 20,000 store managers. The store announced that it has increased pay to support “more rigorous cleaning routines,” made emergency care available to all U.S. team members, and covered up to 14 days of quarantine and illness for employees with Covid-19.

 

Social

Unemployment figures are very alarming, with almost 17 million people looking for work, whereas before the crisis, the US economy was almost fully employed.

But what is even more shocking is that not all these registered jobseekers are yet receiving benefits, due to an archaic system that is unprepared for such a claim.

So in order to register for unemployment, you have to apply online and then call the job centre in your city. However, these centres do not have enough staff to handle all the applications and it can take several hundred calls to get an online agent to do the final registration.

Of the 17 million unemployed, only a very small number are able to receive benefits, making the situation even more dangerous at a time when the most vulnerable need medical care.

Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
Based in New York, Bertrand is the Innovation Retail correspondent of the Echangeur in the USA, he decodes the latest American concept stores !!
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Covid 19 et retail à New York
Reading Time: 8 minutes

Bertand Leseigneurnotre correspondant Retail innovation US, fait le point sur la situation des retailers à NYC depuis le début de la crise sanitaire du Covid19.


Le retail à New York est en pause

A New York, la crise du Covid-19 dans la grande distribution a commencé à montrer ses premiers signes le 9 mars. Bien avant que l’État de New York impose des obligations plus ou moins strictes de confinement, spontanément, les magasins et les marques ont vite réagi en mettant en place des règles permettant de protéger les employés et de répondre aux demandes des clients en magasins ou pour leurs commandes en ligne. La crise se fait pourtant déjà sentir avec des chiffres alarmants dans le secteur de la restauration et du commerce non-alimentaire. Il y aura bien un avant et un après Covid-19. En attendant, forte de sa culture client, de nouvelles organisations en magasin ou des innovations de services émergent plaçant la qualité de service et le client au centre malgré la situation de crise sanitaire et sociale actuelle dont personne ne mesure encore son ampleur.

Apple, Nike, Patagonia, Glossier, Urban Outfitters, Lululemon, Away, Warby Parker, Everlane, Allbirds, REI, Lush Cosmetics, Under Armour, Aritzia, b8ta, Abercrombie et un certain nombre d’autres détaillants ferment leurs magasins dans le monde entier pour aider à combattre la propagation du Covid-19 et encourager la pratique de la distance sociale. Pendant ce temps, de nombreux autres détaillants, notamment Walmart, Publix ou Kroger, réduisent les heures d’ouverture des magasins aux États-Unis.

Petit tour d’horizon des initiatives des différents magasins aux Etats-Unis et notamment à New York pour les clients et leurs employés. On commence par Whole Foods…

Pour télécharger la présentation du webinar, cliquez ici.


Whole Foods

Bien que l’État de NY ne soit pas en confinement totale, les enseignes alimentaires s’organisent pour protéger les employés et les clients.

C’est le cas de Whole Foods.

Tous les magasins appliquent maintenant la règle de l’entrée unique et d’un point de sortie unique et différent. L’idée est bien sûr de pouvoir compter le nombre de personnes qui rentrent en magasin et d’éviter de faire croiser les clients lors de leur sortie. 

À l’entrée d’un des magasins Whole Foods de Brooklyn, une équipe d’employés est spécialement dédiée au nettoyage de tous les chariots utilisés par les clients. Ces employés les récupèrent directement auprès des voitures des clients, personne ne peut y toucher avant que ces chariots n’aient été désinfectés.

Des lingettes désinfectantes pour les mains sont également proposées à tous les clients à l’entrée du magasin.

Le gros changement en magasin vient bien sûr du fait que tous les produits en libre service (riz au poids, céréales, amandes etc.) ne sont plus accessibles. De même, auparavant il était possible d’acheter du café “en gros” en magasin. Le stand est maintenant vide.

Enfin le stand des bagels et autres viennoiseries à l’unité ne propose que des produits déjà emballés pour éviter le contact humain.

Les caissières nettoient systématiquement leur tapis roulant et toutes les surfaces touchées par les produits et les personnes après chaque client.

Ces mesures sont actuellement toutes plus ou moins déployées dans les magasins physiques de New York.

 


B8ta 

B8ta est une startup qui propose de vendre des produits technologiques innovants que la société a repéré chez d’autres startups. B8ta compte maintenant 22 magasins dans le monde qui servent de showroom pour l’électronique grand public et les produits pour la maison. Le 16 mars, la société a annoncé qu’elle avait temporairement fermé ses magasins jusqu’au 28 mars, ou plus longtemps dans certains domaines où elle est mandatée.

Impact sur les employés 

Le PDG, Vibhu Norby, dans un message daté du 24 mars, a déclaré que B8ta avait dû licencier plus de la moitié de ses employés et imposer des réductions de salaire à ceux qui restaient dans l’entreprise. La société, qui avait auparavant garanti la rémunération du 15 mars au 28 mars, offre à ses employés en magasin un chèque de secours unique de 1000 $ pour « chaque testeur b8ta à temps plein » et 500 $ pour chaque testeur b8ta à temps partiel. Les employés en congé ne recevront pas de chèque de paie mais conserveront la couverture des soins de santé.

Le PDG a depuis envoyé une lettre à ses employés pour expliquer son choix et proposer quelques offres intéressantes de formations aux employés qui ont dû être licenciés.

Ouvrir un compte de formation pour ses employés et ex-employés pour leur permettre de revenir mieux formés et plus compétents dans leur entreprise ou ailleurs, c’est aussi cela miser sur l’après Covid-19.


WalMart

Le leader mondial du commerce physique a commencé à installer des barrières en plexiglas dans ses allées de pharmacie et ses caisses, et installe des autocollants au sol dans les entrées de magasins et dans les allées de caisse pour encourager à garder une distance sociale. WalMart a auparavant ajusté les heures d’ouverture du magasin de 7h à 20h30. Le 18 mars, le détaillant a annoncé que du 24 mars au 28 avril, le détaillant offrirait un «événement de magasinage senior» tous les mardis pour les personnes plus vulnérables afin de leur permettre de faire leur shopping pendant une heure avant l’ouverture des magasins.

Le nettoyage systématique des tapis roulants de caisse et des magasins est bien sûr de rigueur.

Impact sur les employés

La plupart des associés à plein temps recevront 300$ de primes. WalMart a également annulé les frais de visioconférence avec un médecin (qui étaient auparavant de 4$ par appel) et les employés peuvent accéder gratuitement à trois séances de “counseling comportemental”.

Malgré ses 1.5 millions d’employés dans le monde, WalMart va recruter des employés temporaires pour répondre à la demande extrêmement forte dans ses magasins et ses centres de distribution. 150 000 postes temporaires vont être ouverts d’ici à la fin mai et le délai de procédure de recrutement va passer de deux semaines à 24h.


Instacart 

Fondée en 2012, Instacart est une société américaine évaluée à près de 8 milliards de dollars qui fonctionne comme un service de livraison et de ramassage d’épicerie le jour même aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Les clients achètent des produits d’épicerie via l’application mobile Instacart ou Instacart.com. La commande est ensuite expédiée et livrée par un personal shopper Instacart. Jusqu’à la fin de 2017, Instacart n’avait des opérations et des services qu’aux États-Unis.

Aujourd’hui, Instacart est accessible à plus de 85% des ménages américains, dans les 50 États.

Instacart prévoit d’ajouter 300 000 acheteurs personnels au cours des trois prochains mois, alors que la demande de livraison d’épicerie augmente en Amérique du Nord.

La société a vu le volume des commandes augmenter de plus de 150% au cours de la dernière semaine seulement, et la taille moyenne des paniers a augmenté de 15%. Instacart se concentrera sur l’ajout d’acheteurs dans les États où la demande est la plus élevée, notamment la Californie, New York, Texas, Floride, Illinois, Pennsylvanie, Virginie, New Jersey, Géorgie et Ohio.

Selon une déclaration du fondateur et PDG d’Instacart, Apoorva Mehta, les dernières semaines ont été les plus chargées de l’histoire d’Instacart. Non seulement les consommateurs commandent des produits d’épicerie pour eux-mêmes pendant l’épidémie de coronavirus, mais ils commandent également pour leurs parents, voisins et amis plus âgés qui peuvent être nouveaux sur la plate-forme.

La demande croissante de livraison d’épicerie au milieu de la pandémie n’est pas unique à Instacart. Selon une enquête de Gordon Haskett, un tiers des consommateurs ont déclaré avoir acheté des produits d’épicerie pour la collecte ou la livraison en ligne au cours d’une semaine plus tôt ce mois-ci, et 41% ont déclaré qu’ils achetaient des produits d’épicerie en ligne pour la première fois. 

Impact sur les employés

Instacart a introduit de nouveaux protocoles et incitations pour ses acheteurs personnels. L’entreprise offrira jusqu’à 14 jours de rémunération aux acheteurs qui reçoivent un diagnostic de Covid-19. Il fournira également des lignes directrices en matière de santé et de sécurité aux acheteurs, ainsi qu’un désinfectant pour les mains à utiliser au travail. Une fonction de livraison «Laisser à ma porte» a été activée pour que les clients et les travailleurs puissent pratiquer la distance sociale.

Pour attirer de nouveaux travailleurs en masse, Instacart ouvre des listes d’attente pour les postes d’acheteurs à travers le pays. Il intensifie également les efforts de sensibilisation sur les marchés à forte demande et augmente les primes de parrainage pour les acheteurs existants. 


Target

Le magasin spécialisé dans les équipements bureautiques a annoncé des heures d’ouverture réduites, tous les magasins ferment à 21 heures. Chaque mercredi matin, Target offrira une heure dédiée aux «clients vulnérables» afin de leur
permettre de faire leurs courses tranquillement. Cette chaîne de magasins est actuellement très utilisée par les clients travaillant à domicile et qui ont besoin de fournitures de bureau pour installer leur “home office”. Il est aussi très utilisé pour acheter du matériel de nettoyage ou de désinfection de ses outils de travail.

Impact sur les employés

Target a annoncé une augmentation de salaire des employés de 2 $ par heure jusqu’au 2 mai au moins. De plus, Target verse des primes aux travailleurs, y compris les 20 000 directeurs de magasin. Le magasin a annoncé qu’il a augmenté la paie pour prendre en charge «des routines de nettoyage plus rigoureuses», a rendu les soins de secours disponibles à tous les membres de l’équipe américaine et couvre jusqu’à 14 jours de quarantaine et de maladie pour les employés atteints de Covid-19.

Social

Les chiffres du chômage sont très alarmants avec près de 17 millions de personnes demandeurs d’emplois alors qu’avant la crise, l’économie américaine était pratiquement en plein emploi.

Mais ce qui est encore plus choquant, c’est que tous ces demandeurs d’emplois inscrits ne touchent pas encore d’indemnités, du fait d’un système archaïque et non préparé pour une telle demande.

Ainsi pour s’inscrire au chômage, il faut faire une demande en ligne, puis appeler le centre des demandeurs d’emplois de votre ville. Or ces centres n’ont pas assez d’employés pour traiter toutes les demandes et il faut parfois plusieurs centaines d’appels pour obtenir un agent en ligne et procéder à l’inscription finale.

Sur ces 17 millions de chômeurs, un nombre très faible d’entre eux peut ainsi toucher les indemnités, ce qui rend la situation encore plus dangereuse à l’heure où les plus vulnérables ont besoin de se soigner.