whats hot in store NYC
Reading Time: 6 minutes

Bertand Leseigneur,  our Retail Innovation US correspondent, this month decrypts the latest pop-up stores and stores that have just opened at Big Apple.

What’s New New York?

Noisy, active and innovative, it is not surprising that New York is the epicenter of shopping! At the end of 2018, several brands have launched new sales experiences for the customer and new concepts that change the way of seeing the classic store.

A quick tour of these new concepts that break with the usual rules of the store and the customer experience.


Intersect

 

Intersect Entrée

 

Intersect by Lexus opened in the heart of the Meatpacking District in New York in November 2018. The three-story space includes a restaurant, café, cocktail bar, lounge and gallery. This is the third place of its kind developed by Lexus after Tokyo and Dubai.

Intersect is a meeting place for people, ideas, design and culture. A place to be inspired and stimulated by art, beautiful books (as Gucci does in Manhattan) technology and gastronomy.

 

Intersect café

 

We enter a minimalist café. Open for breakfast and lunch, the venue is stylized with communal tables for guests.

In additiond there is a temporary space to accommodate designers or the latest Lexus concept cars. You can also find design objects for sale, from the notebook to the coffee machine, created by or for Lexus.

 

 

 

Intersect Global Chefs-in-Residence

On the second floor, Intersect offers a full service restaurant, bar and lounge. The space harmoniously combines comfort, top service, design and culinary masterpieces visible from the open kitchen. With the Global Chefs-in-Residence program, a new chef will take control of the kitchen every 4 to 6 months, offering guests new experiences and allowing them to taste all the flavors of the world. It was the French chef Gregory Marchand who opened the ball of culinary tastings.

 

This space is actually reminiscent of the Cadillac House where you can buy designer items, relax, cultivate or work with the added gastronomic aspect.

 


Showfields

 

The end of the year is usually the right time for the launch of pop-up stores in New York. Much of the demand is fueled by new native DTC (Direct-To-Consumer) brands that want to develop a physical presence and connect with their customers.

 

Showfields Outside

 

In the midst of the 2018 end-of-year pop-up stores scattered throughout the city, a new type of aggregator opened in December 2018, promising to offer a new retail experience for customers and businesses. offering a different sales model for brands.

Showfields began his activities in a historic building dating from 1913, and has the ambition to be “the most interesting store in the world“.

 

Showfields Inside Pop up

The store consists of a labyrinth of brands selected in the form of curation by Showfields CEO Tal Zvi Nathanel. For some brands, it’s their first and only physical presence such as bedding company Boll & Branch. The sales area is an open space in which we circulate along a corridor that allows access to different sections of the place, while taking the time to discover artistic works, available for sale depending on the case. Each Showfields mini-store is thus revealed to the liking of the consumer’s walk in this place.

Ultimately, the store will be spread over four levels – from the innovative retail store on the 1st floor to the community loft on the 4th floor, with a varied parade of workshops and events designed to keep the building buzzing. So we walk in the corridors to discover the dozen brands on the first floor and test the products presented, which range from the brand of bed sheets to the connected toothbrush.

 

 

 

Showfields Inside pop up 2

 

 

Showfields the Bathroom

For the brands present, Showfields is designed to be a turnkey solution, allowing them to set up an online space and then arrange the physical space that will be animated by the Showfields staff, all for a monthly fee. All technologies are part of the contract, including data sensors that show how many people have entered the store space of a brand and tablets serving mobile outlets.

 

 

 

 

Showfields function of photographer

The space is of course conducive to share on Instagram the most beautiful photos of consumers visiting the place, such as the beauty area: no worries for fans of shopping to dive into the bathtub to take a picture.

The concept is interesting because Showfields offers a turnkey sales space for companies that do not necessarily need a large area to offer their products. The size of the mini pop-up stores perfectly matches what the brands are looking for: a space to create a direct human relationship with the potential customers, who then have the choice of buying the product online, seen and tested in the store. .

 

 


The Camp

The Camp is a new kind of toy store located at 110 Fifth Avenue in the Flatiron District of Manhattan. At the entrance to the point of sale, everything seems to indicate to customers that they are in a toy and candy store. But everything changes when we discover what is happening behind the huge secret door …

 

The Camp

Welcome to a center of activities and attractions for families with children of all ages!

The Camp was launched by Nikki Kaufman, former CEO of Normal, the company that offered custom earphones from 3D printers. After the birth of her baby, she quickly realized that there were no commercial places for the family in NYC.

She partnered with BuzzFeed (American online media) and consultant Rachel Shechtman, creator of the store “This is Story” (The concept of the store is to tell a different story around a brand or product all two months), to launch the concept of The Camp.

 

 

The camp Universe

Children, accompanied by their parents or nannies, can discover a room with bunk beds, with a slide that provides access to the next room in a disco music atmosphere.

Children can also play on a musical wooden bridge (each wooden board of the bridge produces a musical note), use the games present on site or read books with their parents or nannies.

 

 

 

The camp - bridge

The camp - bridge

Children can also participate in CAMPitheatre activities with eclectic programming that reaches all ages. Magic shows and craft classes are also offered.

This park has many shopping areas for games or toys. Many employees are there to assist parents, participate in events or help families register for paid activities in the area. We can also privatize space to organize birthdays.

 

 

 

The theme of this store will change every 8 to 12 weeks and The Camp is likely to be popular with children who have few spaces like this in Manhattan. The sustainability of The Camp will of course depend on the propensity of parents to go through the box “purchase”, access to the place is free.

 

 

 

Article published on February 14th 2018 by

BERTRAND LESEIGNEUR

 

Bertrand LESEIGNEUR
US Retail Innovation correspondent for Echangeur

Write him

whats hot in store NYC
Reading Time: 6 minutes

Bertand Leseigneurnotre correspondant Retail innovation US, nous décrypte ce mois-ci les derniers pop-up stores et magasins qui viennent d’ouvrir à Big Apple.

What’s New New York?

Bruyante, active et innovante, il n’est pas surprenant que New York soit l’épicentre du shopping! Fin 2018, plusieurs marques ont lancé de nouvelles expériences de vente pour le client et de nouveaux concepts sont nés qui modifient notre perception du magasin classique.

Petit tour d’horizon de ces nouveaux concepts qui bousculent les codes habituels du magasin et de l’expérience client.


Intersect

 

Intersect Entrée

 

Intersect by Lexus a ouvert ses portes au cœur du Meatpacking District à New York en Novembre 2018. L’espace de trois étages comprend un restaurant, un café, un bar à cocktails, un salon et une galerie. C’est le troisième concept de ce genre développé par Lexus après Tokyo et Dubai.

Intersect est un lieu de rencontre pour les personnes, les idées, le design et la culture. Un espace pour être inspiré et stimulé par l’art, les beaux livres (à l’instar de ce que fait Gucci à Manhattan) la technologie et la gastronomie.

 

Intersect café

 

Le visiteur entre dans un café minimaliste. Ouvert pour le petit-déjeuner et le déjeuner, le lieu est stylisé avec des tables communes pour les invités.

A cela s’ajoute un espace temporaire permettant d’accueillir des créateurs ou les derniers concepts cars de Lexus. On peut aussi y découvrir des objets design à vendre, allant du carnet de note à la machine à café, créés par ou pour Lexus.

 

 

 

Intersect Global Chefs-in-Residence

Au deuxième étage, Intersect propose un restaurant offrant un service complet, un bar et un salon. L’espace allie harmonieusement confort, service impeccable, design et chefs-d’œuvre culinaires visibles depuis la cuisine ouverte. Avec le programme Global Chefs-in-Residence, un nouveau chef prend le contrôle des cuisines tous les 4 à 6 mois, afin de proposer aux clients de nouvelles expériences et de goûter à toutes les saveurs du monde. C’est le chef français Gregory Marchand qui a ouvert le bal des dégustations culinaires.

 

Cet espace fait effectivement penser à la Cadillac House où l’on peut acheter des objets design, se relaxer, se cultiver ou encore travailler, l’aspect gastronomique en plus.

 

 


Showfields

 

La fin d’année est généralement le moment propice pour le lancement de pop-up stores à New York. Une grande partie de la demande est alimentée par les nouvelles marques DTC (Direct-To-Consumer) qui souhaitent développer une présence physique et être au contact de leurs clients.

 

Showfields Outside

 

Au milieu des pop-up stores qui ont vu le jour fin d’année 2018 un peu partout dans la ville, un nouveau type d’agrégateur a ouvert ses portes en décembre 2018, promettant de proposer une nouvelle expérience de vente au détail à ses clients et offrant un modèle de vente différent pour les marques.

Showfields a ainsi débuté ses activités dans un immeuble historique datant de 1913, et a l’ambition d’être “le magasin le plus intéressant au monde”.

 

Showfields Inside Pop up

Ce magasin est constitué d’un labyrinthe de marques sélectionnées grâce à la curation du CEO de Showfields Tal Zvi Nathanel. Pour certaines marques, c’est leur première et seule présence physique comme par exemple la société de literie Boll & Branch. L’espace de vente est un open space dans lequel on circule en suivant un couloir qui permet d’accéder à différentes sections du lieu, tout en prenant le temps de découvrir des œuvres d’art, disponibles à la vente pour certaines. Chaque mini-magasins de Showfields se découvre donc au gré de la ballade du consommateur dans ce lieu.

À terme, le magasin s’étendra sur quatre niveaux, du commerce de détail innovant au 1er étage au loft communautaire au 4ème étage, avec un défilé varié d’ateliers et d’événements destinés à maintenir le bâtiment en effervescence. Comme dans une exposition d’un musée, On se promène donc dans les couloirs afin de découvrir la dizaine de marques proposées au premier étage et tester les produits présentés qui vont de la marque de draps de lit à la brosse à dents connectée.

 

 

 

Showfields Inside pop up 2

 

 

Showfields the Bathroom

Pour les marques présentes, Showfields est conçue pour être une solution clé en main leur permettant de configurer un espace en ligne puis d’aménager l’espace physique qui sera animé par le personnel de Showfields, le tout moyennant un forfait mensuel. Toutes les technologies font partie du contrat, y compris les capteurs de données qui permettent de savoir combien de personnes sont entrées dans l’espace magasin d’une marque et les tablettes servants de points de vente mobiles.

 

 

 

 

Showfields function of photographer

L’espace est pensé pour encourager à partager sur Instagram les plus belles photos des visiteurs du lieu, comme c’est le cas avec l’espace beauté : aucun souci pour les fans de shopping de plonger dans la baignoire pour se prendre en photo.

Le concept est intéressant car Showfields offre un espace de vente clés en main à destination de sociétés qui n’ont pas forcément besoin d’une surface importante pour proposer leurs produits. La taille des mini pop-up stores correspond parfaitement à ce que recherchent les marques : un espace permettant de créer un rapport humain direct avec les clients potentiels, ceux-ci ayant le choix ensuite d’acheter en ligne le produit vu et testé en magasin.

 

 


The Camp

The Camp est un magasin de jouets d’un genre nouveau situé au 110 Fifth Avenue dans le Flatiron District de Manhattan. A l’entrée du point de vente, tout semble indiquer aux clients qu’ils sont bien dans un magasin de jouets et de bonbons. Mais tout change quand on découvre ce qui se passe derrière l’énorme porte secrète…

 

The Camp

Bienvenue dans un centre d’activités et d’attractions pour les familles avec enfants de tous les âges !

The Camp a été lancé par Nikki Kaufman, ancienne CEO de Normal, la compagnie qui proposait des écouteurs faits sur mesure à partir d’imprimantes 3D. Après la naissance de son bébé, elle s’est vite aperçue qu’il n’y avait pas de lieux commerçants pour la famille à NYC.

Elle s’est alors associée avec BuzzFeed (media en ligne américain) et la consultante Rachel Shechtman, créatrice du magasin « This is Story » (Le concept du magasin est de raconter une histoire différente autour d’une marque ou d’un produit tous les deux mois (retrouvez le décryptage ici), pour lancer le concept de The Camp.

 

 

The camp Universe

Les enfants, accompagnés de leurs parents ou de leurs nounous, peuvent ainsi découvrir une chambre dotée de lits superposés, munis d’un toboggan qui permet d’accéder à la pièce voisine dans une ambiance musicale disco.

Les enfants peuvent aussi jouer sur un pont de bois musical (chaque planche de bois du pont produit une note de musique), utiliser les jeux présents sur place ou lire des livres avec leurs parents ou nourrices.

 

 

 

The camp - bridge

The camp - bridge

Les enfants peuvent aussi participer aux activités du CAMPitheatre dont la programmation éclectique permet de toucher tous les âges. Des spectacles de magie et des cours d’artisanat sont aussi proposés.

Ce parc comporte de nombreux espaces d’achats de jeux ou de jouets.  De nombreux employés sont là pour assister les parents, participer aux animations ou aider les familles à s’inscrire aux activités payantes du lieu. On peut aussi privatiser l’espace pour organiser des anniversaires.

 

 

 

Le thème de ce magasin changera toutes les 8 à 12 semaines et The Camp risque d’avoir beaucoup de succès auprès des enfants qui n’ont que peu d’espaces comme celui-ci à Manhattan. La pérennité de The Camp dépendra bien sûr de la propension des parents à passer par la case « achat », l’accès au lieu étant gratuit.

 

 

 

Article publié le 14 Février 2019 par

BERTRAND LESEIGNEUR

 

Bertrand LESEIGNEUR
Correspondant Echangeur Retail Innovation USA

lui écrire