Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

What’s hot in stores ? Echangeurs New York Chronicle

27
apr
2017
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
4 minutes
Bertand Leseigneur, our US Retail Innovation correspondent, analyses the latest pop-up stores and shops that have recently opened in the Big Apple.

We have found that digital screens and terminals are sometimes unexploited by brands when it comes to giving information about a product. However, they are used to their full potential regarding problem areas such as reducing waiting time at the check-out!

At the same time, the tendency to test the product before purchase is strong. Why spend 129 dollars on Google Home if, as a client, I can’t grasp the full extent of this innovation’s advantages?  It’s also a good way for a brand to test the interest of the market in a certain product or service, by favoring use before transaction. The contextualization of the offer in our day to day lives is now also becoming part of our professional sphere. What if working whilst feeling like we were at home became the new norm? Valuing customers is also put into consideration at LuxuryCard where lounge and private services our available to card holders, a way to strengthen customer loyalty and to provide day to day support.

 

« Hey Google ! » : try before you buy

Google continues to experiment with the opening of pop-up stores which enable potential buyers to grasp the extent of the different possible uses of Google products. After the first pop-up store, dedicated to the Connected Home, Google opened a second (very) temporary store in Chelsea with the purpose of promoting only Google Home. Once again, nothing can be bought but everything can be tested. During the 3 days that the store was open, many potential customers came to see Google Home demos and to test Amazon Echo’s competition.

google_pop-up_NYC

 


« Like being at home » with Vitra

On a different note, the brand Vitra, a Suisse furniture designer, opened a pop-up store for a year. The brands idea was to sell office furniture essentially to startups. The store was laid-out like startup offices. To demonstrate the quality and comfort of their products, the Vitra sales and marketing teams work directly from these offices, which reproduces a similar ambiance to the one found whilst working in a startup. The Vitra teams work at desks of different heights, the alcove areas enable employees to work with no visual or noise disturbance and the kitchen is fully equipped. The staff therefor becomes part of the customer experience. And of course, you can buy everything that you see!

vitra_NYC

 

Adidas makes something new with something old

The renovation of one of the Adidas stores in New York disappointed. The old store in Soho was well known for its interactive wall that had been developed with Intel.

However, the renovation hasn’t bought anything new to the store apart from a bit more space in the aisles, which is important considering the price per square meter. Only an interactive table has bought a digital and techno touch to the store, which is simply used to consult the catalogue, to add products to the customers list… but it doesn’t allow clients to buy things.  The table is a kind of step backwards from the interactive wall. Have the Adidas teams realized that visitors don’t buy products using this technology ?

adidas_NYC

 

Whole Foods tests more fluid waiting…

To avoid queues in the new Whole Foods store that has opened at the heart of the business district of Bryant Park, you can now order you lunch on tablets installed and available in store. No need to wait in line, neither to order nor to pay, everything is done via the tablet. Once you have put in your order and paid with your bank card, you receive a receipt and code which will allow you to collect your meal. You will however, have to wait until your order has been prepared in the kitchen…

wholefood NYC

 

A lounge for luxury card holders

When bank card providers are looking to reinvent the concept of airport lounges for credit card holders…. The credit card company Luxury Card opened a lounge in the center of Manhattan exclusively reserve for holders of their cards. It’s not a bank; it’s not an invisible lounge in a sky-scraper, but a physical store on Madison Avenue, surrounded by other luxurious shops. Displayed like a lounge, you can; get access to magazines, relax and have a complementary drink, admire art exhibitions or even make to most of the concierge service which will, for example, buy tickets for a concert or show in town.

This lounge marks a new stepping stone for high end services that card providers must offer in order to stand out from competitors, especially when it comes to a demanding clientele!

lounge NYC

 

A robot in a 3D printing factory

It’s not only the stores in New York that are evolving. Startup ecosystems are growing, and thanks to their inventiveness,   they are defying the limits of productivity. This is the case for Voodoo Manufacturing, a society that set up a factory of 3D printers which lets its clients create their desired objects. The startup recently introduced its project “Skywalker”; a robotic arm to manage the factory and the dozen 3D printers.

robot

A short video (below) illustrates the work carried out by this robot which improves the factories productivity and liberates 10% of Voodoo Manufacturing employees time, letting them concentrate of more intellectual and creative tasks.

Robots are not going to take our work, but make it more enjoyable and creative.

 

BERTRAND LESEIGNEUR

Article published on April 27th 2017 by

Bertrand LESEIGNEUR
US Retail Innovation correspondent for Echangeur

contact

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialist
Back to the top

+ d'actus

what's hot in store NYC

Bertand Leseigneur, notre correspondant Retail innovation US, nous décrypte ce mois-ci les derniers pop-up stores et magasins qui viennent d’ouvrir à Big Apple.

On y constate que les écrans et bornes digitales continuent parfois d’être sous exploitées par les marques quand il s’agit de donner de l’information produit mais qu’ils sont plus efficace dès qu’il s’agit de faire diminuer certains points de friction comme l’attente en caisse !

Parallèlement, la tendance de faire tester les produits avant l’achat reste forte. Pourquoi dépenser 129 dollars dans l’acquisition de Google Home si en tant que client, je ne peux appréhender au plus près les bénéfices de cette innovation ? C’est également un bon moyen pour une marque de tester une réelle appétence du marché en favorisant d’abord l’appropriation de l’usage avant la transaction. La contextualisation de l’offre dans notre quotidien lié à la sphère privée rejoint désormais le quotidien de notre monde professionnel.  Et si travailler en se sentant comme chez soi, à la maison devenait la nouvelle norme ? Enfin la valorisation des clients est aussi de mise chez Luxury Card où  lounge et services privés sont à disposition des clients détenteurs de la carte. Un moyen de renforcer leur fidélité pour un accompagnement dans leur quotidien.

 

« Hey Google ! » : tester le service avant l’achat

Google continue d’expérimenter l’ouverture de pop-up stores pour donner l’occasion aux « acheteurs potentiels » de mieux s’approprier les usages possibles des produits Google. Après un premier pop-up store consacré à la maison connectée, Google a ouvert un deuxième magasin (très) temporaire à Chelsea pour promouvoir cette fois-ci uniquement Google Home. Encore une fois, on ne peut rien acheter mais tout essayer. Pendant les 3 jours de l’ouverture du magasin, les clients potentiels défilaient pour assister aux démonstrations de Google Home et tester ce concurrent d’Amazon Echo.

google_pop-up_NYC

 


« Comme à la maison » avec Vitra

Dans un autre registre, la marque suisse Vitra, fabricant suisse de mobilier design, a ouvert un pop-up store pour une durée d’un an. L’idée de cette enseigne est de vendre du mobilier de bureau essentiellement pour des startups. Le magasin a donc été aménagé comme un garage de startup. Et pour démontrer la qualité des produits, les équipes de vente et de marketing de Vitra travaillent directement au sein du magasin afin de montrer le confort et la qualité de leurs produits, reproduisant une ambiance de travail similaire à celle que l’on peut trouver chez les startups. Les équipes de Vitra utilisent les bureaux à hauteur variable, les espaces en alcôve permettant de travailler sans nuisance visuelle ou sonore et la cuisine équipée. Les salariés de la marque deviennent ainsi des acteurs de l’expérience client. Et bien sûr, vous pouvez acheter tout ce que vous voyez !

vitra_NYC

 

Quand Adidas fait du neuf avec du vieux

Adidas a pour sa part un peu déçu avec la rénovation d’un de ses magasins new yorkais. L’ancien magasin situé à Soho était réputé pour son mur tactile développé avec Intel.

Or, la rénovation n’apporte rien au magasin si ce n’est un peu plus d’espace dans les allées, critère non négligeable quand on connaît le prix du m2. Seule une table tactile apporte une touche digitale et technologique au magasin. Mais, elle ne sert qu’à consulter le catalogue, mettre des produits sur sa liste….sans pouvoir acheter.

Bien étrange car c’est un vrai retour en arrière par rapport au mur digital. Les équipes d’Adidas auraient elles constaté  que peu de visiteurs achetaient depuis ces outils technologiques en magasin… ?

adidas_NYC

 

Whole Foods teste la fluidification de l’attente…

Pour éviter les files d’attente du nouveau magasin Whole Foods ouvert en plein coeur du quartier d’affaires de Bryant Park, vous pouvez maintenant commander votre plat du déjeuner sur des tablettes installées dans le magasin.

Plus besoin donc de faire la queue pour commander ni pour payer, tout se fait depuis la tablette. Une fois la commande passée et payée par carte bancaire, vous obtenez une facturette et un code qui vous permettent de récupérer votre repas. Vous aurez tout de même besoin d’attendre un peu que vos plats soient préparés en cuisine…

wholefood NYC

 

Un lounge pour les possesseurs de Luxury Card

Quand les fournisseurs de cartes bancaires cherchent à réinventer le concept de lounges des aéroports pour les possesseurs de cartes de crédit…. La société de carte de crédit Luxury Card a ouvert un lounge en plein coeur de Manhattan exclusivement réservée aux détenteurs de ses cartes. Ce n’est pas une banque, ce n’est pas un “salon” invisible dans un gratte-ciel, mais bien un magasin situé sur Madison Avenue, entouré d’autres magasins de luxe et qui se présente donc sous forme d’un lounge, dans lequel vous aurez accès aux magazines du fournisseurs de carte, vous pourrez vous relaxer autour d’un verre (gratuit), admirer des expositions d’art ou bénéficier des services d’un concierge qui pourra par exemple, réserver pour vous des billets pour des spectacles ou des concerts dans la ville.

Ce lounge marque donc une nouvelle étape dans la proposition de services haut de gamme que les fournisseurs de cartes doivent proposer afin de se démarquer de leurs concurrents. Encore plus de services pour une clientèle exigeante !

lounge NYC

 

Un robot dans une usine d’imprimantes 3D

 Il n’y a pas que les magasins qui bougent à New York. L’écosystème de startups évolue énormément et celles ci, par leur ingéniosité, repoussent les limites de la productivité. C’est le cas par exemple de Voodoo Manufacturing. Cette société a monté une usine d’imprimantes 3D qui permet à ses clients de créer des objets à distance et de lancer la production. La startup a introduit récemment son projet Skywalker: un bras robotisé pour gérer son usine contenant des dizaines d’imprimantes 3D.

robot

Une petite vidéo, ci-dessous, permet d’illustrer le fonctionnement de ce robot qui améliore la productivité de l’usine et qui libère 10% du temps des employés de Voodoo Manufacturing au profit de tâches plus intellectuelles et créatives.

Les robots ne vont pas prendre notre travail pour le moment mais vont le rendre plus agréable et plus créatif.

 

BERTRAND LESEIGNEUR

Article publié le 27 Avril 2017 par

Bertrand LESEIGNEUR
Correspondant Echangeur Retail Innovation USA

lui écrire