What's hot in...
Reading Time: 5 minutes

Céline DELACHARLERIE,our Innovation Retail Asia Correspondent, gives an update on the situation of retailers in China in the face of the Covid-19 health crisis.


The new face of retail in China now involves shopping communities grouped by neighbourhood, sellers converted into live video hosts, QR color codes, temperature maps and 3D store reproductions.

While the rest of the world remains heavily impacted by the pandemic, China is slowly recovering from the crisisThrough temperature control and travel tracking made mandatory by the government to enter the stores, China was able to reopen its physical stores quickly while controlling the pandemic.

Although the frequency of store visits has nevertheless dropped considerably, the ability of traders to swivel very quickly towards e-commerce, even small merchants and farmers, has made it possible to limit the damage. Shopping centers have faced a real crisis, forcing them to redouble their creativity thanks to live streaming for example, while some brands have launched more immersive online shopping experiences thanks to 3D.

The results are positive: trade in China has returned to growth since August, recording for the first time in 2020 a growth of 0.5% compared to the previous year, according to figures from the National Statistical Office of China. The latest figures for November show a 5% growth in trade compared to last year, driven by telecommunication equipment and car purchases.


Five trade transformations in China following the pandemic

1) Presenting your health code at the entrance of the shops has become an habit

Since the lockdown, an automatically generated health code, accessible in WeChat and Alipay, must be shown at the entrance of the stores, the metro, etc. It changes color if the person came into contact with a confirmed or suspected citizen of being contaminated by Covid-19. The precise information about how the algorithm assigns the code has not been revealed. Users with a red code must be quarantined for 14 days, those with an orange code for 7 days and those with a green code can move freely.

Code santé

Code generated from Alipay

2) Sellers and store managers have converted into “teleshopping” animators live on Internet

In order to reduce the losses caused by the forced closure of their stores, merchants turned to e-commerce and especially live streaming. Live shopping is a quick and easy way for these merchants to continue to connect with their customers through engaging videos on the most popular live streaming channels, which are Taobao Live (Alibaba) and Douyin, the Chinese name for TikTokListeners can buy the products they see during the stream by clicking on a link to buy. The pandemic has seen players as diverse as luxury brands, car sellers or farmers use this new sales channel galore. According to data from Taobao, at the height of the outbreak in China in February 2020, the number of merchants using the platform increased by 719% compared to the previous month.

Like many retailers around the world, Intime store chain, acquired by Alibaba in 2017, has been heavily impacted by the coronavirus. It has logically turned to live streaming and has not only been able to return to a normal operation since May, but also recover its losses, according to the Alibaba news website. With 200 live streaming sessions per day,operating non-stop from morning to night, and reconverting 5,000 sellers and store managers into animators and influencers on the internet.

Live stream

3) Social apps can be used to organize neighbourhood stores for fresh produce

Local retailers and farmers have created groups on the WeChat social network app to allow residents of a neighbourhood to order and have fresh produce delivered to their homes.

Thousands of small online communities were created to facilitate the communication and delivery of merchants and farmers.

Merchants can inform all group members by message of what is available on the same day, and residents can ask questions directly. This allowed farmers and small neighbourhood traders to participate in e-commerce without having to develop anything, on a platform they know well. Many of them automated their operations by creating a mini-program in WeChat for their community, allowing them to communicate their inventory and allowing consumers to order and pay directly into the mini-program. Mini-programs are lighter, faster-to-develop apps that are directly integrated with WeChat.

Example of WeChat group:

Groupe WeChat

Example of a farmer’s mini-program on WeChat:

Page agriculteur

4) Alibaba helps brands adopt 3D to recreate their stores or digital showrooms

Alibaba’s e-commerce platform, Tmall, launched large-scale 3D shopping at its major Tmall 618 trade festival in June 2020, a few months after the end of the lockdown in China.

The 3D shopping experience on Tmall aims to be interactive and immersive for users and incorporates many in-store buying elements. Users can browse 3D showrooms of more than 100 brands via their smartphone, and view products 360 degrees in their context.

One of the first star brands to experience it was IKEA, which fully replicated its Shanghai store in 3D. Subsequently, the technology was extended to brands of household appliances such as Siemens and Haier.

According to Alibaba’s figures, within 3 days of going online, 5 million people have experienced buying on Tmall in 3D. With 3D purchases, the average number of items added to the shopping cart by buyers was about 15 items, or 5 times more than before. After less than an hour and 20 minutes of the Tmall 618 festival, IKEA recorded the same number of transactions as its best in a day since the store opened. As of June 18, more than 30 million people had already made the purchase experience on the 3D shop, the conversion rate was multiplied by 9 compared to the average of the sector.

Ikea

Ikea

5) The card to reassure consumers about food products is encouraged by delivery platforms

The closure of restaurants as a result of the pandemic has accelerated a trend toward door-to-door food deliveryHowever, many Chinese consumers are wary of restaurant hygiene measures and prefer to cook at home. To reassure consumers that their meals are being delivered, most restaurants now provide a temperature map of employees who have interacted with the food product. The practice is not mandatory but is widely encouraged by delivery platforms like Ele.me and Meituan.

McDo

Source: https://www.sohu.com/a/379226618_483070


Article published 3 January 2021 by

Céline Delacharlerie
Céline DELACHARLERIE

Asia Retail Innovation Echangeur Correspondent

lui écrire

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

What’s hot in… Spécial relance du retail en Chine !

03
jan
2021
Céline Delacharlerie
Correspondante Innovation Retail Asie
5 minutes
Céline DELACHARLERIEnotre Correspondante Innovation Retail Asie fait le point sur la situation des retailers en Chine face à la crise sanitaire du Covid-19.


Le nouveau visage du retail en Chine implique désormais des communautés d’achat regroupées par quartier, des vendeurs reconvertis en animateurs d’émissions vidéos en direct, des QR codes de couleurs, des cartes de températures et des reproductions de magasins en 3D.

Alors que le reste du monde reste encore fortement impacté par la pandémie, la Chine se relève doucement de la crise. Grâce à un contrôle de température et un traçage des déplacements rendu obligatoire par le gouvernement pour entrer dans les commerces, la Chine a pu rouvrir ses commerces physiques rapidement tout en contrôlant la pandémie.

Si la fréquence des visites en magasin a néanmoins chuté considérablement, la capacité des commerçants à pivoter très rapidement vers l’e-commerce, même les petits marchands et agriculteurs, a permis de limiter la casse. Les centres commerciaux ont fait face à une véritable crise, les obligeant à redoubler de créativité grâce au live streaming par exemple, tandis que certaines marques ont lancé des expériences d’achat en ligne plus immersives encore grâce à la 3D.

Les résultats sont positifs : le commerce en Chine a retrouvé le chemin de la croissance dès le mois d’août en enregistrant pour la première fois sur 2020 une croissance de 0,5% par rapport à l’année précédente, d’après les chiffres du Bureau Statistique National de Chine. Les derniers chiffres de novembre annoncent une croissance du commerce de 5% par rapport à l’an dernier, poussée par les équipements de télécommunication et l’achat de voitures.


Cinq transformations du commerce en Chine suite à la pandémie

1) Présenter son code santé à l’entrée des commerces est rentré dans les habitudes

Depuis le confinement, un code santé généré automatiquement et accessible dans WeChat et Alipay, doit être montré à l’entrée des magasins, du métro, etc. Il change de couleur si la personne est entrée en contact avec un citoyen confirmé ou suspecté d’être contaminé par le Covid-19. Les informations précises concernant la manière dont l’algorithme assigne le code n’ont pas été révélées. Les utilisateurs qui ont un code rouge doivent entrer en quarantaine pour 14 jours, ceux qui ont un code orange pour 7 jours et ceux qui ont un code vert peuvent circuler librement.

Code santéCode généré depuis Alipay 

2) Les vendeurs et directeurs de magasins se sont convertis en animateurs de “télé-achat” sur internet en direct

Afin de réduire les pertes causées par la fermeture forcée de leurs magasins, les commerçants se sont tournés vers l’e-commerce et notamment le live streaming. Le “live shopping” est une manière simple et rapide pour ces marchands de continuer à créer du lien avec leurs clients au travers de vidéos engageantes sur les chaînes de live streaming les plus populaires, qui sont Taobao Live (Alibaba) et Douyin, le nom chinois pour TikTok. Les auditeurs peuvent acheter les produits qu’ils voient lors du stream en cliquant sur un lien pour acheter. La pandémie a ainsi vu des acteurs aussi variés que des marques de luxe, des vendeurs de voitures ou des agriculteurs utiliser ce nouveau canal de vente à gogo. D’après les données de Taobao, au plus fort de l’épidémie en Chine en février 2020, le nombre de marchands utilisant la plateforme a augmenté de 719% par rapport au mois précédent.

Comme beaucoup de commerçants à travers le monde, la chaîne de grands magasins Intime, acquise par Alibaba en 2017, a été impactée très fortement par le coronavirus. Elle s’est logiquement tournée vers le live streaming et a pu non seulement retourner à une opération normale dès le mois de mai, mais aussi récupérer ses pertes, d’après le site d’informations d’Alibaba. Avec 200 sessions de live streaming par jour, opérant non stop du matin au soir, et reconvertissant dans la foulée 5000 vendeurs et directeurs de magasin en animateurs et influenceurs sur internet.

Live stream

3) Les apps sociales permettent d’organiser le commerce de quartier pour les produits frais

Les commerçants de proximité et les agriculteurs ont créé des groupes sur l’app de réseau social WeChat pour permettre aux résidents d’un quartier de commander et se faire livrer des produits frais chez eux.

Ce sont ainsi des milliers de petites communautés en ligne qui se sont créées pour faciliter la communication et la livraison des commerçants et agriculteurs.

Les marchands peuvent informer par message tous les membres du groupe de ce qui est disponible le jour même, et les résidents peuvent poser directement des questions. Cela a permis aux agriculteurs et petits commerçants de quartier de participer à l’e-commerce sans avoir à rien développer, sur une plateforme qu’ils connaissent bien. Un grand nombre d’entre eux ont automatisé leurs opérations en créant un mini-programme dans WeChat pour leur communauté, leur permettant de communiquer leurs stocks et permettant aux consommateurs de commander et payer directement dans le mini-programme. Les mini-programmes sont des apps plus légères et rapides à développer qui sont directement intégrées à WeChat.

Exemple de groupe WeChat :

Groupe WeChat

Exemple de mini-programme d’un agriculteur sur WeChat :

Page agriculteur

4) Alibaba aide les marques à adopter la 3D pour recréer leurs magasins ou showrooms en digital

La plateforme e-commerce d’Alibaba, Tmall, a lancé le shopping 3D à grande échelle lors de son grand festival commercial Tmall 618 en juin 2020, quelques mois après la fin du confinement en Chine.

L’expérience d’achat en 3D sur Tmall vise à être interactive et immersive pour les utilisateurs et intègre de nombreux éléments d’achat en magasin. Les utilisateurs peuvent parcourir les showrooms 3D de plus de 100 marques via leur smartphone, et visualiser les produits à 360 degrés dans leur contexte.

L’une des premières marques vedettes à en faire l’expérience était IKEA, qui a entièrement reproduit son magasin de Shanghai en 3D. Par la suite, la technologie a été étendue aux marques d’appareils électroménagers telles que Siemens et Haier.

D’après les chiffres d’Alibaba, dans les 3 jours suivant la mise en ligne, 5 millions de personnes ont fait l’expérience d’acheter sur Tmall en 3D. Avec les achats en 3D, le nombre moyen d’articles ajoutés au panier par les acheteurs était d’environ 15 articles, soit 5 fois plus qu’auparavant. Après moins d’une heure et 20 minutes du festival Tmall 618, IKEA a enregistré le même nombre de transactions que son meilleur record en une journée depuis l’ouverture du magasin. Au 18 juin, plus de 30 millions de personnes avaient déjà fait l’expérience d’achat sur la boutique en 3D, le taux de conversion a été multiplié par 9 par rapport à la moyenne du secteur.

Ikea

Ikea

5) La carte pour rassurer les consommateurs sur les produits alimentaires est encouragée par les plateformes de livraison

La fermeture des restaurants suite à la pandémie a accéléré une tendance vers la livraison de repas à domicile. Cependant, une grande partie des consommateurs chinois se méfient des mesures d’hygiène des restaurateurs, et préfèrent cuisiner chez eux. Pour rassurer les consommateurs qui se font livrer leurs repas, la plupart des restaurateurs fournissent désormais une carte indiquant la température des employés ayant interagi avec le produit alimentaire. La pratique n’est pas obligatoire mais est largement encouragée par les plateformes de livraison comme Ele.me et Meituan.

McDo

Source: https://www.sohu.com/a/379226618_483070

Céline Delacharlerie
Correspondante Innovation Retail Asie
Céline est la correspondante de l'Echangeur en Chine. A l'affut des innovations retail, elle repère et analyse les dernières tendances magasins et consommation en Asie.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus