Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

Websummit 2020: Software eats the world!

16
dec
2020
Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
6 minutes
Websummit 2020 took place from December 2 to 4, 2020. According to its co-founder, Paddy Cosgrave, this edition broke its historical record of attendance with 105,000 visitors (on average 70,000/year) from 168 countries.

This new “digital” edition (3 days and more than 100 hours of broadcast content) showcased more than 1,200 speakers and 2,500 startups whose main topics were fintech, health, smart city, sustainability, foodtech, space, retail, etc.

If Covid-19 has accelerated our digital uses in all our areas of life, for analyst Benedict Evans we were carried by tech giants especially at the beginning of the pandemic “Standing on the shoulders of giants”, by the deployment of online work tools, new forms of interactive commerce, digital social relations… all generations combined.

Nevertheless, this edition has made it possible to note that this “fast forward” is not the only tribute of the giants of Tech and it is clear that it inaugurates a new mapping all services and sectors combined …

Auto

If not the best known, Laszlo Kishonti CEO of AImotive, the Hungarian Tesla, is convinced that Covid-19 will further accelerate the disruption of the automotive sector. For the latter, the autonomous car, or according to him the “software is the new king”, will take control of the hardware and bring its lot of new entrants.

AImotive

Like Brian Gu, president of XpengMotors (Alibaba’s main investor), stressing that the new energy vehicle market, or “smartcar“, in China is expected to reach 20% of total car sales by the end of 2025.

Like Tesla, many new Chinese players such as Nio, Li Auto, Byton are attacking the “smartcar” market. This is confirmed by a record increase in sales in November on this type of vehicle (XpengMotors increased its sales by 320% over one year).

The latter being largely financed by the BATX, they benefit from a whole galaxy of contextualized services, thus reinforcing the notion of “smartcar” and “software is the new king” mentioned by the CEO of AImotive!

Tesla, Nio, Li Auto, Byton

Zoox young startup acquired by Amazon this year, recalled through its co-founder Jesse Levinson that it was the first company on the market to obtain authorization to provide autonomous transportation services to the public in California, hence the launch on December 14, of autonomous taxis on this area, carried by the slogan “We’re reinventing personal transportation—making the future safer, cleaner, and more enjoyable”.

This announcement comes a month after that of Waymo on his robot taxi service in Phoenix. On the “cleaner” part, Jesse Levinson added that motorists use their vehicles 4% of the time and that in the remaining 96%, they remain motionless. Half the carbon footprint of a car is just its manufacture.

Zoox, Waymo

On this market we must not forget the great “historical” of this sector!

According to Daimler Ola Källenius president, the company founded by Carl Benz, which patented the first gasoline car in 1886, is accelerating plans to move the automaker beyond the combustion engine vehicle. Finally Marek Reichman, CCO of Aston Martin said that the autonomous vehicles of the brand will be available within 2 years.

Will see it in the next James Bond…

Voiture autonome

Covid-19 has also accelerated drone delivery to different trades, where authorizations have been accelerated during a pandemic. The global drone parcel market is expected to grow to US$7,388.2 million by 2027. Manna, a young Irish company (already awarded at websummit 2019) can already deliver up to 100 different products per day! Building on this success, the British chain Tesco teamed up with Manna to conduct a 6-month trial to deliver basic necessities from its Oranmore store in Ireland, where Manna has an operating license. 

In the US, the drone division of Amazon Prime Air and Wing, a subsidiary of Alphabet (Google’s parent company), have received approval from the FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) to test drone deliveries in the US.

In a completely different vein, Zipline International, a young Californian startup, has pre-empted the delivery of drugs by drones to 21 hospitals in Rwanda. According to CEO Keller Rinaudo, his company now supplies 75% of the country’s blood supply.

Drone delivery is becoming a reality and could well help Will Shu, CEO of Deliveroo, who also believes that the pandemic has “accelerated consumer adoption” of food delivery services “by about two or three years”.

Deliveroo

Foodtech

If global food demand generates 22% to 37% of greenhouse gas emissions, all sectors combined, the livestock sector alone would generate 63% of food emissions, while it would provide only 16% of the calories consumed in the world. With this in mind, the young Chilean startup Notco, whose main investor is Jeff Bezos, has embarked on the creation of AI-based foods and plants.

According to CEO Matias Muchnick, Notco uses algorithms to create plant alternatives and analyzes the molecular structure of certain foods such as beef, milk or eggs. Then it compares them with the molecular composition of plants to find similarities. His algorithms then find several combinations between plants to best imitate tastes, textures and colors. Its latest product, Notmilk made from AI, cabbage, and pineapple uses 92% less water, 74% less energy and emits 74% less emissions than regular milk.Notmilk is now available from the American distributor Wholefoods (chain owned by Amazon).

Notco

Notco is also NotBurger, NotMilk, and NotMayo , a four-year-old chickpea mayonnaise that has already captured 12% of the mayonnaise market in Chile.

According to the founder and CEO of Impossible Foods (USA) also present at Websummit and on the same sector as Notco, its mission is to completely replace the use of animals as food technology, worldwide, by 2035!

Health

Covid-19 has harmed many health systems, especially in the US. According to Mario Schlosser, CEO of the New York-based start-up that has embarked on health insurance: “The biggest problem of the American healthcare system is twofold: on the one hand, it is too expensive; on the other hand, it is still too complicated… What I expect is an individualized health care and insurance system where you can pay a certain amount… almost a subscription for your health”.

This wish is already a reality in China. Jessica Tan Co-CEO of Ping An Insurance and Liao Jieyuan CEO of WeDoctor Group (whose main shareholder is Tencent) presented their various platforms where health, under the guise of AI and IOT, combines with individualized insurance.

The numbers are striking! In March, Wedoctor launched its “Fighting Covid-19” service internationally, with 230 million users in 220 countries. A total of 73,000 medical experts provided free online services, providing over 180 million consultations on the platform.

Wedoctor

As a reminder, Wedoctor and Ping Doctor (Ping An Insurance) is the integration of a whole digital ecosystem around health. Wedoctor is already 4,000 hospitals, 300,000 doctors and 200 million patients.

The ambition of these Chinese giants is to deliver individualized and real-time health monitoring (and insurance-related services, etc.), carried out by the IOT and the AI, as demonstrated by the scheme advocated by Liao Jieyuan CEO of WeDoctor Group.

Wedoctor

Across the Atlantic, Amazon in light of these latest announcements, launch of Amazon Care, Amazon Pharmacy, Health Insurance (Haven), Halo (‘Fitbit’ connected bracelets) Seems to have a head start to meet the wish of Mario Schlosser CEO of Oscar Health that “Amazon Prime Health” a subscription for personalized health.

Also in the USA, 23andMe internationally known company (Owned by Alphabet) for its DNA tests, is today the largest research database containing millions of human genotypes. She has just launched a study to measure the correlation between genetic heritage and the intensity of Covid-19 symptoms. This ushers in a growing involvement of our DNA in our daily lives like Dna nudge in the UK and IcarbonX in China (mentioned in the latest Commerce Reloaded).

23andMe

Fintech : Every company can become a #fintech!

According to Ann Cairns, Executive Vice President of Mastercard (Mastercard study), 54% of consumers have increased the use of a contactless debit or credit card and 44% have used a smartphone digital wallet more since the beginning of the pandemic.

For Dan Schulman CEO of Paypal. “The pandemic is the turning point. Digital currencies are going to come into the mainstream… The time is now.”

In the USA, 8% of consumers already consider an online bank like Chime or Varo as their main bank, or 27 million accounts opened with online banks. According to CEO Chris Brit, Chime owns 35% of all digital bank accounts in the USA! According to the latter, the content in neobanks is essential. Connect culturally with your customers to provide them with a financial reading tailored to different targets”.

These new entrants are likely to blend in with the daily banking scene, and this was not denied by Roland Folz CEO Solarisbank AG: “Every company can become a fintech”.

Every company can become a fintech

Conclusion: Software eat the world

The Covid-19 by its chain of irremediable contingencies, but also by its propensity to accelerate the implementation of licenses previously planned much later (drones, autonomous cars, etc.) opens the Pandora’s box on a world or “software eats the word” to paraphrase our analyst Benedict Evans.

If “ambient trade” takes place more and more quickly, it opens a field of possibilities still ignored. ” We have a level of penetration and density of internet population that means all sorts of businesses that would not have been possible in 2000 or indeed in 2010, are now possible.”

“Software eats the world!”, Benedict Evans.

 

Guillaume Rio

Technology and Partnerships Manager

grio@echangeur.fr

 

Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
Specialist of BATX & GAFA ecosystems and passionate about China, Guillaume analyzes the impact of new technologies on our lives.
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

Websummit 2020 : Software eats the world!

16
déc
2020
Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
7 minutes
Le Websummit 2020 s’est déroulé du 2 au 4 décembre 2020. Selon son grand ordonnateur Paddy Cosgrave, ce cru a battu son record historique d’affluence soit 105 000 visiteurs (en moyenne 70000/an) de 168 pays.

Cette nouvelle édition totalement « numérique » (3 jours et plus de 100 heures de contenu diffusé) a mis en avant plus de 1 200 speakers et 2 500 startups dont les sujets principaux étaient la fintech, la santé, la smart city, la sustainibility, la foodtech, l’espace, le retail …

Si le Covid-19 a accéléré nos usages numériques dans tous nos pans de vie, pour l’analyste Benedict Evans nous avons été porté par les géants de la tech surtout au début de la pandémie « Standing on the shoulders of giants », par le déploiement d’outils de travail en ligne, de nouvelles formes de commerce interactif, de relations sociales numériques… toutes générations confondues.

Néanmoins cette édition a permis de noter que ce « fast forward » n’est pas le seul tribut des géants de la Tech et force est de constater qu’elle inaugure une nouvelle cartographie tous services et secteurs confondus …

Auto

S’il n’est pas le plus connu, Laszlo Kishonti CEO d’AImotive, soit le Tesla Hongrois, est persuadé que la Covid-19 va encore accélérer la disruption du secteur de l’automobile. Pour ce dernier, la voiture autonome, ou selon lui le « software is the new king », va prendre la main sur le hardware et apporter son lot de nouveaux entrants.

AImotive

À l’image de Brian Gu president de XpengMotors (Alibaba principal investisseur), soulignant que le marché des véhicules à énergie nouvelles, ou « smartcar« , en Chine, devrait atteindre 20% des ventes totales de voitures d’ici fin 2025.

À l’instar de Tesla, de nombreux et nouveaux acteurs chinois tels que Nio, Li Auto, Byton attaquent le marché de la « smartcar ». Cela est confirmé par une hausse des ventes records au mois de novembre sur ce type de véhicules (XpengMotors a augmenté ses ventes de 320% sur un an).

Ces dernières étant financées en grande partie par les BATX, elles bénéficient de toute une galaxie de services contextualisés, renforçant ainsi la notion de « smartcar » et de « software is the new king » mentionnée par le CEO d’AImotive !

Tesla, Nio, Li Auto, Byton

Zoox jeune startup rachetée par Amazon cette année, a rappelé par l’intermédiaire de son Co-fondateur Jesse Levinson qu’elle était la première compagnie sur le marché à obtenir l’autorisation de fournir des services de transport autonome au public en Californie, d’où le lancement le 14 décembre, de taxis autonomes sur cette zone, porté par le slogan « We’re reinventing personal transportation—making the future safer, cleaner, and more enjoyable ».

Cette annonce arrive un mois après celle de Waymo sur son service de robot taxi à Phoenix. Sur la partie « cleaner », Jesse Levinson a rajouté que les automobilistes utilisent leurs véhicules 4% du temps et que dans les 96% restants, ces derniers restent immobiles. La moitié de l’empreinte carbone d’une voiture est juste sa fabrication.

Zoox, Waymo

Sur ce marché il ne faut pas oublier les grands « historiques » de ce secteur !

Selon le président de Daimler Ola Källenius, la société fondée par Carl Benz, qui a breveté la première voiture à essence en 1886, accélère les projets visant à faire passer le constructeur automobile au-delà du véhicule à moteur à combustion. Enfin Marek Reichman, CCO d’Aston Martin a déclaré que les véhicules autonomes de la marque seront disponibles dans un délai de 2 ans.

À suivre donc dans le prochain James Bond…

Voiture autonome

La Covid-19 a aussi accéléré la livraison par drones dans différents corps de métier, où les autorisations ont été accélérées en temps de pandémie. La taille du marché mondial de la livraison de colis par drones devrait atteindre 7 388,2 millions USD d’ici 2027. Manna jeune société irlandaise (déjà primée lors du websummit 2019) peut déjà livrer jusqu’à 100 produits différents par jour ! Fort de ce succès, la chaîne britannique Tesco s’est associée avec Manna pour effectuer un essai de 6 mois pour livrer des produits de première nécessité depuis son magasin d’Oranmore en Irlande, où Manna a une licence d’exploitation.

Aux USA, la division drone d’Amazon Prime Air et Wing, filiale d’Alphabet (société mère de Google), ont reçu l’approbation de la FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) pour tester des livraisons par drones sur le territoire américain.

Dans un tout autre registre, Zipline International jeune startup californienne a préempté la livraison de médicaments par drones sur 21 hôpitaux au Rwanda. Selon son CEO Keller Rinaudo, sa société assure aujourd’hui 75 % de l’approvisionnement en sang du pays.

La livraison par drones devient une réalité et pourrait bien aider Will Shu, CEO de Deliveroo, qui estime également que la pandémie a « accéléré l’adoption par les consommateurs » des services de livraison de nourriture « d’environ deux ou trois ans ».

Deliveroo

Foodtech

Si la demande alimentaire mondiale génère de 22% à 37% des rejets de gaz à effet de serre, tous secteurs confondus, le secteur de l’élevage génèrerait à lui seul 63% des rejets de l’alimentation, alors qu’il ne fournirait que 16% des calories consommées dans le monde. Fort de ce constat, la jeune pousse Chilienne Notco dont le principal investisseur est Jeff Bezos, s’est lancée dans la création d’aliments à base d’AI et de végétaux.

Selon son CEO Matias Muchnick, Notco utilise des algorithmes pour créer des alternatives végétales et analyse la structure moléculaire de certains aliments comme le boeuf, le lait ou les œufs. Puis, il les compare avec la composition moléculaire de plantes pour trouver des similarités. Ses algorithmes trouvent ensuite plusieurs combinaisons entre les plantes pour imiter au mieux les goûts, les textures et les couleurs. Son dernier né, le Notmilk fait à base d’AI, de chou, et d’ananas utilise 92% moins d’eau, 74% moins d’énergie et émet 74% moins d’émissions que le lait ordinaire. Notmilk est désormais disponible chez le distributeur américain Wholefoods (chaîne appartenant à Amazon).

Notco

Notco c’est aussi NotBurger, NotMilk, et NotMayo , une mayonnaise à base de pois chiche créée il y a quatre ans et qui a déjà capté 12 % du marché de la mayonnaise au Chili.

Selon le fondateur et PDG de Impossible Foods (USA) aussi présent au Websummit et sur le même secteur que Notco, sa mission est de remplacer complètement l’utilisation des animaux comme technologie agroalimentaire, à l’échelle mondiale, d’ici 2035 !

Santé

La Covid-19 a mis à mal de nombreux systèmes de santé et en particulier aux USA. Selon Mario Schlosser CEO de la start-up new-yorkaise qui s’est lancé dans l’assurance-santé : « Le plus gros problème du système de santé américain est double : d’une part, il est trop coûteux ; d’autre part, il est encore trop compliqué… Ce que j’attends c’est un système de soins de santé et d’assurance individualisé où vous pouvez payer un certain montant… presque un abonnement pour votre santé ».

Ce souhait est déjà réalité en Chine. Jessica Tan Co-CEO de Ping An Insurance et Liao Jieyuan CEO de WeDoctor Group (dont le principal actionnaire est Tencent) ont présenté leurs différentes plateformes où santé, sous couvert d’AI et d’IOT, se conjugue avec une assurance individualisée.

Les chiffres sont saisissants ! Wedoctor a lancé en mars son service « lutte contre la Covid-19 » à l’international soit 230 millions d’utilisateurs dans 220 pays. Au total, 73 000 experts médicaux ont rendu des services en ligne gratuits, offrant ainsi plus de 180 millions de consultations sur la plateforme.

Wedoctor

Pour rappel, Wedoctor et Ping Doctor (Ping An Insurance) c’est l’intégration de tout un écosystème digital autour de la santé. Wedoctor c’est déjà 4000 hôpitaux, 300K docteurs et 200 millions de patients.

L’ambition affichée par ces géants chinois est de délivrer un suivi de santé (et les services connexes de type assurances…) individualisé et en temps réel, porté par l’IOT et l’AI, comme le démontre le schéma prôné par Liao Jieyuan CEO de WeDoctor Group.

Wedoctor

De l’autre côté de l’Atlantique, Amazon au vu de ces dernières annonces, lancement d’Amazon Care, Amazon Pharmacy, Assurance santé (Haven), Halo (bracelets connectés de type ‘Fitbit’) semble avoir une longueur d’avance pour répondre au souhait de Mario Schlosser CEO d’Oscar Health soit « Amazon Prime Health » un abonnement pour une santé personnalisée.

Toujours aux USA, 23andMe société connu internationalement (Appartenant à Alphabet) pour ses tests ADN, est aujourd’hui la plus grande base de données de recherche contenant des millions de génotypes humains. Elle vient de lancer une étude pour mesurer la corrélation entre patrimoine génétique et l’intensité des symptômes de la Covid-19. Cela inaugure une implication de plus en prégnante de notre ADN dans notre quotidien à l’image de Dna nudge aux UK et IcarbonX en Chine (mentionnés dans le dernier Commerce Reloaded).

23andMe

Fintech : Every company can become a #fintech!

Selon Ann Cairns vice-présidente exécutif de Mastercard (étude Mastercard) 54% des consommateurs ont augmenté l’utilisation d’une carte de débit ou de crédit sans contact et 44% ont davantage utilisé un digital wallet sur smartphone depuis le début de la pandémie.

Pour Dan Schulman CEO de Paypal. « The pandemic is the turning point. Digital currencies are going to come into the mainstream… The time is now. »

Aux USA, déjà 8 % des consommateurs considèrent une banque en ligne comme Chime ou Varo comme leur banque principale soit 27 millions de comptes ouverts auprès de banques en ligne. Selon son PDG Chris Brit, Chime détient 35% de tous les comptes bancaires digitaux aux USA ! Selon ce dernier le contenu dans les neobanques est primordial. « Connectez-vous culturellement avec vos clients pour leur fournir une lecture financière adaptée aux différentes cibles ».

Ces nouveaux entrants risquent de se fondre dans le décor du quotidien bancaire, et ce ne fut pas démenti par Roland Folz CEO Solarisbank AG : « Every company can become a fintech ».

Every company can become a fintech

Conclusion : Software eat the world

La Covid-19 par son cortège de contingences irrémédiables, mais aussi par sa propension à accélérer la mise en œuvre de licences auparavant prévues bien plus tard (drones, voitures autonomes…) ouvre la boîte de Pandore sur un monde ou « le software eats the word » pour paraphraser notre analyste Benedict Evans.

Si le « commerce ambiant » prend place de plus en plus vite, il ouvre un champ des possibles encore ignoré. « We have a level of penetration and density of internet population that means all sorts of businesses that would not have been possible in 2000 or indeed in 2010, are now possible.”

« Software eats the world! », Benedict Evans.

 

Guillaume Rio

Responsable Technologie et Partenariats

grio@echangeur.fr

 

Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
Spécialiste des écosystèmes BATX & GAFA et passionné par la Chine, Guillaume analyse l'impact des nouvelles technologies sur nos vies.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus