Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

Websummit 2016: The velvet rEvolution: Geeks, nerds and millionaires

15
nov
2016
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
3 minutes

The 2016 edition of Websummit revealed the major forthcoming trends. After Dublin in 2015, this edition was held from 7 to 10 November in Lisbon, a city that intends to capitalize on this event to become the European Silicon Valley within 10 years.

While Dublin exuded a party atmosphere with its Rock’n Roll and garage feel, a degree of middle-classness made itself felt at the Lisbon Websummit. There were half as many start-ups as in the 2015 edition (1,300 this year), no doubt to make room for the very many and generous sponsors of the most popular European Tech event (more than 50,000 visitors).
With fewer start-ups at the event, one could be forgiven for expecting to see less creativity and madness. However we have to admit that we really got into the mood of the Websummit 2016, as we chatted with start-ups on their minimalist stands (Alpha, Beta or Meta categories), listened to pitches and attended conferences.

IMG_1481

A busy time with hundreds of conferences to spur on the world of technology and to spread the “lucrative” word of the Techtitans attending the event, like Facebook, Google or Amazon, who boost their profits by exploiting our day-to-day existence.

Artificial Intelligence (AI) was at the heart of the debates, more particularly with Facebook, whose CTO Mike Schroepfer demonstrated the very sharp acceleration of the power of AI “made in Facebook” (Editor’s note: development team based in Paris). The most concrete illustration concerned image and text recognition, with the new “Style transfer” functionality that lets you airbrush a video in real time. Tomorrow, thanks to AI, Facebook will be able to identify the context, activity, people and constituent parts of each of the photos published on its network.

Furthermore, applications will soon no longer need to be downloaded. Transparent commerce, embedded directly in the messaging system thanks to image recognition, will transform the world into a true living e-commerce site.

Amazon, through the intervention of its CTO Werner Vogels, was there to encourage developers to embrace its AI Alexa. The American giant also showed off its advances in AI with an ecosystem affecting all areas of our life, which brands itself as a veritable ‘living services’ platform.

Hanson Robotics’s smart robot Sophia took the centre-stage at Lisbon with its human face and humour. However, Sofia is not just a gadget, as it clearly announced to an audience of 10,000 that it can already work as a receptionist in stores, a guide in shopping centre or a teacher of children (a true icy beauty).

 

Miss Sofia, still a teenager, even ended her intervention in an impressive manner by announcing that she is simply starting her learning process, and she confirmed that her aim in ‘life’ was to be able to programme herself! Hanson Robotics’s Ben Goertzel reacted by asserting that “there are no jobs done by humans that AI will not be able to do”!

The same story was heard from the start-ups, with tens of entrepreneurs offering AI on messaging services via chatbots, to manage the home, one’s energy consumption, find a job, travel… in a nutshell quite simply enhance one’s life!

Virtual Reality (VR) and Augmented Reality (AR) also featured very prominently at the conferences and on the stands, whether for gaming, viewing properties, helping disabled persons learn to walk again (more particularly with the Facebook-backed project “Walk again”), or even doing sport in a network with one’s friends in one’s living room. VR claims to be the future of the media and could even supplant the television we have had in our living rooms for over 60 years. As for RA, according to the panels of experts who were at the Websummit, it will become the ultimate technology for boosting productivity.

But will the future be driven by Mixed Reality, with Microsoft’s Hololens headset being its current incarnation? But it is already on the decline. Indeed, Apple is reported to be working with 600 engineers to make the next iPhone a Mixed Reality device featuring sensors and a revolutionary 3D camera, and it will be released in the next 11 months.

Finally the Websummit also has its share of unconventional speakers, and here we are not alluding to the presence of Ronaldinho or Luis Figo, but rather to a speaker who aroused the audience. This was the hot-headed Gary Vaynerchuk, who remotivated his listeners, still stunned by the election of Donald Trump. With a stage show featuring off-beat optimism and critical of large corporations. In his view despite the millions of dollars at their disposal, they are still too conventional in their marketing in response to the increase in new media.

Ultimately the 2016 edition was highly instructive, with new technologies that are confirming their hold on our future day-to-day existence and that will impact on our lifestyles over the next 10 years! Echangeur will for that matter almost certainly integrate new partners, including favourite start-ups like RECAST.AI, PROFILE AUDIENCE INSIGHT or even MEREAL BIOMETRICS… Read about our future technological partnerships in our newsletter and come and test their solutions in our showroom.

 

Nicolas Diacono

Published on November 16 2016 by

Nicolas DIACONO

Contact him

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialist
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

Websummit 2016: La rEvolution de velours: des Geeks, des nerds et des millionnaires

15
nov
2016
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
4 minutes

L’édition du Websummit 2016 nous a dévoilé les grandes tendances à venir. Après Dublin en 2015, cette édition s’est déroulée du 7 au 10 novembre à Lisbonne, qui compte bien capitaliser sur cet évènement pour devenir d’ici 10 ans la Silicon Valley européenne.

Si Dublin incarnait la foire avec un côté rock’n roll,  suintant le garage,  un certain embourgeoisement pouvait être ressenti sur le Websummit de Lisbonne. En effet, le nombre de startups a été divisé par deux par rapport à l’édition 2015 (1300 startups cette année),  et ce certainement pour faire place aux très nombreux et généreux sponsors de l’événement Tech Européen le plus attendu (plus de 50 000 visiteurs).

Forcément avec moins de startups présentes, on peut s’attendre à une perte de créativité et de folie. Néanmoins force fut de constater qu’au fil des échanges sur les stands minimalistes des startups (catégories Alpha, Beta ou Meta), des pitchs et des conférences, nous nous sommes retrouvés pris au jeu du Websummit 2016..

IMG_1481

Un jeu dense avec des centaines de conférences pour faire avancer le monde de la technologie et pour prêcher la bonne parole « lucrative » des Techtitans présents sur le salon comme Facebook, Google ou encore Amazon, qui augmentent leurs profits en exploitant notre quotidien.

L’Intelligence Artificielle (AI) a été au cœur des débats et plus particulièrement avec Facebook dont le CTO Mike Schroepfer a démontré la très forte accélération de la puissance de l’IA made in Facebook (NDLR : Equipe de développement basée à Paris). L’illustration la plus concrète a eu lieu sur la reconnaissance d’image et de texte avec la nouvelle fonctionnalité « Style transfert » qui permet de retoucher une vidéo en temps réel. Demain Facebook grâce à cette IA pourra identifier, le contexte, l’activité, les personnes et les éléments constitutifs de chacune des photos publiées sur son réseau.

Par ailleurs, la fin du téléchargement d’applications se profile. Un commerce transparent, présent directement dans la messagerie grâce à la reconnaissance d’image, transformera le monde en un vrai site e-commerce vivant.

Amazon, à travers l’intervention de Werner Vogels son CTO, est venu encourager les développeurs à s’investir sur son IA Alexa . Le géant américain a également fait l’étalage de son avancée sur l’IA avec un écosystème touchant tous les pans de notre vie et qui se positionne comme une véritable plateforme de ‘living services’.
Sophia, le robot intelligent d’Hanson Robotics, a séduit le center stage de Lisbonne avec son visage humain et son humour. Reste que Sofia n’est pas qu’un gadget puisqu’elle a clairement annoncé devant 10 000 personnes pouvoir déjà travailler pour faire l’accueil dans les magasins, le guide dans les centres commerciaux ou encore servir de professeur aux enfants (une vraie beauté glaciale).

 

Mademoiselle, encore adolescente,  a même conclut son intervention  de manière bluffante en annonçant n’être qu’au début de son apprentissage et en confirmant que son but dans la ‘vie’ etait de pouvoir s’autoprogrammer ! Ben Goertzel d’Hanson Robotics réagit et proclame qu’: « il n’y a aucun métier réalisé par des humains que l’IA ne pourra faire » !

Coté startup même topo avec des dizaines d’entrepreneurs proposant de l’IA sur les messageries via des chatbots, et ce afin de gérer son domicile, sa consommation énergétique, trouver un emploi, voyager…bref tout simplement optimiser sa vie !

La Réalité Virtuelle (VR) et la Réalité Augmentée (AR) furent également très présentes sur les conférences et les stands que ce soit pour jouer, faire visiter des biens immobiliers, aider les handicapés à remarcher (notamment avec le projet soutenu par Facebook « Walk again »), ou encore faire du sport en réseau avec ses amis depuis son salon. La VR se présente comme le futur des médias et pourrait même faire disparaitre la télévision présente dans nos salons depuis plus de 60ans. Quant à la RA, elle va devenir, selon les panels d’experts présents au Websummit, la technologie ultime pour augmenter la productivité.

Mais l’avenir n’est-il pas porté par la Réalité Mixte dont le casque Hololens de Microsoft est l’actuelle incarnation mais qui serait déjà sur le déclin. En effet, Apple ferait travailler 600 ingénieurs pour que le prochain iPhone puisse proposer de la Réalité Mixte grâce à des capteurs et une caméra 3D révolutionnaire, et ce dans les 11 prochains mois.

Enfin le Websummit c’est aussi son lot de speakers peu conventionnels, et là nulle allusion à la présence de Ronaldinho ou de Luis Figo, mais plus à un speaker qui a fait lever la foule. C’est le bouillant Gary Vaynerchuk  qui a remotivé son monde, encore secoué par l’élection de Donald Trump. Avec un show sur scène à l’optimisme décalé et critique des grandes corporations. Ces dernières restent à son goût et malgré les millions de dollars dont elles disposent, trop conventionnelles dans leur marketing face à la montée des nouveaux médias.

Au final l’édition 2016 fut riche d’enseignements avec des nouvelles technologies qui confirment leur empreinte dans notre futur quotidien et vont impacter nos modes de vie dans les 10 prochaines années ! L’Echangeur va d’ailleurs très certainement intégrer de nouveaux partenaires avec des coups de cœur chez des startups comme RECAST.AI, PROFILE AUDIENCE INSIGHT ou encore MEREAL BIOMETRICS…. Retrouvez nos futurs partenariats technologiques dans notre newsletter et venez tester leurs solutions dans notre showroom.

 

Nicolas Diacono

Publié le 16 Novembre 2016 par

Nicolas DIACONO

Contactez le

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialiste
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus