Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

VIVA TECHNOLOGY 2021: TECHNOLOGY AT THE SERVICE OF BUSINESS

30
jun
2021
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
6 minutes

After a pause in 2020 due to a global pandemic, Viva Technology is back in mixed format – online and physical – for four days of B2B and B2C innovations.

With a maximum of 5,000 participants attending the Paris Expo Porte de Versailles aisles at the same time for health reasons, physical attendance this year reached 26,000 visitors, far from the 124,000 registered in 2019! Consequence? An intimate salon, far from its usual frenzy forcing to fight, elbow to elbow, a path towards startups. They have thus been able to take time to present their solutions, technological or not, and their benefits to advance the trade of tomorrow.

Also, for this 5th edition, the experts of the BNP Paribas Personal Finance Exchange therefore handed over the cover and organized for BNP Paribas, the group’s partner brands as well as members of the Club Echangeur over 20 Floor Tours in the heart of the fairways in search of the technological nuggets of tomorrow.

Hard to miss! Here are their favorites!

Mobility

Once again mobility is in the spotlight at the show. The opportunity for the Exchange to discover solutions that will change our approach to mobility in the longer term.

The most «futuristic» is a young French company, Caps, which enters the emerging market of flying taxissuch as the German Volocopter or the Chinese EHang also present on the show. It is developing a single-seat, autonomous air transport system that could be the subject of a first launch at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. This single-seater vehicle incorporates no less than eight electric motors allowing individual flights at a speed of up to 70 km/h at an altitude between 150 and 300 m, and within a radius of 15 km.

The next step is to install mobile landing stations in cities, which are rather light and easy to move around as needed. These stations can be adapted to different locations such as airports, train stations and other business centres. The objective is to develop this new means of transport in some major cities in 2025 or 2026.

Once on Earth, we can continue to travel with Instant System, a young French company that has just raised 8 million euros. It is also available as a white label with BNP Paribas Arval. This young company designs applications that allow users, for a specific route, to choose different mobility solutions: train, metro, bus, VTC, taxi, scooter, carpool, etc.

A network idea similar to the solution deployed by Goggo Network. Autonomous vehicles become carriers of services. The operator is working on the legal and technical framework for the European autonomous mobility networks of the coming decades. His first project in Europe? An autonomous delivery system in partnership with Neolix in Madrid from September 2021 for the Sushi Shop brand.

Autonomous means electric! Mob-Energy, a young French company, wants to accelerate the transition to more sustainable mobility by removing the constraints encountered when recharging the vehicle. Specifically, it develops charging robots called «Charles» that integrate second-life batteries. Once installed in a car park, the robot stores energy and moves autonomously to vehicles that have ordered a charge to give them the desired mileage. You had to think about it!

Sustainability

How do we get to a non disposable company? By attacking our packaging. Startup Hipli sells reusable E-commerce parcels more than 100 times. Launched less than a year ago, it has 80 partner brands including CDiscount. Once the purchase is recovered, the consumer simply returns the Hipli packaging to the sorting centre. Everything is easier for this return since the packaging is already stamped. There is now only to slide it into a mailbox of the neighborhood. If 20,000 parcels are currently in circulation, the company is targeting 150,000 parcels per month by the end of the year.

The issues around food resilience were also discussed in the fairways embodied by urban farms such as PopFarm. The startup is the first vertical farm designed specifically for hypermarkets and supermarkets. In stores, the consumer harvests the plant directly with its roots. Once home, all he has to do is put his basil in a glass of water and it lasts for seven days. PopFarm can accommodate strawberries, salads, small vegetables or even flowers with a goal to sell 20% cheaper than organic in 2022.

Another vertical farm, Ÿnsect which raises insects. It then transforms them into ingredients for animals, fish, plants and tomorrow human. On human nutrition, sports food is the first key market but the French startup sees further. In Germany, burgers made from small beetle larvae are already on the market.

VivaTech has set the stage for innovations that serve our basic needs, such as feeding. Between responsible consumption and alternative consumption patterns, all players are evolving and transforming others in the process.

Customer Experience

The Covid-19 pandemic is exploding e-commerce. More than ever, digital is part of our daily lives. In fact, for more than a year now, the major groups have had to adapt and get up to speed. As a result, the screens are present in force in the aisles of the show. Objective: to maintain the relationship with the customer remotely.

First example, the startup Bambuser with its live streaming solution. While the tool already accounts for more than 10% of digital revenue in China, it is still in its infancy in Europe. Yet its growth and exponential and the brands are trying the experiment. Logically, the Swedish startup announces a +36% increase in the basket! What to salivate all e-commerce sites in Europe!

Partner of the Echangeur and present since 2018 in the showroom, La Vitre made a strong impression this year. As a result of a year spent teleworking behind a screen? Probably so much these tools now show their limits. Indeed, seeing and discussing does not mean working together. But this is exactly what the French startup allows: to link teams located in different places, cities or countries. And this, with a simple objective: to be able to work together on a document, a plan or a video. Add the translation in your language and you get one of VivaTech’s «stars» this year!

For her part, Renée Corner also capitalizes on digital to offer a 100% physical experience. Concretely, it is a digital platform for booking ephemeral sales spaces. It connects brands from e-commerce and points of sale. Surfing the trend of the shop-in-shop, it deploys winning/winning partnerships between brands wishing to meet their consumers without paying too much money and living places that make their square meters profitable while discovering new consumers.

Finally, and although all three of them surf on digital, these three examples illustrate perfectly that today, if commerce mutates thanks to technology, it is at the service of the customer relationship. And yes! The future of trade is human!

Tech Disrupt

VivaTech allows you to discover disruptive technologies or startups every year.These technological solutions allow us to understand the scope of possibilities and the future potential of innovation.Whether it is to fight global warming, optimize telemedicine or create its digital double, the technologies present Porte de Versailles bring a little more real world and science fiction.These solutions are often echoed by the companies or speakers we meet on the CES (Consumer Electronic Show) or at SXSW (South by Southwest).

With Didimo, the user can create his digital double from a simple selfie. This avatar can then be used in video games to immerse the player even more in his game. This same avatar can represent us in a virtual world or even in augmented reality. For the trade, and more particularly the online trade, a digital double will allow to remotely test clothes, shoes and any fashion accessories. This Portuguese startup shows some potential offered by the worlds of synthesis, as discussed at Commerce Reloaded 2021.

In healthcare, i-Virtual deploys a medical solution by image recognition. This solution makes it possible to measure the heart rate, respiratory rate, oxygen saturation, stress level, through the camera of a smartphone and algorithms, etc. It is a real tool to help diagnose or keep seniors at home. This type of solution gives new perspectives to telemedicine. A telemedicine that has taken on a new dimension with the global pandemic which should benefit i-Virtual.

What if the world of life, and more particularly synthetic biology, could help humans fight against global warming? Woodlight, for example, proposes to create bioluminescent plants to offer alternative lighting solutions that do not require electricity.

But especially with Grow Your Own Cloud, it’s the DNA of plants that takes on an unimaginable scale! Indeed, this startup proposes to store your data in the DNA of plants to eventually replace the computer servers used for storage. Did you know that only four grams of DNA could store all the data produced by humanity?

All these solutions are only in their beginnings but suggest a future more glorious than the one we are promised.

Club Echangeur

Echangeur club

Want to access unlimited publications, attend events and enjoy our help?

Join the Club!
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
Facing with the changes in retail, today's innovations help Matthew to think about tomorrow's relationship between the brand and the consumer.
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

VIVA TECHNOLOGY 2021 : LA TECHNOLOGIE AU SERVICE DU BUSINESS

30
juin
2021
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
7 minutes

Après une pause en 2020 pour cause de pandémie mondiale, Viva Technology revient en format mixte – online et physique – pour quatre jours d’innovations B2B et B2C.

Avec, pour des raisons sanitaires, un maximum de 5 000 participants présents en même temps dans les allées de Paris Expo Porte de Versailles, la fréquentation physique a atteint cette année 26 000 visiteurs ; loin des 124 000 enregistrés en 2019 ! Conséquence ? Un salon intime, loin de sa frénésie habituelle obligeant à se frayer, à coup de coude, un chemin vers les startups. Elles ont ainsi pu prendre de temps de présenter leurs solutions, technologique ou non, et leurs bénéfices pour faire avancer le Commerce de demain.

Aussi, pour cette 5e édition, les experts de l’Echangeur BNP Paribas Personal Finance ont donc remis le couvert et organisé pour BNP Paribas, les enseignes partenaires du groupe ainsi que les membres du Club Echangeur plus de 20 Floor Tours au cœur des allées du salon à la recherche des pépites technologiques de demain.

Difficile de les rater ! Voici leurs coups de cœur !

Mobilité

Une nouvelle fois la mobilité est à l’honneur sur le salon. L’occasion pour l’Echangeur de découvrir des solutions qui vont changer, à plus ou moins long terme, notre approche de la mobilité.

La plus « futuriste » est une jeune pousse française, Caps qui s’engouffre dans le marché émergent des taxis volants tels l’allemand Volocopter ou le chinois EHang lui aussi présent sur le salon. Elle développe un système de transport aérien monoplace et autonome qui pourrait faire l’objet d’un premier lancement à l’occasion des JO de Paris 2024. Ce véhicule monoplace intègre pas moins de huit moteurs électriques permettant des vols individuels à une vitesse de 70 km/h maximum à une altitude comprise entre 150 et 300 m, et ce dans un rayon de 15 km.

Prochaine étape : installer des stations d’atterrissage mobiles au sein des villes, des structures plutôt légères et faciles à déplacer selon les besoins. Ces stations peuvent s’adapter à différents lieux tels que les aéroports, les gares et autres centres d’affaires. L’objectif est de développer ce nouveau moyen de transport dans certaines grandes villes en 2025 ou 2026.

Une fois les pieds sur Terre, on peut continuer à voyager avec Instant System, jeune société française qui vient de lever 8 millions d’euros. Elle se décline d’ailleurs en marque blanche avec BNP Paribas Arval. Cette jeune pousse conçoit des applications qui permettent aux usagers, pour un itinéraire précis, de choisir différentes solutions de mobilité : train, métro, bus, VTC, taxi, trottinette, scooter, covoiturage, …

Une idée de réseau proche de la solution déployée par Goggo Network. Les véhicules autonomes deviennent porteurs de services. L’opérateur travaille à l’élaboration du cadre juridique et technique des réseaux européens de mobilité autonome des prochaines décennies. Son premier projet en Europe ? Un système de livraison autonome en partenariat avec Neolix à Madrid à partir de septembre 2021 pour l’enseigne Sushi Shop.

Qui dit autonome dit électrique ! Mob-Energy, jeune société française, veut accélérer la transition vers une mobilité plus durable en supprimant les contraintes rencontrées lors de la recharge du véhicule. Concrètement, elle développe des robots chargeurs appelés « Charles » qui intègrent des batteries de seconde vie. Une fois installé dans un parking, le robot stocke l’énergie et se déplace de manière autonome vers les véhicules qui ont commandé une recharge pour leur donner le kilométrage souhaité. Il fallait y penser !

Sustainability

Comment arriver à une société du non jetable ? En s’attaquant à nos emballages. La startup Hiplicommercialise des colis pour le E-commerce réutilisables plus de 100 fois. Lancée il y a moins d’un an, elle compte 80 marques partenaires dont CDiscount. Une fois l’achat récupéré, il suffit au consommateur de renvoyer l’emballage Hipli au centre de tri. Tout est facilité pour ce retour puisque l’emballage est déjà affranchi. Il n’y a plus qu’à le glisser dans une boîte aux lettres du quartier. Si 20 000 colis sont actuellement en circulation, l’entreprise vise 150 000 colis par mois d’ici la fin de l’année.

Les enjeux autour de la résilience alimentaire étaient aussi évoqués dans les allées du salon, incarnés notamment par les fermes urbaines comme PopFarm. La startup se définit comme la première ferme verticale conçue spécialement pour les hypers et supermarchés. En magasin, le consommateur récolte directement la plante avec ses racines. Une fois rentré à domicile, il lui suffit alors de mettre son basilic dans un verre d’eau pour qu’il tienne pendant sept jours. PopFarm peut accueillir des fraises, des salades, des petits légumes ou même des fleurs avec un objectif de vendre 20% moins cher que le bio en 2022.

Autre ferme verticale, Ÿnsectqui élève elle des insectes. Elle les transforme ensuite en ingrédients pour les animaux, les poissons, les plantes et demain les êtres humains. Sur la nutrition humaine, l’alimentation sportive est le premier marché clé mais la startup française voit plus loin. En Allemagne, des burgers faits à partir de petites larves de scarabées sont déjà commercialisés.

VivaTech a planté le décor d’innovations au service de nos besoins fondamentaux comme notamment se nourrir. Entre consommation responsable et modes de consommations alternatifs, tous les acteurs évoluent et transforment les autres au passage.

Customer Experience

La pandémie de Covid-19 fait exploser l’E-commerce. Plus que jamais le digital s’insère dans notre quotidien. De fait, depuis plus d’un an, les grands groupes ont dû s’adapter et se mettre au diapason. Résultat, les écrans sont présents en force dans les allées du salon. Objectif : maintenir la relation avec le client à distance.

Premier exemple, la startup Bambuser avec sa solution de live streaming. Si l’outil représente déjà plus de 10% du chiffre d’affaires digital en Chine, il est encore balbutiant en Europe. Pourtant, sa croissance et exponentielle et les enseignes tentent l’expérience. Logique, la startup suédoise annonce une augmentation de +36% de la mise au panier ! De quoi faire saliver tous les sites de E-commerce en Europe !

Partenaire de l’Echangeur et présente depuis 2018 dans le showroom, La Vitre a fait forte impression cette année. Conséquence d’une année passée en télétravail derrière un écran ? Probablement tant ces outils montrent aujourd’hui leurs limites. En effet, voir et discuter ne signifie pas travailler ensemble. Or c’est exactement ce que permet la startup française : relier des équipes situées dans des lieux, des villes ou des pays différents. Et ce, avec un objectif simple : pouvoir travailler ensemble sur un document, un plan ou encore une vidéo. Ajouter la traduction dans votre langue et vous obtenez l’une des « stars » de VivaTech cette année !

De son côté, Renée Corner capitalise aussi sur le digital pour proposer une expérience 100% physique. Concrètement, il s’agit d’une plateforme digitale de réservation d’espaces de vente éphémères. Elle met en relation des marques issues du E-commerce et des points de vente. Surfant sur la tendance du shop-in-shop, elle déploie des partenariats gagnants/gagnants entre des marques souhaitant rencontrer leurs consommateurs sans débourser trop d’argent et lieux de vie qui rentabilisent leurs mètres carrés tout en découvrant de nouveaux consommateurs.

Finalement, et bien qu’ils surfent tous les trois sur le digital, ces trois exemples illustrent parfaitement qu’aujourd’hui si le commerce mute grâce à la technologie, celle-ci est au service de la relation client. Et oui ! L’avenir du commerce passe par l’Humain !

Tech Disrupt

VivaTech permet de découvrir chaque année des technologies ou des startups de rupture. Ces solutions technologiques permettent de comprendre le champ des possibles et le potentiel à venir de l’innovation. Que ce soit pour lutter contre le réchauffement climatique, optimiser la télémédecine ou encore créer son double numérique, les technologies présentent Porte de Versailles rapprochent un peu plus monde réel et science-fiction. Ces solutions font, d’ailleurs, bien souvent écho aux sociétés ou conférenciers que l’on peut rencontrer sur le CES (Consumer Electronic Show) ou encore au SXSW (South by Southwest).

Avec Didimo, l’utilisateur peut créer son double numérique à partir d’un simple selfie. Cet avatar pourra ensuite être utilisé dans les jeux vidéo pour immerger encore plus le joueur dans sa partie. Ce même avatar pourra nous représenter dans un monde virtuel ou même en réalité augmentée. Pour le commerce, et plus particulièrement le commerce en ligne, un double numérique permettra de tester à distance des vêtements, des chaussures et tout accessoire de mode. Cette startup portugaise montre certains potentiels qu’offrent les mondes de synthèse, comme évoqué lors de Commerce Reloaded 2021.

Dans la santé, i-Virtual déploie une solution médicale par reconnaissance d’images. Cette solution permet via la caméra d’un smartphone et des algorithmes de mesurer le rythme cardiaque, le rythme respiratoire, la saturation en oxygène, le niveau de stress, … c’est un véritable outil d’aide au diagnostic ou pour le maintien des personnes âgées à domicile. Ce type de solution donne de nouvelles perspectives à la télémédecine. Une télémédecine qui a pris une nouvelle dimension avec la pandémie mondiale ce qui devrait profiter à i-Virtual.

Et si le monde du vivant, et plus particulièrement la biologie de synthèse, arrivait à aider les humains à lutter contre le réchauffement climatique ? Woodlight par exemple propose de créer des plantes bioluminescentes afin d’offrir des solutions d’éclairages alternatifs et ne nécessitant pas d’électricité.

Mais surtout avec Grow Your Own Cloud, c’est l’ADN des plantes qui prend une envergure inimaginable ! En effet, cette startup propose de stocker vos données dans l’ADN des plantes pour, à terme remplacer, les serveurs informatiques servant au stockage. Saviez-vous que seulement quatre grammes d’ADN permettraient de stocker l’ensemble des données produites par l’humanité ?

Toutes ces solutions ne sont qu’à leurs débuts mais laissent entrevoir un futur plus glorieux que celui qui nous est promis.

Club Echangeur

Club Échangeur

Vous souhaitez accéder à toutes nos publications sans limite, participer à nos évènements et profiter de nos accompagnements ?

Rejoignez le Club !
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
Face aux mutations du commerce, les innovations d'aujourd'hui aident Matthieu à penser la relation de demain entre enseigne et consommateur.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus