Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

[STUDY TRIP] Back from Euroshop in Düsseldorf

15
mar
2017
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
5 minutes
Beginning of March, Echangeur by BNP Paribas Personal Finance published its Trend Report #Commerce Reloaded. It was a great opportunity for the experts to present their analyses on a year of market watch on technological trends and to share their summary of the major international trade shows Web Summit, Consumer Electronics Show and NRF Retail’s Big Show. The big trend is the ambiant commerce, friction less, customized and conversational. With 5G things will evolve faster as instantaneity in customer relationship will be possible.  This will strongly boost the use of Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things or  Mixed Realities, VR and/or AR.

Rapport de Tendances & son Best-Of
Facing these major changes, how stores react today ?  

To find answers, Echangeur by BNP Paribas Personal Finance went to Düsseldorf in Germany to check one more time the alleys of the largest trade show in the world dedicated to points of sale : EuroShop.

Salon Euroshop
Organised every 3 years, EuroShop gathered for its 50th birthday, more than 113 000 visitors from 138 countries who met 2 368 exhibitors spread on 127 000 sqm in 18 halls of Düsseldorf’s Messe. Gigantic ! To compare, NRF Retail’s Big Show in New York only presents 600 exhibitors on 25 000 sqm. Therefore with such a space, this trade show allows retailers to go from an empty space to a brand new store fully equipped in 5 days ! Fridges, floor boards, client tracking and geofencing, electronic tickets, shopping trolleys, mannequins, mPos, welcoming robots, connected light bulbs, coat hangers… we can find anything and everything at EuroShop.

 

euroshop-2In 2017, the trade show has a clearer setup and it is organized in 7 sections : POP Marketing, Expo & Event Marketing, Retail Technology, Food Tech & Energy Management, Lighting, Visual Merchandising, and Shop Fitting & Store Design. Like 3 years ago, these 3 last zones are dedicated to the physical store layout and attracted the most our experts. By wandering through the alleys of the 6 different halls, it is almost impossible not to notice the efforts of each exhibitors to attract visitors on their booth.

kinomoAfter their huge success at the CES of Las VegasHypersvn has been very popular at EuroShop. Kino-Mo, its holographic projector that creates 3D images, is visually very strikking and lead the customer to stop by to have a look. Indeed there were many visitors who literally blocked in front of the 3D images and then asked for information to the bielorussian company based in London. At least it works also on retailers !

 

 

 

kino-moBy combining technologies, design, material, lighting, the point of sale makes sense and becomes a provider of pleasure. It is a great way to differenciate itself. Clearly architects integrated the trend 6 of our last Commerce Reloaded report « When digital becomes sensory » : Tomorrow, the store will be a « living space » as well as an experimentation space for consumers.

 

 

Besides surfing on the  « emotion » side of the shopping experience, the organizers of the trade show put the accent on digitalisation of the store as well as omni channel approach. Therefore, let’s go to the « Retail Technology » hall to measure the implementation of the latest technological innovations instore. 

Réalité VirtuelleFirst surprise, there is an impressive gap with the innovations presented at the NRF Retail’s Big Show… It is difficult to find at EuroShop solutions like Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality, Chatbots, Connected devices or even Blockchain.

This gap is even more surprising, knowing that the 2014 edition of Euroshop was clearly in line with the NRF Retail’s Big Show… Indeed, there were indoor geofencing solutions, instore traffic measurement or digital windows…   Of course these technologies are fairly recent and their impact on business still needs to be proven. Only welcoming  robots were presented.  We met the german robot Scitos A5 from Metralabs, the russian Kiki from Alfa Robotics and of course, Nao and Pepper from softbank robotics.

Les Robots

 

As Pure Players invest the physical world by opening stores, any type of delay can be dramatic for retailers. At the CES in Las Vegas Amazon Alexa was extremely present. In Germany, on the other side, the Artificial Intelligence of the American giant is nowhere. This is very strange to notice that, when we know that they launched Amazon Echo and Amazon Dot last September in Germany. It leaves the door wide opened for IBM Watson with the showcasing of their « Digital Window » developed with the retailer C&A.

 

IBM WatsonOnce the visitor has been photographed, the artificial intelligence will analyse the image and will suggest a selection of clothes adapted to his style, his profile as Watson can determine, gender, age and size. The client can of course navigate through the different suggestions and select the products that he likes. He then only needs to scan with his smartphone, the QR Code corresponding to his shopping basket to finish his purchases. If the demonstration still needs some adjustments and improvements, especially regarding the age recognition, this intelligent window remains a great innovation. Indeed, it turns any shop window active and turn them into shopping areas opened 24/7. With its clear « wow effect », the « Digital Window » is a true example of a solution to implement in an ambiant retail environment.

 

The second surprise of the trade show is the absence of disruptive omni channel solution… If it’s impossible to avoid spotting the electronic price tags, the RFID chips, or the mPOS terminals, the ambiant dimension of the customer journey is almost invisible this year at EuroShop.

scanblueTherefore, Virtual and Augmented Realities, the tool of tomorrow’s retail are only presented in a few places. However, their impact on retail is perfectly proven on the booth of Germany company ScanblueThey are a specialist of 3D scan of products for e-commerce websites. With the handles of the HTC vive, the visitor can create in real time his own store. Everything can be customized, from material, to texture, furniture, mannequins, etc. The headset really reinforce the impact thanks to the immersive visit while creating.

 

This is probably on the booth of Tarent, Bonn based agency, that Echangeur found one of the most interesting innovation in terms of customer journey. If “connected” shopping trolley is not really new, as some experiments have already been ran in Europe, this technology allows the client to shop without having to constantly use his smartphone. It is a good way to fight against “3 hands shopping” : 2 hands to push the trolley, and 1 to retrieve the promotion via the messages sent to his mobile.

Tarent Developed especially for EuroShop, this shopping trolley is equipped with a tablet, which allows the client to login by scanning his loyalty card. Then he can retrieve his shopping list prepared at home. The tablet then becomes a GPS and guides the customer in the alleys of the store. It also scans the products and pushes discounts, contextualised and customized. Finally it acts as a payment method as the client does not need to get his credit card out of his wallet.

 

 

This Tarent example  sum up very well this edition of EuroShop. Technologies are well integrated in the global value chain of the point of sale: from storage to the cash register, from logistics to geofencing of the consumer in real time… There is now a logic of experimental and living spaces. The stores are ready to get to the next level and embrace the future. However the store still needs to integrate properly into the omni channel customer journey. For this last point, the store is now just a single point of contact in the entire customer journey. New comers, such as Amazon or Alibaba (that recently bought Intime Retail and its 29 shopping malls in China), perfectly understood these issues. They offer an ambiant and constant relationship… they already created the retail of tomorrow...
Save the date for the 51st edition of EuroShop, from February, 16th to 20th 2020, in order to measure the evolution of stores and their innovation processes.

 

Written by Matthieu Jolly, Innovation & Service Manager @ Echangeur by BNP Paribas Personal Finance
Contact : mjolly@echangeur.fr 

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialist
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Euroshop 2017

Début Mars, l’Echangeur by BNP Paribas Personal Finance a publié son rapport de tendances #Commerce Reloaded. L’occasion pour ses experts de faire la synthèse d’une année de décryptages technologiques confortés par les visites des Web Summit, Consumer Electronics Show et NRF Retail’s Big Show. Le cru 2017 confirme une tendance observée depuis plusieurs années : la percée d’un commerce ambiant, sans friction, personnalisé et conversationnel. Une orientation qui va encore s’accélérer avec l’avènement de la 5G en rendant possible l’instantanéité dans la relation client favorisant ainsi l’essor de l’intelligence artificielle, de l’Internet des objets ou des réalités mixtes, virtuelles et/ou augmentées.

Rapport de Tendances & son Best-Of
Face à ces bouleversements, où en sont les magasins aujourd’hui?

Pour faire le point, l’Echangeur by BNP Paribas Personal Finance s’est rendu à Düsseldorf en Allemagne pour arpenter, une nouvelle fois, les allées du plus grand salon mondial dédié à l’aménagement de points de vente : EuroShop.

Salon Euroshop
Organisé tous les trois ans, EuroShop a réuni, pour ses cinquante ans, plus de 113 000 visiteurs venus de 138 pays afin de rencontrer les quelques 2 368 exposants répartis sur les 127 000 m² des 18 halls du Messe Düsseldorf. Gigantesque ! A titre de comparaison, le NRF Retail’s Big Show de New York ne regroupe lui « que » 600 exposants autour 25 000 m². De fait, avec une telle surface d‘exposition, le salon permet à un commerçant de passer, en cinq jours, d’un espace vide à un point de vente flambant neuf et 100% équipé. Meubles réfrigérés, parquet, tracking du client sur le lieu de vente, étiquettes électroniques, caddie, mannequin, mPOS, robot d’accueil, ampoules connectés, cintres, … on trouve de tout à EuroShop.

 

euroshop-2Clarifiée lors de cette année 2017, la structure du salon s’organise dorénavant autour de 7 pôles : POP Marketing, Expo & Event Marketing, Retail Technology, Food Tech & Energy Management, Lighting, Visual Merchandising, and Shop Fitting & Store Design. Comme il y a trois ans, ce sont ces trois dernières zones, consacrées à l’aménagement physique du magasin, qui ont le plus séduit nos experts. En flânant au sein de ces 6 halls, difficile de rester insensible aux prouesses développées par chaque exposant afin d’attirer le visiteur sur son stand. A ce titre, et après son tabac au CES de Las Vegas,

 

kinomoHypersvn a de nouveau enregistré un succès à EuroShop. Kino-Mo, son projecteur holographique qui crée des images 3D, surprend le client dans son trajet et crée un point de fixation. A voir le nombre de personnes s’arrêtant devant le stand de la startup biélorusse basée à Londres, cela marche aussi sur les professionnels !

 

 

 

kino-moDe fait, en combinant technologies, design, matériaux, jeux de lumière, le point de vente gagne du sens et devient vecteur de plaisir et donc de différenciation. Clairement, les architectes ont intégré la tendance 6 du dernier rapport Commerce Reloaded « quand le digital s’immisce dans le sensoriel » : demain, le magasin sera un lieu de « lieu de vie » et d’expérience pour les consommateurs.

 

 

Outre l’axe « émotionalisation » de l’expérience shopping, les organisateurs du salon avaient placé cette édition autour de la digitalisation du magasin et de l’omnicanalité. Direction donc le hall « Retail Technology » pour mesurer l’implémentation des dernières innovations technologiques en magasin.

Réalité VirtuellePremière surprise, le net décalage avec les innovations présentées à NRF Retail’s Big Show… Difficile de trouver à EuroShop des solutions de réalité virtuelle et/ou augmentée, de chatbots, d’objets connectés ou encore liée blockchain.

Ce décalage est d’autant plus marquant que l’édition 2014 s’inscrivait elle clairement dans la continuité du salon new yorkais en poussant les solutions de géolocalisation indoor, d’analyse du trafic in-store ou encore de digitalisation des vitrines ! Bien sûr ces technologies sont récentes et leurs impacts sur le business doivent encore être démontrés. Concrètement, seuls les robots d’accueil étaient représentés avec notamment l’allemand Scitos A5 de Metralabs, la russe Kiki de Alfa Robotics et, bien évidemment, SoftBank Robotics avec Nao et pas moins de sept Pepper.

Les Robots

 

A l’heure où les Pure Players investissent le monde physique en ouvrant des points de vente, tout retard pris peut s’avérer fatal pour une enseigne. Le CES de Las Vegas s’est déroulé sous le contrôle d’Alexa d’Amazon mais en Allemagne, l’intelligence artificielle du distributeur américain est absente et ce, malgré la commercialisation depuis septembre dernier d’Amazon Echo et d’Amazon Dot. Le champ était donc libre pour IBM Watson avec la présentation du « Digital Window » développé en partenariat avec l’enseigne d’habillement C&A.

 

IBM WatsonUne fois le visiteur photographié, l’intelligence artificielle va analyser l’image pour lui proposer une sélection de vêtements adaptés à son style vestimentaire et son profil, Watson déterminant en effet ses sexe, âge et taille. Le client peut évidemment naviguer au sein de ces recommandations et sélectionner les articles qui l’intéressent. Il lui suffit ensuite de scanner depuis son smartphone le QR Code correspondant à son panier pour finaliser ses achats. Si la démo comporte encore des améliorations possibles, notamment sur l’analyse de l’âge, cette vitrine intelligente est intéressante car elle rend active les devantures des magasins en les transformant en espaces de vente ouverts 24/7. Avec son effet « whaou », le « Digital Window » est un bel exemple de solution de vente dans un commerce ambiant.

 

C’est d’ailleurs la deuxième surprise du salon : l’absence de solution omnicanale disruptive. Alors qu’il est impossible de tourner la tête sans tomber sur des étiquettes électroniques intelligentes et communicantes, des puces RFID ou des terminaux mPOS, la dimension ambiante de l’expérience client est peu visible cette année à EuroShop.

scanblueAinsi, les réalités virtuelles et augmentées, outils du commerce de demain, sont présentées en petit nombre. Toutefois, leur impact sur le commerce est parfaitement démontré sur le stand de l’allemand Scanblue, spécialiste du scan 3D d’objets pour sites de e-commerce. Les manettes du casque de réalité virtuelle HTC Vive en main, le visiteur crée, en temps réel, son magasin. Tout est personnalisable : matériaux, texture, mobilier, mannequins, etc. Le casque renforce l’impact grâce à la visite en immersion dans sa création.

 

C’est peut-être sur le stand de Tarent, agence basée à Bonn en Allemagne, que l’Echangeur by BNP Paribas Personal Finance a dénichée une des démos les plus intéressantes en matière de parcours client global. Si son caddie « connecté » n’est pas fondamentalement nouveau, des expérimentations ont déjà eu lieu en Europe, il permet au client de faire ses courses sans devoir sortir en permanence son smartphone de sa poche. Un exemple réussi de lutte contre les courses à trois mains : deux pour pousser son chariot et une pour récupérer les promotions via les messages envoyés sur le téléphone.

Tarent Développé pour EuroShop, le caddie est équipé d’une tablette grâce à laquelle, le client va pouvoir s’identifier en scannant sa carte de fidélité, récupérer sa liste de course préparée à domicile, être guidé au sein des rayons, scanner les articles, profiter de promotions contextualisées et personnalisées puis payer sans avoir à sortir sa carte bancaire.

L’exemple de Tarent résume bien cette édition d’EuroShop. Les technologies sont très bien intégrées dans l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur du point de vente : de l’entrepôt à la caisse en passant par la gestion des approvisionnements et la localisation du consommateur en temps réel. Intégrant maintenant une logique d’expérience et de lieu de vie, le magasin est prêt à affronter l’avenir. Il faut toutefois qu’il s’intègre encore plus dans le parcours omnicanal du consommateur. Pour ce dernier, il n’est qu’un point de contact au sein de sa « customer journey ». Les nouveaux entrants globaux tels Amazon ou Alibaba qui vient de racheter Intime Retail et ses vingt-neuf grands magasins et dix-sept centres commerciaux en Chine ont parfaitement compris ces enjeux. En proposant une relation ambiante et permanente, ils créent de fait le commerce de demain.
Rendez-vous est donc pris pour la 51ème édition de EuroShop, du 16 au 20 février 2020, pour mesurer in-situ l’évolution des magasins et des démarches !

 

Ecrit par Matthieu Jolly, Innovation & Service Manager @ Echangeur by BNP Paribas Personal Finance
Contact : mjolly@echangeur.fr