Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

[Study Trip] The Experts @ Retail’s Big Show #NRF17 in New York

13
jan
2017
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
6 minutes

From Vegas to New York…

They just came back from Las Vegas where they explored from head to toes the #CES17, looking for the latest innovations.
They are now coming back from New York for the 2017 edition of the emblematic Retail’s Big Show #NRF17, THE place to visit to discover all the innovations for retail. Echangeur goes there for several year now. This study trip is also the opportunity to visit the latest innovative concept stores big apple has to offer in order to offer you new decodings both detailed and inspiring.

Discover the video summary of this learning expedition :

We invite you to follow their learning expedition here and you can also get a live vision on @echangeur

 

DAY 1 : First visit to the Retail’s Big Show #NRF17

Day 1 at #NRF17

Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality… are certainly the 2 major trends of this 2017 edition !
In terms of technologies, we spotted again this year connected fitting rooms, blockchain as well as conneted cars. On this topic, General Motors now allows its drivers to shop and drive at the same time …

At conferences, the accent has been placed on client experience / UX  on all forms : from concept stores focusing on offering life experiences and emotions to their visitors to social ecosystems generating loyalty thanks to the analysis of the data collected online and offline.

The Debrief of this first day by Nicolas Diacono, Techno Trends Expert @ Echangeur

“Welcome to this 1st débrief of #NRF17.

A very intense first day at the Retail’s Big Show. It all started on sunday morning with the classic but very inspiring conferences.
From them, we can extract the impact of digital influence on sales in physical stores. Indeed more than 50% of offline sales have been influenced by online activities beforehand. Beside, e-commerce in the USA, remains at approximately 8% or market shares.  

On the show, one of the major trend was AI, as many booths were presenting solutions using Arificial intelligence. We didn’t see Alexa from Amazon (unlike CES) but we saw Watson from IBM, that tries hard to gain market share on Amazon… to be continued…

Also, Blockchain is clearly one of the trend of this edition, especially on topics linked to logistic and authentification of transactions.

Besides, Virtual Reality  becomes more and more concrete with solutions to shop in VR but also to test merchandising or product placement.

Finally the latest trend this year is the growth of the Innovation Lab around themes like robotics and Chatbots dedicated to retail.

In store in NYC, we discovered a few great concept stores. For example, the Nike store in Soho is definitely a must see as it focuses on the product testing in store. The visitor can easily try any of the products of the brand, such as Basketball, before buying them. We noticed that, here, digitalization of the stores is now being replaced by offering experiences and product testing. We want to make the client live unique experiences.”

 

 

DAY 2 : After the conferences,  focus on the tradeshow and the exhibitors of the Retail’s Big Show #NRF17

day2 @ #NRF17

 

The Debrief of this second day by Guillaume Rio, Techno & Partnership Manager @ Echangeur

“Hello and welcome to this 2nd debriefing session of the NRF Retail’s Big Show.
As you can see behind me, today is a very busy day here on the tradeshow. There are more than 500 exhibitors at the Retail’s Big Show.
This year there is a major trend around 
IoT. We observed very interesting solutions of image recognition, of logistic and RFID. This allows the stores to be much more intelligent and to anticipate the needs of its clients.

1st example of a fluid customer experience, seen on the worldline booth :
You enter a store, a chatbot welcomes you. Then you can start a discussion with it. It will suggest products that you might like. If these products interest you then it will launch a map of the store to guide you to the product so that you can find them in the store very easily. If you require more information, you can simply use the image recognition to obtain the price, the type of fabric or to know if the product is in stock.
Then you want to buy the product, but you really don’t want to waste time at the cash register… just go directly to a mini counter and scan the product with your mobile. There you can unlock the security device and pay. This is a great way to simplify the payment and therefore make the customer save time.   

A 2nd example also very interesting are tools for merchandising allowing the store to be much more reactive to the needs of visitors. We saw a lot of robots like Bossanova or Tally which are dedicated to merchandising. Thank to captors, they can help you optimize your merchandising in a few seconds as well as know you stocks in real time. Besides these robots, we observed drones fo merchandising such as Shelfie that tells you if a product is available in store in real time. Through the app of the store, the client will know if the product he is looking for is in stock and it totally avoid the client to be disappointed.  

Yesterday we talked about the fear of retailers towards Amazon and especially Amazon Echo. Today Levi’s announced the opening of a store 100% RFID, that will be in pilot mode in 2017. Also we know that Levi’s partnered last year with Google to create connected clothes. These clothes can communicate with the customers and when they are worn out it can facilitate the renewal by placing the order.  

Finally we notice food players like Target or Natural Food, taht created their own hub, which allow them to know exactly what is in your fridge and which can then place orders directly on their websites. This is a response to Amazon Alexa which is everywhere and of which everyone talks about. 

See you tomorrow for the 3rd debrief.”

 

DAY 3 : Exploration of the latest concept stores in town !

day3 @ NYC NRF17

 

Le Débrief de cette 3ème journée par Nicolas Diacono, Techno Trends Expert et Guillaume Rio, Techno & Partnership Manager @ Echangeur

Good morning everyone and welcome to this 3rd debriefing session of the Study Trip of Echangeur in New York City for the #NRF17.
As you can see today we are in the temple of shopping, in the famous Westfield Oculus, World Trade Center. Obviously here, we will talk about stores !

First big observation is that stores are very well connected, such as Aldo, with big screens allowing the customers to scan directly the pairs of shoes, to then try them on, check availability in the store as well as checking stocks in nearby stores. Also there is True Religion Store, where Apple watch is being used by all floor staff as a real selling tool, giving them access to clients’ data (purchase records, etc…). They also have screens to present the various product ranges available in the store.

However, even if these 2 stores are very connected with beacons, it seems to us that there are several limitations to this infrastructure. It indeed requires that the client has turned on his Bluetooth on his mobile and also that he has the application of the store installed on his device… These factors reduce the possible reach of geofencing of these 2 stores.

Besides, we got confirmation of the trend that we talked about on the 1st day : this is clearly the experience in store that matters and is on top of retailers’ mind. We mentioned it with Nike Store, where we could test the product on real play ground in store. We also tested Pirch, where customers can test any of the products, even take a bath or a shower.
Customizing is also still very strong here and it evolves each year offering new dimensions. New Balance or Converse are both very good examples of this trend. At Converse, you can create your own unique pair of sneakers, on which you can customize each of the various parts one by one, then launch production and then you will receive your pair within the next 3 weeks directly at home. This is Big trend that we also observed at the Retail’s Big Show this year.

This customization and adaptation to the clients’ needs is surely going to grow even stronger : Retailers now have access to dedicated platforms where they can integrate all these detection modules (beacons, facial recognition, etc…) This let us think that we are going towards a lively store, which will evolve according to the rhythm of customers : their movements in the store, their interactions with products, the weather…

Yesterday, we talked a lot about Amazon and of the innovations in terms of services. However, it clearly appears that physical stores still hold a lot of positive arguments and keeps reinventing itself. We will follow this trend very carefully and we will share our insights and analyses with you at the next edition of the event #CommerceReloaded on March, 2nd.

See you soon for the complete debrief and for a deep analysis of these 3 major events : Websummit 2016, CES 2017 and NRF 2017 !

 

To get your tickets for the event #CommerceReloaded 2017 (A complete session that includes : Conference, Report, Best of Techno booklet, Startups Village), book your seats here and benefit of the Early Bird price until 20/01/2017.

 

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialist
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Study Trip In NYC #NRF17

From Vegas to New York…

Tout juste de retour de Las Vegas où ils ont arpenté de long en large les allées du #CES17 à la recherche des dernières innovations, nos experts rempilent !
Ils sont désormais de retour de New York du mythique Retail’s Big Show #NRF17, la grand-messe de l’innovation retail à laquelle assiste l’Echangeur depuis de nombreuses années. Ce voyage est aussi l’opportunité de faire le point sur les tous derniers concept stores innovants de big apple afin de vous proposer des décryptages complets et inspirants.

Découvrez le récapitulatif en vidéo de cette learning expedition :

Nous vous proposons ici de revivre leur learning expedition pas à pas. Bien sûr vous pouvez retrouver les infos en live sur @echangeur

 

DAY 1 : Retour sur la visite du Retail’s Big Show #NRF17

Day 1 at #NRF17

Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality… sont certainement les 2 grands maître mots de cette édition 2017 !
Niveau technologie, on retrouve également les cabines d’essayage connectées, la blockchain ainsi que la voiture connectée, notamment avec General Motors qui proposent d’acheter en conduisant…

Lors des conférences, l’accent est tout particulièrement mis sur l’experience client sous toutes ses formes : entre magasins lieux de vie qui font vivre des expériences et ressentir des émotions aux visiteurs, bien au delà du simple acte d’achat, jusqu’aux social ecosystems favorisant la fidélité en s’appuyant sur la data collecté online et offline.

Le Débrief de cette 1ère journée par Nicolas Diacono, Techno Trends Expert @ Echangeur

« Bienvenue sur ce 1er débrief de la #NRF17.

Une première journée déjà riche sur le salon, qui a débuté ce dimanche matin assez classiquement avec les conférences qui lancent l’évènement.
On retiendra que l’influence du digital sur les ventes en magasin physique est de plus en plus marquée. En effet plus de 50% des ventes en offline ont été influencées par une activité online préalable. En parallèle on constate que la part du e-commerce reste autour 8%  pour le marché américain.
Sur le salon, une des grosses tendances est liée à l’AI, car de nombreux stands qui font la part belle à l’intelligence artificielle. On ne voit pas d’Alexa d’Amazon (contrairement au CES) mais plutôt Watson d’IBM qui essaie de reprendre du terrain sur Amazon. Affaire à suivre…

Egalement on note une forte présence de la Blockchain notamment sur les problématiques de logistique et d’authentification des transactions.

Par ailleurs la réalité virtuelle qui est très concrète avec des solutions pour faire du shopping en VR mais aussi pour tester le merchandising ou le placement de produits.

Enfin la petite nouveauté de cette année est la montée en puissance de l’Innovation Lab, autour des thèmes de la robotique, des Chatbots et des Robots en règle générale pour le retail.

Côté nouveauté en termes de concept Stores à New York, nous avons fait plusieurs belles découvertes, notamment le magasin Nike de Soho, où la part belle est donnée au test de produit en magasin et qui précède l’étape d’achat. Le visiteur peut ainsi essayer les equipements de la marque pour différents sports, tels que le basket-ball. D’ailleurs on remarque que la digitalisation des points de vente ici à New York est en train de laisser la place à l’expérience et au test produit. On veut faire vivre des expériences uniques aux clients. « 

 

DAY 2 : Après les conférences, focus sur le salon et les exposants du Retail’s Big Show #NRF17

day2 @ #NRF17

 

Le Débrief de cette 2ème journée par Guillaume Rio, Techno & Partnership Manager @ Echangeur

« Bonjour à tous et bienvenue au 2ème débrief du NRF Retail’s Big Show.
Comme vous pouvez le constater derrière moi, aujourd’hui est un jour de forte affluence sur le salon. On a ici plus de 500 exposants.

Cette année il y a un grand sujet autour de l’IoT. Nous avons observé des choses assez exceptionnelles autour de la reconnaissance d’image, autour de la logistique, autour de la RFID, ce qui permet au magasin de devenir beaucoup plus intelligent et beaucoup plus précurseur des besoins des clients en les anticipant.

1er exemple d’expérience fluide, vu sur le stand worldline :
Vous entrez dans un magasin, vous êtes accueilli par un chatbot. Vous allez pouvoir discuter avec lui. Il va vous proposer des articles. Ces articles vous intéressent, automatiquement il va vous lancer un plan pour vous aider à trouver les produits dans le magasin. Si vous avez besoin de plus d’informations vous utilisez la reconnaissance d’image et vous aurez des informations sur le prix, le textile ou encore s’il est stock ou pas.
Vous décidez ensuite que ce produit vous plait. Vous voulez l’acheter mais vous ne voulez pas perdre de temps en caisse. Vous allez à une mini borne vous scannez le produit avec votre portable, vous pouvez alors débloquer l’antivol et payer. Ainsi vous avez un paiement fluide et un encaissement ultra rapide.

2ème exemple très intéressant, c’est la montée en puissance d’outils assez extraordinaires pour le merchandising qui permettent justement cette réactivité du magasin. Nous avons vu de nombreux robots tel Bossanova ou Tally qui permettent grâce à des capteurs des réaliser votre merchandising en quelques secondes et de connaitre en temps réel l’état des stocks. D’autre part, nous avons pu observer des drones dédiés au merchandising tel Shelfie qui vous dit en temps réel si les produits sont disponibles ou non en magasin. Cela permet via l’app du magasin d’éviter un sentiment de déception pour le client qui se rendrait en magasin et ne pas trouverait pas son produit en stock.

Nous avons également évoqué hier la grande peur des retailers vis-à-vis d’Amazon et notamment Amazon Echo. Aujourd’hui Levi’s a annoncé la création d’un magasin entièrement en RFID qui sera en pilote cette année. On sait aussi que Levi’s a lancé un partenariat avec Google pour créer des vêtements connectés. Ces produits communiquent ensuite avec les clients, ce qui favorise, l’entretien et le renouvellement de ces produits lorsqu’ils sont usés en simplifiant la gestion des commandes et des livraisons.

On a vu enfin Target ou encore avec Natural Food qui ont créé leur propre hub qui leur permet de savoir exactement ce que vous avez dans votre frigo et qui peuvent ainsi lancer des commandes afin de contrecarrer cet Amazon Alexa qui est plus que jamais omniprésent et dont tout le monde parle.

A demain pour le 3ème débrief. »

 

DAY 3 : A la découverte des derniers concept stores de big apple !

day3 @ NYC NRF17

 

Le Débrief de cette 3ème journée par Nicolas Diacono, Techno Trends Expert et Guillaume Rio, Techno & Partnership Manager @ Echangeur

« Bonjour à tous et bienvenue pour ce 3ème débrief du study trip de l’Echangeur à l’occasion de la #NRF17 à New York.
Comme vous pouvez le constater nous sommes dans le dernier temple du shopping New Yorkais, le fameux Westfield Oculus, World Trade Center et forcément, ici  nous allons parler de magasins !

Des magasins qui sont connectés à l’image d’Aldo qui a des écrans avec lesquels on va pouvoir scanner des paires de chaussures afin d’essayer, voir les stocks en ligne et voir les stocks dans les boutiques environnantes si les chaussures désirées ne sont pas disponibles dans la boutique de ce shopping mall. Il y a aussi le magasin True Religion qui a instauré l’usage de l’Apple Watch comme outil d’aide à la vente pour les vendeurs leur donnant un accès à l’historique d’achat des clients directement sur la montre mais aussi qui propose les interactions avec les écrans afin de présenter les différentes gammes de produits disponibles dans le magasin.
Malgré tout, l’usage des beacons dans ces 2 magasins nous semble assez fortuit car il y a certaines limites telles que la nécessité d’avoir le bluetooth activé et que le client ait l’appli du magasin sur son téléphone. Cela réduit donc le nombre de clients qui peuvent être potentiellement touchés par le géofencing de ces 2 enseignes.

Par contre la tendance énoncée lors du débrief du 1er jour, se confirme : c’est clairement l’expérience en magasin qui prédomine. Je l’avais mentionné avec Nike store, où nous avons pu tester les cours particuliers pour jouer au basket, au foot etc. Nous avons aussi vu le magasin Pirch dans lequel je peux essayer tous les produits de la maison et même me faire couler un bain dans le magasin, ou encore prendre ma douche.

Egalement au-delà de ces expériences, il y a la personnalisation qui reste très présente et qui évolue chaque année, notamment chez New Balance ou encore chez Converse. Chez ces derniers,  je peux créer ma propre paire de baskettes pour laquelle je choisis tous les éléments un par un, je la fais produire et je reçois ma paire sous 3 semaines chez moi. C’est une vraie tendance de fond qui est bien retranscrite sur le salon Retail’s Big Show.

Ces phénomènes de personnalisation iront sans doute d’ailleurs encore plus loin : en effet les retailers ont désormais accès à des plateformes dédiées qui leur proposent d’intégrer tous ces modules de détections (beacons, reconnaissance faciale, etc…). Cela  nous laisse penser que nous nous dirigeons vers un magasin très vivant qui va évoluer au rythme des clients et s’adapter en fonction de la météo, des mouvements des clients, de la prise en main des produits…

Hier nous parlions beaucoup d’Amazon et des avancées servicielles. Cependant le magasin physique a beaucoup d’atouts et se réinvente. C’est une tendance que nous allons bien évidemment suivre de près et que nous allons partager avec vous lors de la prochaine édition de #CommerceReloaded du 2 Mars. 

A bientôt pour le débrief complet et une analyse croisée de ces 3 évènements phares : le Websummit 2016, le CES 2017 et la NRF 2017 ! »

 

Pour vous inscrire à l’évènement #CommerceReloaded 2017 (Un RDV comprenant: Conférence, Rapport, Cahier Best of Technos, Village de Startups), réservez vite vos places ici et bénéficiez du tarif Early Bird, jusqu’au 20/01/2017.