Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

Station F: a made in France high tech campus with European ambition

06
jul
2017
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
3 minutes
After four years of work, Xavier Niel opened at the end of June, in Paris, the gigantic Parisian campus, Station F (34 000m²) dedicated to young tech savvy’s. During the inauguration, Emmanuel Macron was, of course, present. His participation didn’t go unnoticed and echoed a statement that he gave a couple of weeks earlier during Viva Technology announcing a funding of 10 billion euros: The French Tech Visa.

 

BNP Paribas is quite involved in the Station F project, acting as the bank and insurance partner and installing its own start-up acceleration program: Plug and Play BNP Paribas.

To know more about this great project, we met with Myriam Bèque, [Innovation development manager at BNP Paribas Banque de Détail and head of WAI by BNP Paribas] and Laurent Herbillon [Startups Cooperation director at BNP Paribas International Financial Services] who built this partnership. 

 

The BNP Paribas group became a privileged partner at the launch of this program. What are the main principles of this partnership? 

« Station F has 21 start-up programs dedicated to various industries and topics. We are working on FinTech / Assurtech topics with support from the Plug and Play program co-created by BNP Paribas

It’s also an opportunity to reassert BNP Paribas positioning as a banking partner of startups via our service WAI Banking (regardless of whether they operate in Fintech or Assurtech says Myriam). We fund new economy and offer differentiated services depending on their maturity mode. 

Ultimately, supporting startups at Station F enables us to promote our online banking system Hello Bank, which is specifically adapted to digital workers. »

 

Station F has the ambition to become a European leader when it comes to accompanying startups during their development: in that respect, where does that leave the group BNP?

« As the European Bank of Startups, at BNP Paribas we are delighted to be part of this ambitious project, which is hosted in France. In this respect, it’s also very interesting that European and international dimensions are strongly incorporated in this project because it is totally in line with our DNA»

 

In your eyes, what does the F stand for in Station F?

« For me personally, beyond « Founders, Fun, Freyssinet, Fellow, Freedom, Funding » which are at the origins of the choice of the letter F, it also stands for “Forward” because we are moving forward! »

 

Focus: the BNP Paribas program « Plug and Play » and its key principles

How does this program, within Station F, enable BNP Paribas to overcome a new stage of its digital transformation?

« International Retail Banking and IFS have been working together since 2015 with Plug and Play, an innovation platform which has accompanied startups for over ten years. At the end of 2016, we spread this agreement, covering the whole of the BNP Paribas group and all of Plug & Plays installations. We also created a Fintech and Insurtech program in Paris. These new programs will benefit from the unique dynamics of Station F.

At the heart of the “program” zone, this new platform steered by Hélène Mouly (IFS BNP Paribas) and Omeed Mehrinfar (Plug and Play) will benefit from a space of 40 offices. The first season of the program ended on the 11th of July, where startups and trades showcased their achievements. These trades selected 10 new startups which will be set up in September for the second season of Station F.

These partnerships are part of our open innovation strategy to boost the digital transformation of the BNP Paribas group. Our ambition is to expand the implementation of POC (proof of concept) and MVP (Minimum Viable Product, which meet the challenges of professions and duties such as Risk and Compliance, and to industrialize them thereafter.

For BNP Paribas, being here at Station F encourages synergy between startups, our trades and the other partners of Station F. Via Plug and Play, we get the Silicon Valley to come to Paris and vice versa seen as we will export the French Tech to California! »

 

Over and above Station F, we can see a true French dynamic based on technological innovation

Facebook « likes » French startups. Indeed, even the GAFA are observing France and identify the country as a fertile ground for innovation and research.

It’s not a coincidence if Facebook opened 2 years ago its very own research laboratory of “artificial intelligence” in Paris. It’s the first one set up outside of the USA: a strong and encouraging message for French startups. We met one of the research managers, Antoine Bordes, at Facebook, who spoke to the Echangeur:

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialist
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Station F - Plug & Play

Après quatre ans de travaux, Xavier Niel a ouvert fin juin, à Paris, son gigantesque campus parisien dédié aux jeunes pousses de la Tech, Station F (34 000 m2). Lors de l’inauguration, Emmanuel Macron était (évidemment) de la partie. Une participation remarquée et qui fait écho à sa déclaration faite, quelques semaines plus tôt, lors de Viva Technology : le président français avait alors annoncé l’ouverture d’un fonds de près de 10 milliards d’euros, le French Tech Visa.

 

BNP Paribas est particulièrement impliquée dans le projet Station F, puisque qu’elle est à la fois le partenaire Banque & Assurance, et qu’elle y installe son programme d’accélération de start-ups Plug and Play BNP Paribas.

Pour en savoir plus sur les ambitions de ce beau projet, nous avons rencontré, Myriam Bèque [Responsable du développement de l’innovation chez BNP Paribas Banque de Détail, et Head of WAI by BNP Paribas], ainsi que Laurent Herbillon, [Director Startups Cooperation at BNP Paribas International Financial Services] qui ont mis en place ce partenariat.

 

Le groupe BNP Paribas s’est placé en partenaire privilégié dès le lancement de ce programme. Quels en sont les grands principes ?

« Station F compte 21 programmes d’accélération correspondant chacun à une thématique. A ce titre, nous opérons la verticale d’accélération FinTech / Assurtech en nous appuyant sur le programme co-construit par BNP Paribas avec Plug and Play.

C’est également l’opportunité de réaffirmer le positionnement de BNP Paribas comme partenaire bancaire des startups via notre offre WAI Banking (Peu importe qu’elles opèrent dans la Fintech ou l’Assurtech précise Myriam). Nous finançons la nouvelle économie, et proposons en effet une offre différenciée selon leur mode de maturité.

Enfin, le fait d’être présents aux côtés des startupers à Station F nous permet également de mettre en avant notre offre Hello Bank qui est particulièrement bien adaptée aux digital workers. »

 

Station F ambitionne de se positionner comme leader Européen d’accompagnement des startups : en ce sens, quelle est la position du groupe BNP ?

« En tant que Banque Européenne des Startups, nous sommes chez BNP Paribas ravis de faire partie de ce projet ambitieux et hébergé en France. A ce titre Il est particulièrement intéressant que les dimensions européennes et internationales y soient fortement incarnées puisqu’elles correspondent pleinement à notre ADN. » 

 

Selon vous, que signifie le F, de Station F ?

« Pour moi, au-delà des « Founders, Fun, Freyssinet, Fellow, Freedom, Funding » qui sont à l’origine du choix de la lettre F, Station F c’est aussi « Forward » car on va de l’avant ! » nous confie Myriam.

 

Focus avec Laurent Herbillon sur l’accélérateur BNP Paribas Plug and Play et ses grands principes

Comment cet accélérateur au sein de Station F permet- il de franchir une nouvelle étape dans la transformation digitale de BNP Paribas ?

« International Retail Banking et IFS travaillent depuis 2015  avec Plug and Play, une plateforme d’innovation qui accompagne les start-ups depuis 10 ans. Fin 2016, nous avons étendu cet accord à tout le groupe BNP Paribas et avec toutes les implantations Plug and Play et avons créé un accélérateur FinTech et InsurTech à Paris. Ce nouveau programme installé au sein de Station F bénéficiera de toute la dynamique de ce lieu unique.

Au cœur de la zone « Accélérateurs », ce programme piloté par Hélène Mouly [IFS BNP Paribas] et Omeed Mehrinfar [Plug and Play], bénéficiera d’un espace de quarante bureaux. La première saison du programme se termine le 11 juillet prochain où les startups et les métiers présenteront leurs réalisations. Ce jour-là, les métiers identifieront également dix nouvelles startups qui s’installeront en septembre pour la seconde saison à Station F

Ces partenariats s’inscrivent dans notre stratégie d’open innovation pour accélérer la transformation digitale du groupe BNP Paribas. Notre ambition est de « booster » la mise en place de PoC (proof of concept) et MVP (Minimum Viable Product) qui répondent aux enjeux des métiers et des fonctions notamment Risque et Compliance, et ensuite les industrialiser.  

Pour BNP Paribas, être ici à Station F,  c’est ainsi favoriser les synergies entre ces startups, nos métiers et les autres partenaires de Station F. A travers Plug & Play, nous faisons venir à Paris la Silicon Valley et vice versa puisque nous exporterons la French Tech en  Californie ! »  

 

Au-delà de STATION F, C’est une véritable dynamique Française basée sur l’innovation technologique que l’on observe…

Facebook  « like » les startups françaises. En effet, même les GAFA se penchent sur la France et l’identifient comme un terrain fertile et propice à l’innovation et la recherche.

Ce n’est pas un hasard si Facebook a ouvert il y a deux ans, son laboratoire de recherches « intelligence artificielle » à Paris : Fair. C’est le premier installé hors des Etats-Unis. Un message fort et encourageant pour les startups françaises. Nous avions rencontré à VivaTech 2017, un des responsables, Antoine Bordes, qui s’est confié au micro de l’Echangeur :