Retail Learning Expedition 2019
Reading Time: 4 minutes

With the end of the year just over, the month of January is off to a flying start for Echangeur with the Retail Learning Expedition 2019.

Indeed, with the #CES2019 (Consumer Electronic Show) in Las Vegas, followed by the Retail’s Big Show #NRF2019 in New York, our experts in new tech, Guillaume Rio and Nicolas Diacono are on the alert! They accompany a group of customers on these 2 fairs. On the agenda: new technologies (AR, Facial Payment, Autonomous Cars, AI, Robots, Blockchain …) and their impact on retail, which must be more and more engaged!

Once in New York, it’s also an opportunity to have a look at the latest concept-stores and enrich our field experiences in store!

Find below the daily debriefs of our experts on the essential points to remember from this Retail Learning Expedition #LEX2019PF.

 

DAY 1 @CES Las Vegas

January 8th, 2019
It’s the end of the first day of our experts in Las Vegas on the famous Consumer Electronic Show, 2019 edition. This day spent on the Eureka Park (Tech West), the hall dedicated to health, smart home and startups, shows the development of connected mirrors, as well as connected devices to monitor your health and body (skin, heart…) and to help and prevent incident with babies and seniors. Second stricking point is Amazon Key, the delivery service of amazon that allows to have the parcels  delivered directly in your garage or in your car trunk. Finally like last year, VR, AR and robots are at the fair, even if we don’t see them as often. Watch this débriefing with our 2 experts Nicolas Diacono & Guillaume Rio below. See you tomorrow for another debriefing !

 

DAY 2 @CES Las Vegas

January 9th, 2019
Day 2 in Las Vegas on the famous Consumer Electronic Show, 2019 edition. Nicolas Diacono live from Tech East, the hall dedicated to the car draws the table of highlights. Of course the autonomous car is on all lips with presentations of concept cars from major global manufacturers. Alexa and Google are starting to conquer this connected car with their assistants. We can see that Alexa even equips bikes … The flying car becomes more and more concrete, especially with Bell presenting a concept that will be used by Uber from 2020. To stay on autonomous vehicles and intelligent , great efforts are made around the ergonomics of the interior space and the dashboard. The windows can even be equipped with augmented reality and the lidars are more and more developed to allow these vehicles to move independently. Finally, on an aspect of resilient technology, Nicolas presents the cardboard microscope to fold and use with his smartphone. Watch the debriefing of Nicolas Diacono below. See you tomorrow for the debriefing of the 3rd day!

 

DAY 3 @CES Las Vegas

January 10th, 2019
For this 3rd day, focus on China which is very well represented on the CES this year. Beyond the large stands of Baidu, or Suning, our experts have discovered 2 Chinese startups particularly interesting: iflytek specialized in voice recognition, able to translate simultaneously in 62 languages, but also Horizon Robotics, very known because of their involvement in Chinese social scoring thanks to facial recognition. Another favorite in home automation, the connected umbrella to monitor the movement of the sun to continue to protect you throughout the day 🙂 More seriously, a large part is given to the drones on the show. They come in the form of motorcycles (which will be used by the police in Dubai), but also aquatic drones that allows you to go underwater. Finally, little disappointment about the hardware related to the VR and AR. Little novelty on this side … Watch the debriefing of Guillaume Rio and Nicolas Diacono below. See you tomorrow for the 4th and last debriefing of CES 2019!

 

DAY 4 @CES Las Vegas

January 11th, 2019
This is the last day for our experts on the CES 2019 before flying to New York for the Retail’s Big Show organized by the NRF. The time is therefore in the balance sheet. Major trends are

  • mobility facilitated by autonomous cars is a reality
  • robots as companion of life
  • drones to conquer the air and sea

Finally it is the ecosystem aspect that is remarkable this year since it has taken a prominent place. Everything is interconnected. All the actors diversify their activities and do not stay only in their historical sector. Auto manufacturers are going to health, retailers to logistics, etc. The two big winners are Google and Amazon who are everywhere … especially AlexaWelcome to a multiverse world!

Watch the debriefing of Nicolas Diacono below. See you tomorrow for the 1st debriefing at NRF 2019!

 

DAY 1 @NRF New York

January, 12th, 2019
This is the first day of our experts on the Retail’s Big Show 2019 at Javis Center in New York. This show, organized by the NRF (National Retail Federation) is the essential meeting point for retailers. Here are the trends of this first day:

  • 2 gold nuggets: Caper, the smart connected cart and Texel, the 3D scan solution
  • omnichannel is not really a reality for retailers according to Forrester
  • ecosystems are developing and retailers need to consider new business models, particularly in regards to value of their audience and the media.

Watch the complete debriefing of Nicolas Diacono below. See you tomorrow for the 2nd debriefing at NRF 2019!

 

DAY 2 @NRF New York

January 13th, 2019
This is the first day of our experts on the Retail’s Big Show 2019 at Javis Center in New York. Here are the takeways:

  • 1 Gold Nugget : Arylla, the startup that uses nano particle garment labeling and will compete with RFID,
  • unlike the CES where it was the voice that was in the spotlight, the image is everywhere at the NRF: with the recognition that allows the statement of linear, the payment, the analysis of the consumers in store …
  • Scott Galloway made the show on the scene of the NRF by warning against Amazon going to advocate an antitrust …

Watch the complete debriefing of Nicolas Diacono below. See you tomorrow for the 3rd debriefing at NRF 2019!

 

DAY 3 @NRF New York

January, 14th 2019
For the 3rd day in New York. Our experts focus on the field. Here are the trends to remember:

  • Urban farms are a big bottom line for meeting the growing food needs of the world’s population. Visit of Square Roots, the farm founded by Elon Musk’s brother in Brooklyn.
  • The stores are always more experiential and real places to live like Starbucks, Amazon 4-star, Cover Girl …
  • Particularly interesting conferences with Tanarra Schneider from Fjord on the transparency of brands towards the consumer and with Mohamed Haouache, CEO of Storefront, the airbnb retail that prunes the popup store as the future of retail.

Watch the complete debriefing of Nicolas Diacono below. See you tomorrow on the 21st of March for the conference Commerce Reloaded at Levallois Perret !

Retail Learning Expedition 2019
Reading Time: 4 minutes

Les fêtes de fin d’année à peine terminées, le mois de Janvier commence sur les chapeaux de roues pour l’Echangeur avec la Retail Learning Expedition 2019.

En effet, avec le #CES2019 (Consumer Electronic Show) à Las Vegas, suivi du Retail’s big Show #NRF2019 à New York, nos experts nouvelles technologies, Guillaume Rio et Nicolas Diacono sont sur le qui vive ! Ils accompagnent un groupe de clients sur ces 2 salons. Au programme : nouvelles technologies (AR, Facial Payment, Autonomous Cars, IA, Robots,Blockchain…) et leurs impacts sur le retail qui se doit de plus en plus engagé !

Une fois à New York, C’est aussi l’occasion de faire le point sur les tous derniers concept-stores et enrichir nos expériences terrain en magasin !

Retrouvez ci dessous les débriefs quotidiens de nos experts sur les points essentiels à retenir de cette Learning Expedition #LEX2019PF.

 

JOUR 1 @CES Las Vegas

8 Janvier, 2019
Nos experts viennent de finir leur 1er jour à Las Vegas sur le célèbre Consumer Electronic Show, édition 2019. Cette journée passée sur Eureka Park (Tech West), le hall dédié à la santé, la smart home et aux startups, met en lumière le boom des miroirs connectés, les appareils de surveillance du corps (peau, coeur, etc.) et aussi de surveillance des personnes plus vulnérables (personnes agées et bébés). Grosse présence également de Amazon Key, le service de livraison d’amazon qui permet de déposer les colis directement dans le garage ou dans le coffre du véhicule. Enfin c’est comme l’année dernière, la présence de la VR, de l’AR et des robots même s’ils sont moins représentés cette année.  Regardez le débriefing par nos 2 experts Nicolas Diacono & Guillaume Rio ci dessous. RDV demain pour le débriefing du 2ème jour !

 

JOUR 2 @CES Las Vegas

9 Janvier, 2019
2ème jour à Las Vegas sur le célèbre Consumer Electronic Show, édition 2019. Nicolas Diacono en direct du Tech East, le hall dedié à la voiture vous dresse le tableau des points marquants. Bien entendu la voiture autonome est sur toutes les levres avec les présentations des concept cars de grands constructeurs mondiaux. Alexa et Google commencent à conquérir cette voiture connectée avec leurs assistants. On voit d’ailleurs qu’Alexa équipe même des vélos… La voiture volante devient de plus en plus concrète, notamment avec Bell qui présente un concept qui sera utilisé par Uber à partir de 2020. Pour rester sur les véhicules autonomes et intelligent, les grands efforts sont faits autour de l’ergonomie de l’espace intérieur et du tableau de bord. Les vitres peuvent même être dotées de réalité augmentée et les lidars sont de plus en plus développés afin de permettre à ces véhicules de se mouvoir en toute autonomie. Enfin, sur un aspect de technologie resiliente, Nicolas nous présente le microscope en carton à plier et à utiliser avec son smartphone. Regardez le débriefing de Nicolas Diacono ci dessous. RDV demain pour le débriefing du 3ème jour !

 

JOUR 3 @CES Las Vegas

10 Janvier, 2019
Pour ce 3ème jour, focus sur la Chine qui est très bien représentée sur le CES cette année. Au delà des grands stands de Baidu, ou Suning, nos experts ont découvert 2 startups chinoises particulièrement intéressantes : iflytek spécialisée dans la reconnaissance vocale, capable de traduire simultanément en 62 langues, mais aussi Horizon Robotics, très connue car impliquée dans le scoring sociale chinois grâce à la reconnaissance faciale. Autre coup de coeur dans la domotique, le parasol connecté qui permet de suivre le mouvement du soleil pour continuer à vous protéger tout au long de la journée 🙂 Plus sérieusement, une grosse part est donnée aux drones sur le salon. Ils se déclinent notamment sous forme de drone motos (qui vont être utilisés par la police de Dubai), mais aussi de drones aquatiques qui permet de se balader sous l’eau. Enfin, petite deception concernant le hardware lié à la VR et l’AR. Peu de nouveauté de ce côté… Regardez le débriefing de Guillaume Rio et Nicolas Diacono ci dessous. RDV demain pour le 4ème et dernier débriefing du CES 2019 !

 

JOUR 4 @CES Las Vegas

11 Janvier, 2019
C’est le dernier jour pour nos experts sur le CES 2019 avant de s’envoler vers New York pour le Retail’s big Show organisé par la  NRF. L’heure est donc au bilan. Les tendances majeures sont

  • la mobilité facilitée par les voitures autonomes est une réalité
  • les robots comme companion de vie
  • les drones pour conquérir les airs et les mers

Enfin c’est le volet écosystème qui est remarquable cette année puisqu’il a pris une place prépondérante. Tout est interconnecté. Tous les acteurs diversifient leurs activités et ne restent pas uniquement dans leur secteur historique. Les constructeurs auto vont vers la santé, les retailers vers la logistique, etc. Les deux grands gagnants sont Google et Amazon qui sont partout… surtout Alexa… Bienvenue dans un monde multiverse !

Regardez le débriefing de Nicolas Diacono ci dessous. RDV demain pour le 1er débriefing à la NRF 2019 !

 

JOUR 1 @NRF New York

12 Janvier, 2019
C’est le premier jour de nos experts sur le Retail’s Big Show 2019 au Javis Center à New York. Ce salon, organisé par la NRF (National Retail Federation) est le rdv incontournable pour les retailers. Voici les tendances de ce 1er jour :

  • 2 pépites : Caper, le chariot connecté intelligent et Texel, la solution de scan 3D
  • l’omnicanalité n’est pas vraiment une réalité pour les retailers selon Forrester
  • les écosystèmes se développent et les retailers doivent envisager de nouveaux business models notamment autour de l’audience et des médias.

Regardez le débriefing complet de Nicolas Diacono ci dessous. RDV demain pour le 2ème débriefing à la NRF 2019 !

 

JOUR 2 @NRF New York

13 Janvier, 2019
C’est le 2ème jour de nos experts sur le Retail’s Big Show 2019 au Javis Center à New York. Voici les tendances à retenir :

  • 1 pépite : Arylla, la startup qui utilise le marquage des vêtement par nano particule et qui va concurrencer la RFID,
  • contrairement au CES où c’était la voix qui était à l’honneur, l’image est partout à la NRF : avec la reconnaissance qui permet le relevé de linéaires, le payment, l’analyse des consommateurs en magasin…
  • Scott Galloway a fait le show sur la scene de la NRF en mettant en garde par rapport à Amazon allant jusqu’à préconiser un antitrust…

Regardez le débriefing complet de Nicolas Diacono ci dessous. RDV demain pour le 3ème débriefing à la NRF 2019 !

 

JOUR 3 @NRF New York

14 Janvier, 2019
Pour le 3ème jour à New York. Nos experts font un focus sur le terrain. Voici les tendances à retenir :

  • Les fermes urbaines sont une grosse tendance de fond pour répondre aux besoins alimentaires croissants de la population mondiale. Visite de Square Roots, la ferme fondée par le frère d’Elon Musk à Brooklyn.
  • Les magasins sont toujours plus experientiels et de véritables lieux de vie à l’image de Starbucks, Amazon 4-star, Cover Girl… 
  • Des conférences particulièrement intéressantes avec Tanarra Schneider de chez Fjord sur la transparence des marques vis à vis du consommateur et avec Mohamed Haouache, CEO de Storefront, le airbnb du retail qui prone le popup store comme l’avenir du retail.

Regardez le débriefing complet de Nicolas Diacono ci dessous. RDV demain le 21 Mars pour la conférence Commerce Reloaded à Levallois Perret !