Reading Time: 3 minutes

With the end of year celebrations just over, January begins on a roll for the Echangeur with the 2021 edition of its traditional Retail Learning Expedition in the USA,which this year will be rather a “Virtual Retail Learning Expedition”, the health crisis is still at the heart of the concerns.

It all started on 11/01 with the #CES2021 (Consumer Electronic Show), followed by the famous Retail’s big Show #NRF2021 chapter 1 (chapter 2 is scheduled for June if the health situation permits). Our 2 experts specializing in new retail technologies, Guillaume Rio and Nicolas Diacono are ready for exploration! They will scan conferences and virtual exhibitions in search of the latest trends not to be missed!

On the program: new technologies (AR, Facial Recognition, Autonomous Cars, Autonomous flying cars, AI, Robots, Blockchain…) and their impact on our ways of consuming and on retail!

Find below from 12/01, the daily debriefings of our experts on the essential points to remember from this Learning Expedition #CES2021ECH #NRF2021ECH.


Jan 11th 2021: First day! Stars of the day: mobility and AI!

Our experts share with you this Tuesday the best trends of this first day at CES 2021! Yesterday, was highlighted the AI, and let’s go further the Ambient Intelligence with the robot Care by Samsung. We are also talking about mobility on this day, and the emerging player is Mobileye, an Intel company, with its autonomous cars.


Jan 12th 2021: 2nd day! Health and autonomous vehicles at the heart of this day!

On that day, our experts focused first on the health sector. Accelerated by the COVID-19 crisis, technologies are emerging, including miniaturized air purifiers, to bring everywhere with you! The number of solutions for conducting home antigenic tests is also skyrocketing. But in addition to health, we are also talking about autonomous vehicles, and more broadly about optimized and autonomous delivery. General Motors, in collaboration with FedEx, is launching the Bright Drop program: a true ecosystem for autonomous vehicles and logistics. Soon, it will be a truck without a driver, with smart mini pallets that will deliver our packages!


Jan 13th 2021: 3rd day! Talk about health, or better : E-health!

On the third day at CES 2021, our experts tell us about E-health. The COVID-19 crisis has propelled investment in this sector, and we are seeing start-ups, including South Koreans, emerge on this topic. Nicolas Diacono and Guillaume Rio give you 3 examples: AlgoCare which mixes IOT and home machines, NuviLab your technological dietary companion and IconAI the “Alexa” of telemedicine.


Jan 14th 2021: last day! Our last feelings on this edition

As you know, this year the CES Las Vegas was 100% online, an edition that lacked chance encounters through the different stands… However, the trends were there, and one thing is certain: the new CIO, Chief Innovation Officer, is Covid-19. The link is made quite naturally with E-health in full boom, with all the wearables to accompany us. A conclusion must be drawn: in the world of tomorrow, normality will be without contact. And we’ve already talked about this, but mobility, which is completely electric, is an issue that all automakers are committed to. Find in the video below, the key points to remember from this last day:


Jan 20th 2021 : A summary of these first 4 days at NRF2021

The first 4 days at the NRF Retail’s Big Show – Virtual – Chapter One. Our experts, Nicolas Diacono and Guillaume Rio give you their key takeaways of the show. They particularly enjoyed the testimonials of Janey Whiteside, Executive VP at WalMart and Krista Bourne, SVP at Verizon, who explained how their business have adapted to Covid-19 for even better performances.

Our experts also identified 2 great startups : Cahoot for peer to peer warehouse sharing and Rillavoice for real time advice to sales assistants in store based on the conversation between the client and the sale assistant.
Find in the video below, the key points to remember from this last four day:


Jan 21st 2021 : Very interesting startups…

Day 5 at the NRF Retail’s Big Show – Virtual – Chapter One.
Two striking startups today: Caper which offers connected and intelligent shopping carts. They will deploy their solution at Krogers. Second great startup of the day, the french startup Shopopop which uses car pooling for peer to peer groceries deliveries.
Watch the full debriefing below :


Jan 22nd 2021 : This is the end…

Last day at the NRF Retail’s Big Show – Virtual – Chapter One.
Very last day at the Retail’s Big Show for this virtual 2021 edition! Fast check out instore is probably a key learning of this session. It has been very very important during this covid-19 crisis. In line with this, autonomous deliveries have a very large boulevard ahead! DNA sharing with brands becomes more and more accepted by consumers if they see a benefit…
Watch the full debriefing below. Our 2 experts will see you soon for the next innovation tradeshow : SXSW 2021!

Reading Time: 3 minutes

Les fêtes de fin d’année à peine terminées, le mois de Janvier commence sur les chapeaux de roues pour l’Echangeur avec l’édition 2021 de sa traditionnelle Retail Learning Expedition aux USA, qui cette année sera plutôt une « Virtual Retail Learning Expedition », la crise sanitaire étant toujours au coeur des préoccupations.

Tout commence dès le 11/01 avec le #CES2021 (Consumer Electronic Show), suivi du fameux Retail’s big Show #NRF2021 chapitre 1 (le chapitre 2 étant prévu pour juin si la situation sanitaire le permet). Nos 2 experts spécialistes des nouvelles technologies pour le retail, Guillaume Rio et Nicolas Diacono sont prêts pour l’exploration ! Ils vont scruter conférences et expositions virtuelles à la recherche des toutes dernières tendances à ne pas manquer !

Au programme : nouvelles technologies (AR, Facial Recognition, Autonomous Cars, IA, Robots, Blockchain…) et leurs impacts sur nos façons de consommer et sur le retail !

Retrouvez ci dessous à partir du 12/01, les débriefings quotidiens de nos experts sur les points essentiels à retenir de cette Learning Expedition #CES2021ECH #NRF2021ECH.


11 janvier 2021 : 1er jour ! Mobilité et AI à l’honneur !

Nos experts partagent avec vous ce mardi les meilleures tendances de cette première journée au CES 2021 ! Hier, était mise en avant l’AI, et allons plus loin l’Ambiant Intelligence avec le robot Care by Samsung. On parle également de mobilité en cette journée, et l’acteur émergeant c’est Mobileye, une société Intel, avec ses voitures autonomes.


12 janvier 2021 : 2e jour ! Santé et véhicules autonomes au coeur de cette journée !

Lors de cette journée, c’est d’abord sur le secteur de la santé que nos experts se sont arrêtés. Accélérées par la crise du COVID-19, des technologies émergent, notamment des purificateurs d’air miniaturisés, à amener partout avec soi ! Le nombre de solutions pour faire des tests antigéniques à domicile grimpe aussi en flèche. Mais outre la santé, on parle aussi de véhicules autonomes, et plus largement de livraison optimisée et autonome. General Motors, en collaboration avec FedEx, lance le programme Bright Drop : un véritable écosystème pour les véhicules autonomes et la logistique. Bientôt, ce sera un camion sans conducteur, avec des mini palettes intelligentes qui livrera nos colis !


13 janvier 2021 : 3e jour ! Parlons de santé, et même d’E-santé !

En ce troisième jour au CES 2021, nos experts nous parlent d’E-santé. La crise du COVID-19 a propulsé les investissements dans ce secteur, et nous voyons des start-ups, notamment Sud-Coréenne, émerger sur ce sujet. Nicolas Diacono et Guillaume Rio vous en donnent 3 exemples : AlgoCare qui mélange IOT et home machines, NuviLab votre compagnon diététique technologique et IconAI la « Alexa » de la télémédecine. 


14 janvier 2021 : dernier jour ! Nos derniers ressentis sur cette édition

Vous le savez, cette année le CES Las Vegas était 100% online, une édition qui manquait de rencontres fortuites à travers les différents stands… Cependant, les tendances étaient présentes, et une chose est sûre : le nouveau CIO, Chief Innovation Officer, c’est le Covid-19. Le lien est fait tout naturellement avec la E-santé en plein boom, avec tous les wearables pour nous accompagner. Une conclusion s’impose : dans le monde de demain, la normalité sera sans contact. Et puis, nous en avons déjà parlé, mais la mobilitécomplètement électrique, est un enjeu sur lequel s’engagent tous les constructeurs automobiles. Retrouvez dans la vidéo ci-dessous, les points clés à retenir de ce dernier jour :


20 janvier 2021 : Nos premiers points marquants de la NRF 2021  en virtuel!

En avant pour le récap des 4 premiers jours au NRF Retail’s Big Show – Virtuel – Chapter One. Nos experts, Nicolas Diacono et Guillaume Rio ont particulièrement apprécié les témoignages de Janey Whiteside, Executive VP chez WalMart et Krista Bourne, SVP chez Verizon. Ces dernières ont expliqué comment leur entreprise s’est adaptée au Covid-19 pour finalement bien tirer leur épingle du jeu et connaitre une amélioration des performances !
Nos experts ont également identifié 2 belles startups: Cahoot pour le partage d’entrepôts en peer to peer et Rillavoice pour des conseils en temps réel aux vendeurs en magasin en fonction de la conversation entre le client et l’assistant commercial.
Retrouvez dans la vidéo ci-dessous, les points clés à retenir de ces 4 jours :


21 janvier 2021 : Quoi de neuf à la NRF ?

Jour 5 à la NRF Retail’s Big Show – Virtuel – Chapter One.
Deux startups marquantes aujourd’hui: Caper la startup qui propose des chariots connectés intelligent et qui va déployer sa solution chez Krogers. Deuxième belle découverte de la journée, la startup Shopopop qui fait du car pooling pour de la livraison peer to peer de courses.
Retrouvez dans la vidéo ci-dessous, les points clés à retenir de ce jour 5 :


22 janvier 2021 : This is the end…

Dernier jour à la NRF Retail’s Big Show – Virtuel – Chapter One.
Le passage en caisse rapide est probablement un des apprentissages clé de cette session 2021. Cela a été très important de pouvoir faire ses courses sans trainer à la caisse pendant cette crise du covid-19 notamment. Dans la même lignée, les livraisons autonomes ont un très grand boulevard devant elles ! Sur un autre registre, le partage de son ADN avec les marques devient de plus en plus accepté par les consommateurs s’ils y voient un avantage…
Retrouvez dans la vidéo ci-dessous, les points clés à retenir de ce dernier jour et nos experts vous donnent RDV pour de nouvelles aventures lors SXSW 2021 !