Reading Time: 4 minutes

Every year, January is a very busy month for Echangeur with 2 unmissable events : #CES2018 (Consumer Electronic Show) in Las Vegas, followed by the Retail’s big Show #NRF2018 in New York. Our 2 experts in new technologies, Guillaume Rio and Nicolas Diacono are very excited about this study trip and also accompany during this trip a group of clients. On the menu: new technologies, (AR, VR, IA, Robots, Visual Recognition,Blockchain…) and their impacts on retail !

Being in the United States is also a great opportunity for Echangeur to check out the latest concept-stores in New York in order to enrich our onsite experiments in stores !

You will get insights in our daily debriefings by our experts on the key elements to remember of this Learning Expedition #LEX2018PF

DAY 1 @CES Las Vegas

January 9th, 2018
Our experts spent their first day in Vegas at the Consumer Electronic Show, 2018 edition. Watch here their impressions and observations right after the fair, presented in video by Guillaume Rio, our Technology & Partnerships Manager.

DAY 2 @CES Las Vegas

January 10th, 2018
Second day on the CES 2018. Following the automotive report published early January by Observatoire Cetelem, which underline the fact that consumers are more and more mature towards the concept of autonomous cars, Nicolas Diacono shares with us his observation on site on the topic.

Capture d’écran 2018-04-26 à 11.30.06
Therefore today we do a special focus on Autonomous cars, a very hot trend here on the fair. Cameras, Radars, Lidars, connected screens… car manufacturer are being very innovative by using all these new technologies. Also the concept of smart city is more and more present here at the Consumer Electronic Show since autonomous cars help fighting against traffic jams and allow to see the car not as a property but as the a usage, as seen at Hyundai Mobis, that positionnes itself as a mobility provider.

DAY 3 @CES Las Vegas

January 3rd, 2018
Third day on the fair CES 2018. Nicolas Diacono presents us from the Top Golf Restaurant in Vegas, the debriefing of this particularly rich day : with several strong innovations. Today one of the topic that really interested Echangeur was the smart speakers and their integration into smart homes, leading to a complete smart ecosystem ! This lets us see a very connected future right inside our homes : robots as a life companion, connected smart speakers, under water drones… the list of smart devices is pretty long …

DAY 4 @CES Las Vegas

January 12th, 2018

Last day on the #CES2018 for Echangeur. Our experts Nicolas Diacono and Guillaume Rio share with you their impressions and key learnings. A few startups caught up their attention working on cryptocurrencies (Ledger), cloud solutions (Shadow), as well as image recognition which is now reaching extremely accurate levels and bringing a new dimension to retail. On this topic, they met with startups like XXIIgroup or Aipoly. Also one of the key question to look at now is what giants like google or amazon are going to do with all the data that they collect on individuals…

DAY 5 @NRF New York

January 13th, 2018

On our 5th day of our learning trip our experts Nicolas Diacono and Guillaume Rio headed to NYC for the #NRF2018 Retail’s Big Show. As they arrived one day before the opening of the show, this was a great opportunity to check out the latest concept stores in town. Nicolas Diacono makes a special focus on millenials. There is a specific offer here for them, with stores such as Nike, American Eagle, Kellogg’s or the latest B8ta at Macy’s. All these stores, offer a special experience. Combining customisation of the products, with useful services such as laundromats in the American Eagle store at Union Square…

DAY 6 @NRF New York

January 14th, 2018

6th day of our learning trip: our expert Guillaume Rio gives you a special focus on the #NRF2018 Retail’s Big Show. If the trends on this first day are somehow similar to the ones observed at the #CES2018, it is important to mention that AI is everywhere. Especially with image recognition… It is being used for logistics coupled with robots, but also to personalise products or with chatbots. Finally, big news this year, Apple came as a speaker at the #NRF2018 and revealed the launch of 3 apps for retailers : business chat to communicate with sales assistant, indoor maps to find your way in stores, and NFC Core to get information on products simply by tapping…

DAY 7 @NRF New York

January 15th, 2018

7th day of our learning trip: our expert Nicolas Diacono comes back on the Gen Z and their new consuming behaviours. They are willing to be much more involved in the design process of products as well as on the marketing. Also personal assistants like Google Home and Amazon Alexa are now everywhere and very well accepted by consumers within their homes… most of them considering the device as a new friend… Finally we get some insights from the Alibaba conference with the talk of US Alibaba president who shared very impressive figures on the chinese market, on the power of Alibaba and on the future of retail

DAY 8 in the USA

January 16th, 2018

It’s time now for our 2 experts Guillaume Rio and Nicolas Diacono to leave the USA to come home… But before leaving, they share with us their key insights of this Learning Expedition #LEX2018PF on this 2 fairs #CES2018 and #NRF2018. AI is everywhere and especially with facial and voice recognition. It really works on simplifying the customer journey. Also Autonomous cars are a reality and will definitely impact the way we see mobility and cities in the future, leading to smarter cities. Finally, China is becoming more and more impressive with a major role in the ecommerce industry as demonstrated by Alibaba during the conference at the #NRF2018.
Get a complete view of the top 2018 retail trends at our conference #CommerceReloaded #CR18ECH on March 8th, 2018 in Levallois Perret ! Book your seat now !

LEX2018PF

Tous les ans, le mois de Janvier regroupe des évènements incontournables pour l’Echangeur avec le salon #CES2018 (Consumer Electronic Show) à Las Vegas, suivi du Retail’s big Show #NRF2018 à New York. Ainsi nos experts nouvelles technologies, Guillaume Rio et Nicolas Diacono sont sur le qui vive et accompagnent un groupe de clients sur ces 2 salons. Au programme : nouvelles technologies (AR, VR, IA, Robots, Visual Recognition,Blockchain…) et leurs impacts et concrétisations pour le retail!

C’est aussi l’occasion de faire le point sur les tous derniers concept-stores New Yorkais et enrichir nos expériences terrain en magasin !

Retrouvez ci dessous les débriefs quotidiens de nos experts sur les points essentiels à retenir de cette Learning Expedition #LEX2018PF

DAY 1 @CES Las Vegas

9 Janvier 2018
Nos experts viennent de passer leur premier jour sur le grand salon Consumer Electronic Show, édition 2018. Retrouvez ci-dessous, en vidéo, leurs impressions et observations à chaud présentées par Guillaume Rio, notre responsable technologies et partenariats.

DAY 2 @CES Las Vegas

10 Janvier 2018
Deuxième jour sur le salon CES 2018. Dans la lignée des analyses du rapport auto de l’Observatoire Cetelem publié début janvier qui mettent en avant la maturité de plus en plus marquée des consommateurs vis à vis de la voiture autonome, Nicolas Diacono partage ses observations concrètes sur le sujet.
Capture d’écran 2018-04-26 à 11.30.06
Nous faisons donc un focus sur les concepts voiture autonome qui est à l’honneur encore cette année sur le Consumer Electronic Show. Caméras, Radars, Lidars, écrans… les constructeurs rivalisent d’ingéniosité avec les nouvelles technologies. Au delà du véhicule en lui même c’est le concept de smart city qui est omniprésent puisque les voitures autonomes permettent vraiment de repenser ce mode de transport en passant de la possession à l’usage, tel que le propose Hyundai Mobis en tant que prestataire de mobilité.

DAY 3 @CES Las Vegas

11 Janvier 2018
3ème jour sur le salon CES 2018. Nicolas Diacono nous présente le débriefing de cette journée riche en innovations, en direct du Top Golf Restaurant de Las Vegas. Aujourd’hui ce sont les Smart Speakers qui ont attiré toutes les attentions de l’Echangeur et leur intégration dans la smart home, véritable écosystème où tout est fait pour rendre la vie plus simple pour le consommateur : robots compagnon de vie, smart speakers connectés, drones sous marins, la liste est longue et présage d’un intérieur très connecté …

DAY 4 @CES Las Vegas

12 Janvier 2018
4ème jour et dernier jour sur le salon #CES 2018 pour nos deux experts Nicolas Diacono et Guillaume Rio. Leurs enseignements principaux se concentrent autour des rencontres avec des startups. On retiendra notamment les solutions de cloud proposées par Shadow, ou encore les solutions liées aux Crypto currencies de Ledger et la reconnaissance d’images par XXII group et Aipoly qui donnent une dimension très avancée pour le retail (reconnaissance des produits pris sur l’étagère par le consommateur, détection des comportements inhabituels en magasin etc…). Guillaume Rio retient quant à lui, la quantité de data collectée par les géants tels que Google et Amazon et se pose la question de l’utilisation de ses données d’une précision et d’une densité vertigineuses…

DAY 5 @NRF New York City

13 Janvier 2018
Pour ce 5ème jour de notre Learning Expedition, nos experts sont partis à la re découverte des points de vente New Yorkais. Au programme de ce débriefing, un focus tout particulier sur les millenials et la place qui leur est consacrée ici à Manhattan avec des concept stores qui leur sont dédiés, tels que Nike, American Eagle, Kellogg’s ou encore le petit nouveau B8ta chez Macy’s. Une offre hybride y est proposée, qui regroupe produits et services utiles comme des lavomatics en magasins ou des espaces de travail…

DAY 6 @NRF New York City

14 Janvier 2018
6ème jour de notre Learning Expedition, nos experts sont vous font un point sur ce premier jour à la #NRF2018. Des tendances finalement assez proches de celles observées au #CES2018. On retrouve l’Intelligence Artificielle avec la reconnaissance d’image au service de la simplification du parcours client. La reconnaissance d’image couplée aux robots est utilisée de plus en plus pour les inventaires. Le volet des chatbots est également particulièrement présent. Enfin grand scoop de cette édition, la présence d’Apple en tant que speaker aux conférences de la NRF. On y a appris notamment le lancement de 3 apps axées retail : Business chat, Indoor Maps et NFC core

DAY 7 @NRF New York City

15 Janvier 2018
Nous abordons ici le 7ème jour de notre Learning Expedition #LEX2018PF. Toujours en direct de NYC et de la #NRF2018, Nicolas Diacono fait un focus plus précis sur la gen Z et ses comportements par rapport au retail. Une génération qui souhaite être impliquée dans les processus de conception, et très sensible à l’engagement des marques. Par ailleurs, on observe que les assistants personnels, google home et Alexa sont partout et surtout particulièrement bien perçus par les consommateurs qui les ont intégrés comme des personnes à part entière au sein de leur foyer… Enfin, la conférence Alibaba a été une prise de conscience de l’importance du marché chinois, du pouvoir du géant chinois Alibaba et des opportunités à saisir…

DAY 8 In the USA

16 Janvier 2018
Il est temps pour nos experts Guillaume Rio et Nicolas Diacono de quitter les Etats Unis… avant de partir ils nous livrent un récapitulatifs de grands enseignements de cette Learning Expedition #LEX2018PF et de ces 2 salons #CES2018 et #NRF2018. Finalement c’est l’AI avec la reconnaissance faciale et vocale qui est la reine de ces 2 évènements, pour une simplification du parcours client... Les voitures autonomes sont également la 2ème grande tendance de ces salons laissant présager une mutation vers la smart city avec de nouveaux modes de mobilité, plus intelligents et plus économiques… Sans oublier la Chine… et ses géants toujours plus puissants qui préemptent l’intégralité de la vie des consommateurs, comme l’a démontré Alibaba lors de son intervention en conférence à la #NRF2018

A bientôt pour la restitution Commerce Reloaded #CR18ECH qui se tiendra le 8 mars 2018 à Levallois Perret ! Inscrivez vous vite !