Reading Time: 3 minutes

This year and for the first time, Echangeur is going to china for the  CES Shanghai learning expedition #CESAsia18ECHOrganized at the Shanghai New International Expo Centre, it will be the 4th asian edition of the famous Las Vegas Consumer Electronic Show fair, first launched in 1967.

Even if this event is fairly recent, it became in only 3 years the unmissable rendez vous for all the technological actors of the Asian market, indeed more than 97% of the attendees are coming from the APAC region. This is the biggest technological fair in Asia opened to all.

This year’s edition promises to beat records as they are announcing more than 40 000 visitors, more than 500 exhibitors, more than 1200 journalists, the whole in a space of 42 000m². This fair represents a real opportunity to tie strong  commercials links for asian company regardless the size (industry leaders, majors internationals brands, startups…), especially when we know that in 2017, the technological Chinese market was estimated at more than 110 billions of dollars.

Therefore during 3 days, from 13th to 15th of June, exhibitors capitalize on the Shanghai CES to get in touch with retailers, e-retailers, clients and partners to launch new products and solutions on the Chinese market. For Echangeur, it addresses a twofold challenge because we will get to see closer the dominant players as Huawei, JD.com, Alibaba or Baidu, and thus test the innovative concept stores of the Chinese megalopolis.

DAY 1 @Shanghai

Barely off the plane, our expert Guillaume Rioencountered a Chinese startup particularly innovative : iflytek. Ranked as the 6th « smartest company in the world » by the MIT Technology Review just behind Google, this startup specialized in artificial intelligence, has been selected by the Chinese government to build alongside Baidu, Alibaba and Tencent, a national platform on artificial intelligence.

The performances of the solutions developed by iflytek are impressive with a accuracy rate higher than 98% for the vocal recognition and more than 500 millions of users of its voice to text app on mobile and computer.

IMG_0049

As a proof, iflytek gave us a demo of its vocal AI.

For example, as seen in the above video, they are able to recreate Donald Trump’s voice and to make him say any text and even speak in Chinese.

Therefore, Chinese call centers are now managed by vocal chatbots that are adapting their speeches to clients’ feelings, (ED : one month ago, Google presented a video where a vocal AI book a restaurent, iflytek already does this since 2016).

Finally they pushed this voice recognition technology so that someone’s voice print can now act as a unique vocal signature. User can for example be identified on a banking app by talking to it.

IMG_0051

DAY 2 @Shanghai

Second day for our expert Guillaume Rio in China and more precisely at the CES Asia. Today you will discover the Hema Fresh store which have been bought by Alibaba and that offers a seamless customer journey thanks to a smartphone: to order, pay and get product information. Also, as seen at Whole Foods, you can eat fresh product cooked directly on the spot. You choose the fresh product (a living lobster for instance) and they cook it for you to then eat it in the restaurant of the supermarket.
Finally, Guillaume Rio goes to CES Asia and gives you an introduction to the latest trends of the Chinese leaders which includes, vocal and facial recognition, automatic translation, and autonomous car …

DAY 3 @Shanghai

Third day at the CES for our expert Guillaume Rio. Today he talks about Tmall Genie AI Union presented by Miffy Chen, Head of Alibaba A.I Labs. This has been launched a few months ago, is already the third top selling model in the world!
Then JD.com also presented its vocal assistant Jing-Dong allowing clients to make purchases in the hub and also integrating features list like facial recognition.
Guillaume also presents Horizon Robot Facial Recognition that seems to be the leader on this market.
Finally, Deep Blue, discovered at Viva Technology 2018, has presented its autonomous store entirely managed by artificial intelligence.

DAY 4 @Shanghai

Last day at the CES Asia in Shanghai, our expert Guillaume Rio talks about the IPal robots designed to educate children and the latest hyper-connected autonomous cars. This final debriefing raises one question : Does all these innovations are the mirror of the famous novel 1984, with the human breakdown due to the technocracy’s proliferation or the entrance in an idyllic world?

Reading Time: 4 minutes

Cette année et pour la première fois, l’Echangeur part pour une learning expedition en Chine à l’occasion du CES Shanghai #CESAsia18ECH. Organisée au Shanghai New International Expo Centre, Il s’agira de la 4ème édition asiatique du célèbre salon Consumer Electronic Show de Las Vegas, né en 1967.

Même si cet évènement est relativement récent, il est devenu en 3 ans un RDV incontournable pour tous les acteurs technologiques du marché Asie Pacifique, en effet plus de 97% des participants en sont originaires. C’est le plus grand salon de la technologie grand public en Asie.
L’édition 2018 promet d’ailleurs de battre des records puisque les organisateurs annoncent plus de 40 000 visiteurs, plus de 500 exposants, plus de 1200 journalistes le tout sur un espace de 42 000m². Ce salon représente une véritable opportunité de nouer des liens commerciaux pour les entreprises asiatiques notamment et ce, quel que soit leur taille (industry leaders, grandes marques internationales, startups…), surtout quand on sait qu’à lui seul en 2017 le marché chinois de la technologie était estimé à plus de 110 milliards de dollars.

Ainsi pendant 3 jours, du 13 au 15 juin, les exposants capitalisent sur le CES Shanghai afin de rentrer en contact avec retailers, e-retailers, clients et partenaires afin de lancer de nouveaux produits et solutions sur le marché asiatique. Pour l’Echangeur, l’enjeu est double puisque nous pourrons voir de plus près les géants du secteurs tels que Huawei, JD.com, Alibaba ou encore Baidu, ainsi tester les concepts store innovants de la mégalopole Chinoise.

DAY 1 @Shanghai

A peine arrivé, notre expert Guillaume Rio, a rencontré une startup chinoise particulièrement innovante : iflytek. Classée 6ème « smartest company in the world » par le MIT Tecnology Review juste derrière Google, cette startup spécialisée en Intelligence Artificielle, a d’ailleurs été choisie par le gouvernement chinois pour construire aux côtés de Baidu, Alibaba et Tencent, une plateforme nationale d’intelligence artificielle.

Les performances des solutions d’ iflytek sont impressionnantes puisqu’elle mentionne notamment un taux de précision supérieur à 98% pour la reconnaissance vocale et plus de 500 millions d’utilisateurs de son application de saisie automatique par la voix sur mobile et ordinateur.

IMG_0049

 

Pour preuve, iflytek nous a fait la démonstration de son AI vocal,


Par exemple, ils sont capables de recréer la voix du président américain Donald Trump (timbre à l’identique réalisé par l’AI iflytek) qui permet de lui faire dire n’importe quel texte et même de le faire parler en chinois.

Ainsi, des call centers chinois sont désormais gérés pars des chatbots vocaux qui s’adaptent aux émotions des clients (NDLR : il y a un mois Google avait présenté une vidéo ou une AI vocale réservait un restaurant, la chine avec iflytek le fait déjà depuis 2016).
Enfin, cette technologie fait déjà office de voice print pour confirmer des contrats ! 50 phrases répétés par le client suffisent à définir sa voice print qui devient sa signature vocale.

IMG_0051

DAY 2 @Shanghai

Deuxième jour pour notre Expert Guillaume Rio à Shanghai et au CES Asia avec au programme la revue du supermarché Hema Fresh racheté par Alibaba qui propose une parcours sans couture et ce principalement grâce à l’utilisation du smartphone, pour pouvoir commander, payer, obtenir des informations sur un produit, etc.
D’autre part et à l’image de Whole Foods, vous pouvez déguster sur place des produits frais que l’on vous cuisine une fois que vous les avez choisi dans les rayons! C’est notamment le cas avec les viviers de poissons en plein magasin dans lesquels le client choisi son homard avant que l’équipe de cuisiniers lui prépare pour une consommation sur place.
Enfin, dans ce débrief du jour 2, Guillaume Rio vous propose une introduction aux tendances des grands leaders chinois et aborde reconnaissance vocale, faciale, traduction automatique et voiture autonome

DAY 3 @Shanghai

Troisième journée au CES pour notre expert qui nous parle de Tmall Genie AI Union présenté par Miffy Chen, chef du A.I Labs chez Alibaba. Lancé il y a quelques mois, il est déjà le 3ème assistant vocal le plus vendu au monde!!!
Ensuite JD.com a également présenté son assistant vocal Jing-Dong permettant aux clients de faire leurs achats sur sa plateforme et d’intégrer des fonctionnalité telles que la reconnaissance faciale.
Il nous éclaire aussi sur Horizon Robot Facial Recognition qui semble être le leader de la reconnaissance faciale sur le salon et qui gère le payement facial pour Suning.
Enfin, Deep Blue, vu à Viva Technology 2018, a présenté son magasin mobile autonome entièrement géré par l’intelligence artificielle.

DAY 4 @Shanghai

Pour ce dernier debriefing en direct du CES Asia à Shanghai, notre expert Guillaume Rio fait un focus sur les robots IPal dédiés à l’éducation des enfants et les derniers modèles hyper-connectés de voiture autonome. Ce dernier jour de notre learning expedition soulève une interrogation : toutes ces innovations sont-elles le reflet du célèbre livre de science fiction 1984, avec l’effondrement de l’homme par la prolifération de la technocratie, ou bien l’entrée dans un monde idyllique ?