Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

THE ECHANGEUR TAKES A LOOK IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR TO BETTER START THE NEW SCHOOL YEAR!

08
jul
2021
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
5 minutes


After a busy first half of the year 2021, the Echangeur will pack its bags for the summer vacations. But before taking a little rest, which we hope is well deserved, the month of July is also an opportunity for the team to prepare for the new school year and to get ready for the end of the year!

Review of the 1st semester

Commerce Reloaded

The beginning of 2021 has been rich for all experts. The highlight of the first half of the year was the Commerce Reloaded conference. This new edition, organized in May, brought together more than five hundred digital participants from some twenty different countries! Proof, if any were needed, that the event created ten years ago to examine the evolution of the world of commerce and better understand the major trends that structure it has found its audience!

As Guillaume Rio indicates, this tenth edition of Commerce Reloaded was placed under the sign of an irreversible Mutation(s) around six variants:

DIGITAL LIFE: the hyper-digitization of our lives without return

RETAIL RELOADED: the trade of the new world

MOBILITY : the new king of the automotive sector

HEALTH: digitalization is disrupting the established health sector

FUTURES AS A SERVICE: the rise of ecosystems beyond GAFAM and BATX

SYNTHETIC WORLD: from the living world to the virtual world, algorithms have the upper hand

Since its first Commerce Reloaded, the Echangeur has never stopped anticipating and following the mutation of the world of commerce! Organized in early 2010 around a frontal relationship between brands and individuals, it has evolved enormously. Today, with permanent interactions thanks to connectivity (Internet of Things, smartphones, voice assistants, etc.), it is becoming an economy for the perfect management of our more or less conscious aspirations and needs. This is the advent of Ambient Commerce!

Delivery in ten minutes

As a direct consequence, the boundaries between business sectors are disappearing. From one day to the next, new players emerge from nowhere and quickly become fierce competitors. An example? For Matthieu Jolly, one of the highlights of this year is the emergence of ten-minute delivery in major cities. While Amazon took a stake in Deliveroo’s capital in 2020, new players are emerging. But beware, they are positioning themselves not as simple delivery players but as real food brands.

Six months ago, who knew Flink or Cajoo? No one did! The recipe for this success: important and rapid fundraising. The German player Gorillas has become a unicorn, valued at more than one billion dollars, in only nine months of existence! Thanks to Flink for having accepted to open the doors of its dark stores to the members of the Club Echangeur during the last Store tours organized in Paris to make us discover this new business model.

The 10 Lifestyles & the Circular Economy

Behind this appearance, the consumer. Ever more demanding, his role is evolving from that of a buyer to that of a seller, an influencer and, most importantly, an actor of change. Actor of the positive and sustainable transformation of our environment, of our society. For almost a year now, the second life, the second hand, are in all discussions. But who are these buyers converted to this virtuous economy? This is the question that Caroline Veyret Prudhon and the Access Panel teams have answered by publishing the practical booklet “Strategic Targets and Circular Economy”.

Based on the data from the Access Panel 2020 and on the 14,000 individuals interviewed in France, Belgium, Spain and Portugal, the Echangeur has identified 10 strategic targets. We then analyzed them according to their willingness to engage in a circular approach.

While Wealthy Families are the champions of circular consumption, Carefree Young Adults, Evolving Couples, Tactician Families and Golden Middle-Aged follow. It should be noted that not all consumers have yet integrated the circular economy into their consumption practices in the same way. Thus, there are notable differences regarding their appetite for C2C or mobility-related services, their interest in leasing services or the importance given to the price and sustainability criteria in their purchasing decisions.

 

The new forms of labels

To help them in their daily commitment, Elisabeth Menant notes the appearance of new forms of labels. Objective: to make sustainable and eco-responsible products visible and accessible to consumers. How can this be done? By launching a dedicated marketplace like the British company Ocado, which now offers more than 1,000 products such as Ben & Jerry’s ice cream or Innocent smoothies.

Special feature: all BCorp certified. Created in Philadelphia in 2006, BCorp is an international certification granted to companies that meet societal and environmental requirements, governance and transparency towards the public. Now this certification, unfortunately still not well known by the general public, aims to impose itself in the eyes of the general public and to position itself as the label for companies with a mission for the future.

South By Southwest

Was this trend around sustainability and commitment present in the virtual aisles of South By SouthWest?Yes, the American trade show remains a must for identifying the emerging trends that will shape tomorrow’s commerce and consumption. For Nicolas Diacono, the SXSW show allows its visitors to discover new perspectives on the latest technological advances.

While the topics covered are numerous, it should be noted that progress in genetic knowledge is such that today there is real hope of a cure for many monogenic diseases. Companies such as Taysha are currently testing clinical solutions to treat epilepsy or diseases impacting the central nervous system. In addition, digitalization obliges, many conferences have turned this year around Tik Tok. The social network is becoming a real media, a meeting point for GenZ to debate on societal issues. Thus, the Washington Post launched on Tik Tok and became a reference for information sharing.

These favorites from the beginning of the year can of course be found directly on the Exchange Club’s digital platform. Thanks again to the eight hundred and sixty members who, as of July 1st, have already joined us and honor the Echangeur with their trust! If you want to be part of it, contact us!

The calendar

Although the health situation unfortunately remains tense in many countries, the experts of the Echangeur will continue to cover major events in the second half of the year to share with you their vision of a changing business.

On November 18, the team is organizing the 8th edition of the Innovate Service Centric conference. If the objective remains to identify the axes of work to build the customer relationship of tomorrow, the angle of the trend report could be that of a trade torn between Corvée and Plaisir. To be confirmed!

At the same time, trade shows are gradually reopening. First stop, at the end of September in Amsterdam, to visit Money 20/20, the fintech trade show that is opening this year to the retail world. Next will be the Web Summit in Lisbon, Hello Tomorrow in Paris and, from January 2022, CES in Las Vegas and NRF in New York. The opportunity to take advantage of the second dose of vaccine!

It will also be useful to resume visits to inspiring points of sale, with the aim of discovering first-hand the latest stores to open in Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin or London … where Amazon has set up shop during the pandemic.

Less visible at first glance but just as structuring, the Access Panel 2022 is not to be outdone. In September, the team will launch the 2022 wave in four countries: Belgium, Spain, France and Portugal. If the results are available before the summer of 2022, do not hesitate to contact us to suggest any changes you would like to see.

The second half of 2021 will therefore also be rich for the BNP Paribas Personal Finance Echangeur. We wish you and your loved ones a wonderful and happy summer vacation and hope to see you again in the autumn to continue our discussions.

Club Echangeur

Echangeur club

Want to access unlimited publications, attend events and enjoy our help?

Join the Club!
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
Facing with the changes in retail, today's innovations help Matthew to think about tomorrow's relationship between the brand and the consumer.
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

L’ECHANGEUR JETTE UN COUP D’ŒIL DANS LE RÉTRO POUR MIEUX REPARTIR À LA RENTRÉE !

08
juil
2021
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
5 minutes

Après un premier semestre 2021 bien rempli, l’Echangeur va boucler ses valises pour les vacances d’été. Mais avant de prendre un peu de repos, que l’on espère mérité, le mois de juillet est aussi l’occasion pour l’équipe de préparer la rentrée et de se mettre en ordre de marche pour la fin d’année !

Retour sur le 1er semestre

Commerce Reloaded

Riche, ce début 2021 l’a été pour tous les experts. Temps fort du premier semestre : la conférence Commerce Reloaded. Cette nouvelle édition organisée en mai a réuni en digital plus de cinq cents participants issus de quelques vingt pays différents ! Preuve si besoin était que l’évènement créé il y a dix ans déjà pour passer au crible les évolutions du monde du commerce et mieux comprendre les grandes tendances qui le structurent a trouvé son public !

Comme l’indique Guillaume Rio, cette dixième édition de Commerce Reloaded était placée sous le signe d’une Mutation(s) irrémédiable autour de six variants :

 DIGITAL LIFE : l’hyper-digitalisation sans retour de nos vies
• RETAIL RELOADED : le commerce du nouveau monde
• MOBILITY : le logiciel nouveau roi du secteur automobile
 HEALTH : la digitalisation bouleverse le secteur établi de la santé
• FUTURS AS A SERVICE : la montée des écosystèmes au-delà des GAFAM et BATX
• SYNTHETIC WORLD : du monde vivant au virtuel, les algorithmes ont la main

Depuis son premier Commerce Reloaded, l’Echangeur n’a cessé d’anticiper et suivre la mutation du monde du commerce ! Organisé début 2010 autour d’un rapport frontal entre marques et individus, il a énormément évolué. Aujourd’hui, avec des interactions permanentes grâce à la connectivité (Internet des objets, smartphones, assistants vocaux, etc.), il se mue en une économie pour la parfaite gestion de nos aspirations et besoins plus ou moins conscients. C’est l’avènement du Commerce Ambiant !

La livraison en dix minutes

Conséquence directe, les frontières entre secteurs d’activité disparaissent. Du jour au lendemain, de nouveaux acteurs émergent de nulle part devenant rapidement des concurrents acharnés. Un exemple ? Pour Matthieu Jolly, l’un des faits marquants de ce début d’année est l’émergence de la livraison en dix minutes dans les grandes villes. Alors qu’à l’occasion de la pandémie Amazon est monté en 2020 au capital de Deliveroo, de nouveaux acteurs apparaissent. Mais attention, ils se positionnent non pas comme de simples acteurs de la livraison mais comme de réelles enseignes alimentaires.

Il y a six mois, qui connaissait Flink ou Cajoo ? Personne ! La recette de ce succès : d’importantes et rapides levées de fond. L’acteur allemand Gorillas est ainsi devenu une licorne, valorisée à plus d’un milliard de dollars, en seulement neuf mois d’existence ! Merci à Flink d’avoir accepté d’ouvrir les portes de ses dark stores aux membres du Club Echangeur lors des derniers Store tours organisés sur Paris pour nous faire découvrir ce nouveau business model.

Les 10 styles de vie & l’Économie Circulaire

Derrière cette apparition, le consommateur. Toujours plus exigent, son rôle évolue passant de l’acheteur à celui de vendeur, d’influenceur et, plus important, d’acteur du changement. Acteur de la transformation positive et durable de notre environnement, de notre société. Depuis presque un an maintenant, la seconde vie, l’occasion, sont de toutes les discussions. Mais qui sont ces acheteurs convertis à cette économie vertueuse ? C’est à cette question que Caroline Veyret Prudhon et les équipes de l’Access Panel ont répondu en publiant le cahier pratique « cibles stratégiques et Economie Circulaire ».

A partir des données de l’Access Panel 2020 et sur les 14 000 individus interrogés en France, Belgique, Espagne et Portugal, l’Echangeur a identifié 10 cibles stratégiques. Pour les analyser ensuite en fonction de leur volonté de s’engager dans une démarche circulaire.

Si les Wealthy Families sont championnes de la consommation circulaire, les Carefree Young Adults, les Evolving Couples, les Tactician Families et les Golden Middle-Aged suivent. Soulignons que tous les consommateurs n’ont pas encore intégré de façon identique l’économie circulaire dans leurs pratiques de consommation. On observe ainsi des différences notables concernant leur appétence pour les services C2C ou ceux liés à la mobilité, leur intérêt pour les services de leasing ou l’importance accordée au critère du prix et de durabilité dans leurs décisions d’achats.

Les nouvelles formes de labels

Pour les aider au quotidien à s’engager, Elisabeth Menant constate de son côté l’apparition de nouvelles formes de labels. Objectif : rendre visibles et accessibles des produits durables et éco-responsables pour le consommateur. Comment ? En lançant une marketplace dédiée à l’instar du britannique Ocado qui propose désormais plus de 1 000 produits comme la crème glacée Ben & Jerry’s ou les smoothies Innocent.

Particularité : tous certifiés BCorp. Créée à Philadelphie en 2006, BCorp est une certification internationale octroyée aux entreprises qui répondent à des exigences sociétales et environnementales, de gouvernance ainsi que de transparence envers le public. Désormais cette certification, malheureusement encore trop peu connue du grand public, ambitionne de s’imposer aux yeux du grand public et en se positionnant comme le label des entreprises à mission de demain.

South By Southwest

Est-ce que cette tendance autour de la durabilité, de l’engagement était présente dans les allées virtuelles de South By SouthWest. Oui ! D’ailleurs, le salon américain reste un incontournable pour identifier les tendances émergeantes qui feront le commerce et la consommation de demain. Pour Nicolas Diacono,le salon SXSW permet à ses visiteurs de découvrir de nouveaux prismes de lecture concernant les dernières avancées technologiques. 

Si les thématiques abordées sont nombreuses, notons que les progrès sur la connaissance génétique sont tels qu’aujourd’hui les espoirs de guérison pour de nombreuses maladies monogéniques sont réels. Des entreprises comme Taysha sont aujourd’hui en train de tester en phase clinique des solutions pour traiter l’épilepsie ou des maladies impactant le système nerveux central. En outre, digitalisation oblige, beaucoup de conférences ont tourné cette année autour de Tik Tok. Le réseau social devient un véritable média, point de rencontre des GenZ pour débattre sur les enjeux sociétaux. Ainsi, le Washington Post s’est lancé sur Tik Tok et en est devenu une référence pour le partage d’informations.

Ces coups de cœur du début d’année sont bien sûr à retrouver directement sur la plateforme digitale du Club Echangeur. Encore merci aux huit cent soixante membres qui, au 1er juillet, nous ont déjà rejoint et honorent l’Echangeur de leur confiance ! si vous voulez en faire partie, contactez-nous !

Le calendrier

Bien que la situation sanitaire reste malheureusement tendue dans de nombreux pays, les experts de l’Echangeur vont continuer de couvrir sur le second semestre les évènements majeurs pour partager avec vous leur vision d’un commerce en mutation.

Le 18 novembre, l’équipe organise la 8e édition de la conférence Innovate Service Centric. Si l’objectif reste d’identifier des axes de travail pour bâtir la relation client de demain, l’angle du rapport de tendance pourrait être celui d’un commerce déchiré entre Corvée et Plaisir. A confirmer !

Dans le même temps, les salons reprennent et rouvrent progressivement leurs portes. Première étape, fin septembre à Amsterdam pour visiter Money 20/20, le salon fintech qui s’ouvre cette année au monde du Retail. Viendront ensuite le Web Summit à Lisbonne, Hello Tomorrow à Paris et, dès janvier 2022, le CES à Las Vegas et la NRF à New York. L’occasion de profiter de la deuxième dose de vaccin !

Elle sera d’ailleurs utile pour reprendre les visites de points de vente inspirants avec comme objectif de découvrir de visu les derniers magasins ouverts à Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin ou Londres … où Amazon a posé ses valises durant la pandémie.

Moins visible au premier abord mais tout aussi structurant, l’Access Panel 2022 n’est pas en reste. Dès septembre, l’équipe lance la vague 2022 sur quatre pays : la Belgique, l’Espagne, la France et le Portugal. Si les enseignements seront disponibles avant l’été 2022, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour nous proposer d’éventuelles évolutions qui vous semblent souhaitables.

Le second semestre 2021 sera donc lui aussi riche pour l’Echangeur BNP Paribas Personal Finance. Aussi, nous vous souhaitons, à vous et vos proches, de belles et heureuses vacances d’été et espérons vous retrouver à la rentrée pour continuer à échanger ensemble.

Club Echangeur

Club Échangeur

Vous souhaitez accéder à toutes nos publications sans limite, participer à nos évènements et profiter de nos accompagnements ?

Rejoignez le Club !
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
Face aux mutations du commerce, les innovations d'aujourd'hui aident Matthieu à penser la relation de demain entre enseigne et consommateur.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus