Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

19
nov
2021
Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
3 minutes

In july 2021, Bed Bath and Beyond reopened its flagship store in New York, a complete renovation adapted to the new rules of physical commerce.

Instead of a very compact store, Bad Bath and Beyond has widened its aisles! It offers bold, creative signage and displays as well as an assortment of totally reimagined products.

The objective : to reflect the store’s new positioning on private labels, mixed with more traditional brands.

With a 44% reduction in referrals on the sales area associated with a 14% reduction in overall space, the new store (measuring 8,500 sqm) thus perfectly shows the strategy of the new management. During a visit to the store before the inauguration, the CEO said:

This store is the illustration of our transformation

CEO Mark Tritton

The concept

The renovated 8,500 m2 flagship store located at 620 6th Ave. in Chelsea, is an expression of the new Bed Bath & Beyond, a flagship brand in the US home market which tops out at over $ 180 billion.

With wider aisles and an improved shelf layout, digital tools with the Bed Bath & Beyond mobile application and an offer of own brands and various brands for each room in the house, this renovation is emblematic of a project of $ 250 million over 3 years.

The redevelopment project will affect 450 of its stores as the company executes its global transformation strategy. The store’s architecture is now more modern with its bay windows that bring light to the place.

Bed Bath & Beyond has also partnered with several brands to create new store experiences including:

  • Casper : first complete “in-store” bedding store
  • SodaStream : a Bubble Bar that offers customers the opportunity to purchase and personalize SodaStream bottles. Mixologists are on hand to provide customers with drink ideas and lessons, while showing them how to use the machine
  • Café 3B™ : a modern barista, a relaxation area in the store to taste the coffee of the brand “La Colombe”

The flagship store is also part of a store network that is now able to process same-day delivery orders throughout Manhattan.

Finally, the Chelsea store is using energy-efficient measures to help reduce its overall carbon footprint: replacing fluorescent lights with LED lights, installing occupancy detectors and timers for lighting, as well as eco-friendly fans. energy for temperature control.

Why visiting this store?

1 • Comparing the previous store to the new one

Previously, this store had, for example, a snacking area which was located at the entrance of the store and did not really serve as a place to relax. Now Café 3B is at the heart of the store and is located in the “experiential” zone with a Casper boutique, a SodaStream bubble bar, and an “interactive” pod for testing and trying out vacuums (like at Dyson).

In terms of POS, the signs were difficult to see and made navigation in the store difficult. Now the hanging signs are clear, with short messages (“College Happier”).

2 • The trend of private labels for distributors

With the new store, six own brands were launched and are now clearly visible in the store with dedicated signage.

Bed Bath & Beyond plans to roll out at least eight internal brands in fiscal 2021, and more than 10 over the next three years. Some have been launched in recent months, including a line of storage containers called “Squared Away”, a brand of bathroom equipment known as “Haven” as well as a range of household items ” Bee & Willow ”.

3 • The shop in the shop

Many mini brand stores (shop in the shop) are installed in the store.

Thus, Bed Bath & Beyond is also innovating with new partnerships: the store houses, for example, a DNVB Casper mattress store which offers a full range of products, ranging from their iconic mattresses to test to lesser known products such as baskets for dogs.

4 • A Covid ready store

Wider aisles, better in-store signage and the ability to skip checkout lines by paying via smartphone, make this store a “Covid Ready” place.

If you still want to go through the checkouts, the payment experience has also been revised. The checkout area offers customers the possibility of using a traditional checkout or taking advantage of one of the 14 new self-service checkout stations, widely spaced from each other and therefore without contact with a host checkout.

5 • Many services offered to customers

Bed Bath and Beyond has a dedicated pick-up area, it offers customers the option of picking up orders online. Customers can ask staff to come and take their order outside (curbside pickup), all within an hour of placing the order. Indeed, we are in town! There are therefore dedicated spaces so that customers can park right when they need to pick up their orders.

Finally, the brand offers its services for your move: what better than a home specialist to help you move and discuss the products you are missing?

Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
Based in New York, Bertrand is the Innovation Retail correspondent of the Echangeur in the USA, he decodes the latest American concept stores !!
Back to the top

Recommended posts

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

19
nov
2021
Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
4 minutes

En juillet 2021, Bed Bath and Beyond a réouvert son magasin phare à New York, une rénovation complète adaptée aux nouvelles règles du commerce physique.

À la place d’un magasin très compact, Bad Bath and Beyond a élargi ses allées ! Il offre une signalisation et des affichages audacieux, créatifs ainsi qu’un assortiment de produits totalement réimaginés.

Lobjectif : refléter le nouveau positionnement du magasin sur les marques de distributeurs, mélangées avec les marques plus traditionnelles.

Avec une réduction de 44% des références sur l’aire de vente associée à une réduction de 14 % de l’espace global. Le nouveau magasin (d’une taille de 8 500 m2) montre ainsi parfaitement la stratégie de la nouvelle direction. Lors d’une visite du magasin avant l’inauguration, le PDG à déclaré :

Ce magasin est la manifestation de notre transformation

PDG Mark Tritton

Le concept

Le flagship store rénové de 8500 m2 situé au 620 6th Ave. à Chelsea, est une expression du nouveau Bed Bath & Beyond, enseigne phare sur le marché américain de la maison qui culmine à plus de 180 milliards de dollars.

Avec des allées plus larges et une disposition des rayons améliorée, des outils digitaux avec l’application mobile Bed Bath & Beyond et une offre de marques propres et de marques diverses pour chaque pièce de la maison, cette rénovation est emblématique d’un projet de 250 millions de dollars sur 3 ans.

Le projet de réaménagement va en effet toucher 450 de ses magasins alors que l’entreprise exécute sa stratégie de transformation globale. L’architecture du magasin est maintenant plus moderne avec ses baies vitrées qui apporte de la luminosité au lieu.

Bed Bath & Beyond s’est également associé à plusieurs marques pour créer de nouvelles expériences magasin avec notamment :

  • Casper : premier magasin d’achat complet “in-store” de literie
  • SodaStream : un Bubble Bar qui offre aux clients la possibilité d’acheter et de personnaliser des bouteilles SodaStream. Des mixologues sont sur place pour fournir aux clients des idées de boissons et des leçons, tout en leur montrant comment utiliser la machine
  • Café 3B™ : un barista moderne, un espace de détente dans le magasin pour déguster le café de la marque « La Colombe »

Le flagship store fait également partie d’un réseau de magasins qui est désormais en mesure de traiter les commandes de livraison le jour même dans tout Manhattan.

Enfin, le magasin de Chelsea utilise des mesures éco-énergétiques pour aider à réduire son empreinte carbone globale : remplacement des lampes fluorescentes par des lampes à LED, installation de détecteurs de présence et de minuteries pour l’éclairage, ainsi que des ventilateurs éco-énergétiques pour le contrôle de la température.

Pourquoi visiter ce magasin ?

1 • Comparer le magasin du passé et du présent

Auparavant, ce magasin avait par exemple un espace de snacking qui se trouvait à l’entrée du magasin et ne servait pas vraiment de lieu de détente. Maintenant, le Café 3B est au cœur du magasin et est situé dans la zone « expérientielle » avec une boutique Casper, un bar à bulles SodaStream et un pod « interactif » pour tester et essayer les aspirateurs (comme chez Dyson).

En matière de PLV, les panneaux étaient difficiles à voir et rendaient la navigation dans le magasin compliquée. Maintenant, les panneaux suspendus sont clairs, avec des messages courts (« College Happier »).

2 • La tendance des marques propres des distributeurs

Avec le nouveau magasin, six marques propres ont été lancées et sont désormais bien visibles dans le magasin avec une signalisation dédiée.

Bed Bath & Beyond prévoit de déployer au moins huit marques internes au cours de l’exercice 2021, et plus de 10 au cours des trois prochaines années. Certaines ont été lancées ces derniers mois, notamment une ligne de conteneurs de stockage appelée « Squared Away », une marque d’équipements de salle de bain connue sous le nom de « Haven » ainsi qu’une gamme d’articles pour la maison « Abeille & Saule ».

3 • Le shop in store

De nombreux mini magasins de marques (shop in the shop) sont installés dans le magasin.

Ainsi, Bed Bath & Beyond innove également avec de nouveaux partenariats : le magasin abrite par exemple un magasin de matelas de la DNVB Casper qui propose une gamme complète de produits, allant de leurs matelas emblématiques à tester à des produits moins connus tels que les paniers pour chiens.

4 • Un magasin Covid ready

Des allées plus larges, une meilleure signalisation en magasin et la possibilité d’éviter les files d’attente en caisse par le paiement via smartphone, font de ce magasin un lieu “Covid Ready.

Si vous souhaitez tout de même passer par les caisses, l’expérience de paiement a également été revue. La zone d’encaissement offre aux clients la possibilité d’utiliser une caisse traditionnelle ou de profiter de l’une des 14 nouvelles stations de caisse en libre-service, très espacées les unes des autres et donc sans contact, avec une ou un hôte de caisse.

5 • Les nombreux services proposés aux clients

Bed Bath and Beyond dispose d’une zone de ramassage dédiée, elle offre aux clients la possibilité de récupérer les commandes en ligne. Les clients peuvent demander au personnel de venir leur apporter leur commande à l’extérieur (curbside pickup), le tout dans l’heure suivant la commande. En effet, nous sommes en ville ! Il y a donc des places dédiées pour que les clients puissent se garer pile au moment où ils doivent récupérer leurs commandes.

Enfin, l’enseigne propose ses services pour votre déménagement : quoi de mieux qu’un spécialiste de la maison pour vous aider à déménager et discuter des produits qu’il vous manque ?

Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
Basé à New York, Bertrand est le correspondant Innovation Retail de l'Echangeur aux USA, il décode les derniers concept stores américains !!
Retour en haut de la page

Articles recommandés