Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

09
feb
2021
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
2 minutes

Despite the passing years, the Cologne store remains one of the world’s leading experiential stores. It’s a great way to give brands ideas that, faced with the impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic, need to rethink the role of their stores in the customer journey.

Globetrotter

The concept

For more than fifteen years, the Cologne store has been the temple of outdoor activities in Europe, and even in the world.

Organized around a central lake, the 7,000 m² of the point of sale spread over four floors project the visitor in his future activity. In addition to the possibility to buy his equipment in one of the corners of brands, he can also meet other backpackers back from travel, they can be found at the largest travel bookshop in Germany or vaccinated at the clinic on the top floor.

In short, here only one bonus word: experience! If they have evolved over the years, they remain central in the store. Customers can, for example, test a headlamp in a darkroom, try on climbing slippers or take their diving licence in the 4.3 meters pit in the heart of the store.

But beware, the customer journey has also evolved: repair service, click and collect or rental offer have made their appearance recently, making a point of sale an experiential place adapted to the constraints of the consumer of the years 2020.

Why visit the store?

Test des équipements

 

 

Test your future equipment

Canoe, headlamp, walking shoes, tent or backpack… You can test the majority of products in real-life situations. Here the backpacks are not empty but filled with weight to help you choose the one that best fits your morphology.

 

 

 

 

Take your diving certificate

At the heart of a point of sale, a pit of 4.30 meters deep allows you to introduce yourself to scuba diving and to pass your patent. First, head to the cabins to change. Then, cross the store and get in the water in the pool.

Fosse brevet plongée

Going from corner to corner

Outdoor activities require technical products. Head to the shops in shop rented by the brand to a selection of brands such as Fjällräven, Arc’teryx, Patagonia, Deuter ou Jack Wolfskin.

Corner Patagonia

Meeting with Adventurers

Every year, the point of sale organizes a hundred events, conferences during which travelers come to present their experience to help you prepare yours.

Conférences

Be vaccinated

Before you travel, go up to the 4th floor to have your vaccination record checked. The clinic team will advise you according to your destination and may vaccinate you on site.

Clinique

Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
Facing with the changes in retail, today's innovations help Matthew to think about tomorrow's relationship between the brand and the consumer.
Back to the top

Recommended posts

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

Passez la porte de Globetrotter, pour venir faire du canoë en plein cœur de Cologne !

10
fév
2021
Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
2 minutes

Malgré les années qui passent, le magasin de Cologne demeure l’une des références mondiales en matière de magasin expérientiel. De quoi donner des idées aux enseignes qui, confrontées aux impacts de la pandémie de Covid-19, doivent repenser le rôle de leurs magasins dans le parcours client.

Globetrotter

Le concept

Depuis plus de quinze ans, le magasin de Cologne demeure le temple des activités d’outdoor en Europe ; voire dans le monde.

Organisés autour d’un lac central, les 7 000 m² du point de vente répartis sur quatre étages projettent le visiteur dans sa future activité. Outre la possibilité d’acheter son matériel dans l’un des corners de marques, il peut aussi y rencontrer d’autres baroudeurs de retour de voyage, éplucher les guides au sein de la plus grande librairie de voyage d’Allemagne ou encore se faire vacciner au sein de la clinique au dernier étage.

Bref, ici un seul mot prime : l’expérience ! Si elles ont évolué au fil des années, elles restent centrales dans le magasin. Le client peut, par exemple, tester une lampe frontale dans une chambre noire, essayer des chaussons d’escalade ou encore passer son brevet de plongée dans la fosse de 4,3 mètres située au cœur du magasin.

Mais attention, le parcours client a lui aussi évolué : service de réparation, click and collect ou encore offre de location ont fait ainsi récemment leur apparition, faisant d’un point de vente un lieu expérientiel adapté aux contraintes du consommateur des années 2020.

Pourquoi visiter le magasin ?

Test des équipements

 

 

Tester son futur équipement

Canoë, lampe frontale, chaussures de marche, tente ou encore sac à dos… Vous pouvez tester en situation réelle la majorité des produits. Ici les sacs à dos ne sont pas vides mais remplis de poids afin de vous aider à choisir celui qui correspond le mieux à votre morphologie.

 

 

 

 

Passer son brevet de plongée

Au cœur d’un point de vente, une fosse de 4,30 mètres de profondeur vous permet de vous initier à la plongée sous-marine et de passer votre brevet. Tout d’abord, direction les cabines pour vous changer. Ensuite, traversez le magasin et mettez-vous à l’eau dans le bassin.

Fosse brevet plongée

Aller de corner en corner

Les activités d’outdoor nécessitent des produits techniques. Direction les shop in shop loués par l’enseigne à une sélection de marques comme Fjällräven, Arc’teryx, Patagonia, Deuter ou Jack Wolfskin.

Corner Patagonia

Rencontrer des baroudeurs

Chaque année, le point de vente organise une centaine d’évènements, de conférences au cours desquels des voyageurs viennent présenter leur expérience pour vous aider à préparer la vôtre.

Conférences

Se faire vacciner

Avant de partir en voyage, montez au 4e étage pour faire vérifier votre carnet de vaccination. L’équipe de la clinique vous conseillera en fonction de votre destination et pourra le cas échéant vous vacciner sur place.

Clinique

Matthieu JOLLY
Services & Innovation Manager
Face aux mutations du commerce, les innovations d'aujourd'hui aident Matthieu à penser la relation de demain entre enseigne et consommateur.
Retour en haut de la page

Articles recommandés