Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

14th New York Whole Foods opens in Hudson Yards

20
oct
2020
Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
4 minutes
On Friday, July 17, Whole Foods Market opened its 14th location in New York. Manhattan’s 5,600-square-meters store, located at 450 W. 33rd St., is part of the development of the Hudson Yards neighbourhood in western Manhattan.

This multi-level store offers a wide selection of products from approximately 200 local suppliers, many of which are new to Whole Foods. The place is for the people in a hurry who go to work and who just have time to buy a take-out, or for the local clientele who live in the neighborhood and come to shop regularly.

This store is very interesting as it is one of the first to open taking into account the new constraints related to Covid 19 and social distancing.

The Whole Foods Market concept

The Hudson Yards is one of the newest neighborhoods in Manhattan that has been operating for two years. In this housing and office complex, the huge Hudson Yards mall is home to dozens of stores and now a Whole Foods. The 14th store on Manhattan occupies over 5,600 square meters and houses a maze of organic and natural food options.

This Whole Foods is located at the base of a renovated 15-storey building that is part of the Manhattan West Complex.

Whole Foods Market

Several elements make this place unique compared to other Whole Foods of the city. First, there are products from over 200 local suppliers, making it a unique location for unique finds.

This site has also engaged cheese professionals, certified by the American Cheese Society. They are available to offer advice and suggestions for specific requests and special occasions. In this neighborhood inhabited by wealthy professionals, it is interesting to see that Whole Foods seeks to offer more than products to its customers.

Rayon fromage

In the store, the space usually dedicated to self service hosts specialized brands such as Jajaja (vegan Mexican cuisine), Matchaful (matcha lattes), Sunscoop (herbal ice cream) and Café Grumpy for coffee, espresso and cappuccinos.

Would you like to have lunch on site? Access the exterior patio on the second level overlooking 33rd Street with a view of the High Line and the store entrance at Hudson Yards. View guaranteed!

Jajaja

Free delivery within 2 hours is also available to Amazon Prime members (Amazon is the parent company of Whole Foods). Premium members also benefit from an additional 10% discount on items already at a reduced price.

And of course, Amazon customers can pick up their online orders from the lockers at the store entrance. Convenient for customers who work in the neighborhood.

Casiers Amazon

Why visit the store?

Traçabilité

One of the first post-lockout openings

Although the store’s project dates back more than a year, we cannot help but think that the Covid crisis has had an impact on the store’s design and sales process.

Very wide aisles to allow to easily keep a social distance, staff at the entrance to check the wearing of the mask, water alcoholic gel dispensersin and wipes to clean your trolley or cart are the basic offers of the store.

But it is also one of the only Whole Foods in New York to offer crates in Self Checkout. Queues are often a problem at Whole Foods but this store has decided to offer 3 different payment spaces in store to avoid waiting time and proximity between customers. The first in Self Service in the general part of the store, the second is identical to the old system with queues of colors and the third, a fast checkout at the entrance for quick purchases.

The ground floor is dedicated to retrieving orders placed online (for Whole Foods customers or deliverers), as well as for quick purchases of hot or cold drinks and for which customers just want to retrieve their products and go out.

On the contrary, you have to go upstairs to buy products to consume on site. This double-decker system avoids mixing customers in a hurry with those who want to take their time but also avoids having too many people on a single floor and respecting a social distance in store.

Finally, the store communicates a lot about the traceability of its products and the respect of its supply rules.

Préparation commandes

The Amazon touch in store

Passing through the store’s various shelves, you can’t help but think of Amazon. Some spaces look strangely like the style of the Amazon site with product categories such as on the site: major beauty trends, local novelties, order preparation in store, as in an Amazon center (or almost), and of course, the ability to retrieve orders placed on Amazon as mentioned earlier.

Local-Local-Local

In each department, we discover the names of local producers who work with Whole Foods to offer their products. These 200 local suppliers are present in this store and their well-developed products.

The majority of these local suppliers are part of the “Local producer Loan Program”, a system set up by Whole Foods to provide loans to its partners and help them grow their businesses.

The money is used to develop the products and offer, so Whole Foods guarantees the presence of products that respect its ecological rules in store.

Innovation on the shelves

While the store highlights local productions, it also highlights local innovators.

Thus, if Whole Foods already offers products from the urban farm located on the roof of its store in Brooklyn, in this store, the products grow directly in the sales area thanks to the partnership with Farm One!

In one of the store’s busiest sales areas and close to the caisses, Farm One offers a “mini-farm” of basil. This farm has a cascading irrigation system and can grow 150 plants at a time, providing Whole Foods’ restoration space with a constant supply of basil.

Customers can watch the aromas grow and eat them live, or they can buy the products in jars. The aim is also to make consumers aware of the need to have urban production even if still limited to fresh herbs.

Bière

Because you always have to discover new beers

A wide selection of over 400 beers, including 150 craft beers from local producers such as Three’s Brewing, are available in stores. The department also houses the Brewery Fresh Bar, which serves limited-edition beers from local craft breweries, wine, kombucha and cider, all in cans.

Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
Based in New York, Bertrand is the Innovation Retail correspondent of the Echangeur in the USA, he decodes the latest American concept stores !!
Back to the top

Recommended posts

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

Le 14eme Whole Foods de New York ouvre dans le Hudson Yards

20
oct
2020
Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
5 minutes
Le vendredi 17 juillet, Whole Foods Market a ouvert son 14e emplacement à New York. Le magasin de 5600m carrés de Manhattan, situé au 450 W. 33rd St., fait partie du développement du quartier de Hudson Yards dans l’Ouest de Manhattan.

Ce magasin à plusieurs niveaux propose une grande sélection de produits qui proviennent d’environ 200 fournisseurs locaux, dont beaucoup sont nouveaux pour Whole Foods. Le lieu s’adresse à la population pressée qui va travailler et qui a juste le temps de s’acheter un plat à emporter ou à la clientèle locale qui vit dans le quartier et vient faire ses courses régulièrement.

Ce magasin est très intéressant car c’est un des premiers à ouvrir en prenant en compte les nouvelles contraintes liées au Covid 19 et à la distanciation sociale.

Le concept Whole Foods Market

Le Hudson Yards est un des nouveaux quartiers de Manhattan qui a vu le jour depuis deux ans. Dans cet ensemble de logements et de bureaux, l’immense mall du Hudson Yards regroupe des dizaines de magasins et maintenant un Whole Foods. Le 14eme magasin sur Manhattan occupe plus de 5600m carrés  et abrite un labyrinthe d’options alimentaires biologiques et naturelles.

Ce Whole Foods se situe à la base d’un bâtiment rénové de 15 étages qui fait partie du complexe Manhattan West.

Whole Foods Market

Plusieurs éléments rendent cet endroit unique par rapport aux autres Whole Foods de la ville. Premièrement, il existe des produits proposés par plus de 200 fournisseurs locaux ce qui en fait un lieu unique pour des trouvailles uniques.

Cet emplacement a aussi engagé des professionnels du fromage, certifié par l’American Cheese Society. Ils sont disponibles pour offrir des conseils et des suggestions pour des demandes spécifiques et des occasions spéciales. Dans ce quartier habité par des professionnels aisés, il est intéressant de voir que Whole Foods cherche à offrir plus que des produits à ses clients.

Rayon fromage

Dans le magasin, l’espace généralement dédié au Self Service accueille des marques spécialisées comme Jajaja (cuisine mexicaine végétalienne), Matchaful (matcha lattes), Sunscoop (crème glacée à base de plantes) et Café Grumpy pour le café, les expressos et les cappuccinos.

Vous souhaitez déjeuner sur place ? Accédez au patio extérieur au deuxième niveau qui surplombe la 33e rue avec un aperçu de la High Line et de l’entrée des magasins à Hudson Yards. Vue garantie !

Jajaja

Une livraison gratuite sous 2 heures est également disponible pour les membres Amazon Prime (Amazon est la société mère de Whole Foods). Les membres Prime bénéficient également d’une réduction supplémentaire de 10% sur des articles déjà à prix réduit.

Et bien sûr, les clients Amazon peuvent récupérer leurs commandes faites en ligne dans les casiers à l’entrée du magasin. Pratique pour les clients qui travaillent dans le quartier.

Casiers Amazon

Pourquoi visiter le magasin ?

Traçabilité

Une des premières ouvertures post-confinement

Bien que le projet de ce magasin date de plus d’un an, on ne peut s’empêcher de penser que la crise du Covid a eu un impact sur le design et le process de vente de ce magasin.

Des allées très larges pour permettre de garder facilement une distance sociale, du personnel à l’entrée pour vérifier le port du masque, des distributeurs de gel hydro-alcoolique en magasin et des lingettes pour nettoyer son chariot ou son panier constituent les offres basiques du magasin.

Mais c’est aussi un des seuls Whole Foods de New York à proposer des caisses en Self Checkout. Les files d’attente sont souvent un problème chez Whole Foods mais ce magasin a décidé de proposer 3 espaces de paiements différents en magasin afin d’éviter le temps d’attente et la proximité entre les clients. Le premier en Self Service dans la partie générale du magasin, le second est identique à l’ancien système avec des files d’attente de couleurs et le troisième, une caisse rapide à l’entrée pour les achats rapides.

Le rez-de-chaussée est réservé à la récupération des commandes passées en ligne (pour les clients ou les livreurs de Whole Foods), ainsi que pour les achats rapides de boissons chaudes ou froides et pour lesquels les clients souhaitent juste récupérer leurs produits et sortir.

Au contraire, il faut monter à l’étage pour acheter des produits à consommer sur place. Ce système à double étage permet ainsi d’éviter de mélanger les clients pressés avec ceux qui souhaitent prendre leur temps mais aussi ainsi éviter d’avoir trop de monde sur un seul étage et respecter une distance sociale en magasin.

Enfin, le magasin communique beaucoup sur la traçabilité de ses produits et le respect de ses règles d’approvisionnement.

Préparation commandes

La touche Amazon en magasin

En passant dans les différents rayons du magasin, on ne peut s’empêcher de penser à Amazon. Certains espaces ressemblent étrangement au style du site d’Amazon avec des catégories de produits comme sur le site : les grandes tendances beauté, les nouveautés locales, la préparation des commandes en magasin, comme dans un centre Amazon (ou presque), et bien sûr, la possibilité de récupérer ses commandes passées sur Amazon comme mentionné précédemment.

Local-Local-Local

Dans chaque rayon, on découvre les noms des producteurs locaux qui travaillent avec Whole Foods pour proposer leurs produits. Ces 200 fournisseurs locaux sont présents dans ce magasin et leurs produits bien mis en valeur.

La majorité de ces fournisseurs locaux font partie du “Local producer Loan Program”, un système mis en place par Whole Foods pour accorder des prêts à ses partenaires et les aider à faire prospérer leur business.

L’argent sert à développer les produits et l’offre, ainsi Whole Foods se garantit la présence de produits respectueux de ses règles écologiques en magasin.

De l’innovation dans les rayons

Si le magasin met en avant les productions locales, il met aussi en avant les innovateurs locaux.

Ainsi, si Whole Foods propose déjà des produits issus de la ferme urbaine située sur le toit de son magasin de Brooklyn, dans ce magasin, les produits poussent directement dans la surface de vente grâce au partenariat avec Farm One !

Dans l’un des espaces de vente les plus fréquentés du magasin et proche des caisses, Farm One propose une “mini-ferme” de basilic. Cette ferme dispose d’un système d’irrigation en cascade et permet de cultiver 150 plantes à la fois, ce qui permet de fournir à l’espace restauration de Whole Foods un approvisionnement constant en basilic.

Les clients peuvent ainsi voir grandir les aromatiques qu’ils consommeront en direct ou bien, acheter les produits en pot. L’objectif est aussi de sensibiliser les consommateurs à la nécessité d’avoir une production urbaine même si encore limitée aux herbes fraîches.

Bière

Parce qu’il faut toujours découvrir de nouvelles bières

Une vaste sélection de plus de 400 bières, dont 150 bières artisanales de producteurs locaux comme Three’s Brewing sont proposées en magasin. Le département abrite également le Brewery Fresh Bar, qui sert des bières produites en édition limitée, provenant des brasseries artisanales locales, du vin, du kombucha et des cidres, le tout en canettes.

Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
Basé à New York, Bertrand est le correspondant Innovation Retail de l'Echangeur aux USA, il décode les derniers concept stores américains !!
Retour en haut de la page

Articles recommandés