Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

12
jan
2021
Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
4 minutes
Naked Retail store

Curation in stores has a great future and Naked Retail is the perfect example. This brand operates two stores in New York, filled with all kinds of trendy DTC (Direct To Consumer) brands like Pangaia and Lele Sadoughi. Like many brands in the region, a large percentage of sales from its store in SoHo come from tourists.

Brand curation flourished at the time of the “This Is Story” store and quickly became a major commercial strategy again, as more and more consumers appreciate the product options selected to escape the overwhelming number of choices available to them. Advantages of the brand: saving time and money and more opportunities for creativity.

Naked Retail is a success in this area.

The concept

What is curation?

Curation is a content offering and the selection of products is based on their quality and compatibility with a global proposal. This concept is old and can now be illustrated by what Netflix does.

Curation therefore seeks to provide customers with the best possible products instead of the largest possible number of products.

In general, the best curation comes from small businesses, which have niche markets and limited physical space, requiring them to be selective in what they offer to customers. These types of businesses often provide suggestions to customers, instead of just being the place to go to get a specific brand. We can illustrate this concept with a small local bookstore: if you want to get the fourth book from a specific author, you may not have any luck, but if you want a suggestion for a good book according to your tastes, you will be pleasantly surprised.

One of the best American curation companies is Williams-Sonoma, a company that sells household equipment, especially for cooking. In his early days, founder Chuck Williams wanted to provide specialized tools to American leaders. In a classic curatorial style, he didn’t try to offer everything chefs would need to cook, just the items he thought were best for his customers.

Netflix goes further in this idea by first reducing the number of movies in its catalog into a selection of good movies, and then suggesting which ones customers might like.

 

What about Naked in all this?

Justin Kerzner, the creator of the concept, launched Naked Retail because he wanted to present the product he had created in a previous project, directly to the consumer, in a very traditional way: in store. But he found himself facing big problems when he tried to create a retail experience from scratch. Reflecting on his concept, he met Bruce, another contractor with the same problem. They decided to create a space for physical collaboration to share their overhead.

As their project progressed, they met with other creators of DTC brands and decided to focus their efforts on this new retail model.

The Naked Retail concept was born!

Naked offers a refreshing and innovative physical store retail concept that online brands can experiment with.

Instead of offering a fixed range of brands, this store offers continuous rotating lists. The Naked store we’re visiting now will look very different in a few months, because a brand never stays long. These limited-time appearances bring some urgency to the shopping experience. If you want to stay on top of the new cool brands, you better visit because you’ll never know how long the trendy brand will stay in store!

 

Savings

Another advantage of Naked: it’s cheaper than renting your own space for your store. According to the Agorafy Real Estate Platform, a 140 square metre space in Manhattan’s popular SoHo neighborhood, where many digital natives brands often set up their physical presence for the first time, can cost up to $25,000 a month. As Showfields and Naked already own real estate, in high-traffic areas, brands can save a lot of money.

Naked Retail Group co-founder Justin Kerzner said brands spend half of the money they would have spent on a traditional stand-alone retail experience. Naked’s fees encompass the entire retail experience and include all design, construction and personnel requirements. As a result, the costs of this curation experience are much more realistic for small DTC brands.

Why visit the store?

La curation a de l'avenir

Because curation has a future!

The Covid pandemic has changed customer habits but also strengthened some relationships with brands or stores.The customer has his brands and trusts certain brands to offer products. Curation therefore has a future if the brand manages to offer products that correspond to its customers.

The future of retail will not be to have a wide variety of products, as has been the case in the past. The next generation of successful retailers will appeal to consumers with a thoughtful selection of products. They can organize an assortment of products for a specific type of customer, or focus their product selection on an aspect of the consumer lifestyle, across different product categories.

Visite du Naked Retail Store

For the design of the place

The store is visited like a long walk between different universes. Because of Covid, Naked offers a separate entrance and exit and the store is transformed into a walk in the heart of the different universes offered in an almost immaculate space where products are showcased.

Diversité des produits

For the diversity of products

The main advantage of this store is to offer a wide range of themes. Whether in the field of beauty, fashion, food or lifestyle, Naked offers products that interest the customer regardless of his or her interest.

Field Trip

For product descriptions

Naked does not only share the description of the product proposed by its partners, we are also entitled to the explanation for which Naked proposes this or that product and it is a real plus.

Panel de marques

To discover products from DTC brands

You can either stroll through the store to discover all these brands that you probably won’t discover anywhere else in the physical store or visit the Naked website to see the complete list. 

But the store evolves all the time and offers a real discovery of a catalog of products in perpetual movement and an experience that is renewed regularly.

 

Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
Based in New York, Bertrand is the Innovation Retail correspondent of the Echangeur in the USA, he decodes the latest American concept stores !!
Back to the top

Recommended posts

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

12
jan
2021
Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
5 minutes
Naked Retail store

La curation en magasin a un grand avenir et Naked Retail en est le parfait exemple. Cette marque exploite deux magasins à New York, remplis de toutes sortes de marques DTC (Direct To Consumer) branchées comme Pangaia et Lele Sadoughi. Comme de nombreuses marques de la région, un grand pourcentage des ventes de son magasin à SoHo provient des touristes.

La curation de marque a connu un bel essor au temps du magasin “This Is Story” et devient à nouveau rapidement une stratégie commerciale majeure, car de plus en plus de consommateurs apprécient les options de produits sélectionnées pour échapper au nombre écrasant de choix qui leur sont offerts. Avantages de la marque : gain de temps et d’argent et plus de possibilités de créativité.

Naked Retail est une réussite dans ce domaine.

Le concept

Qu’est-ce que la curation ?

La curation est une offre de contenu et la sélection des produits se fait en fonction de leur qualité et leur compatibilité avec une proposition globale. Ce concept est ancien et peut être illustré maintenant par ce que fait Netflix.

La curation cherche donc à fournir aux clients les meilleurs produits possibles au lieu du plus grand nombre de produits possibles.

En général, la meilleure curation provient de petites entreprises, qui ont des créneaux et un espace physique limité, les obligeant à être sélectives dans ce qu’elles proposent aux clients. Ces types d’entreprises fournissent souvent des suggestions aux clients, au lieu d’être simplement l’endroit où aller pour obtenir une marque spécifique. On peut ainsi illustrer ce concept avec une petite librairie locale : si vous voulez obtenir le quatrième livre d’un auteur spécifique, vous n’aurez peut-être pas de chance, mais si vous voulez une suggestion pour un bon livre en fonction de vos goûts, vous serez agréablement surpris.

L’une des meilleures entreprises américaines pour la curation est Williams-Sonoma, une entreprise qui vend des équipements ménagers notamment pour la cuisine. A ses débuts,  le fondateur Chuck Williams voulait fournir des outils spécialisés aux chefs américains. Dans un style curatorial classique, il n’essayait pas de proposer tout ce dont les chefs auraient besoin pour cuisiner, juste les articles qu’il pensait être les meilleurs pour ses clients.

Netflix va plus loin dans cette idée en réduisant d’abord le nombre de films de son catalogue en une sélection de bons films, puis en suggérant ceux que les clients pourraient aimer.

 

Et Naked dans tout cela ?

Justin Kerzner, le créateur du concept, a lancé Naked Retail parce qu’il voulait présenter le produit qu’il avait créé dans un projet précédent, directement au consommateur, d’une manière très traditionnelle : en magasin. Mais il se trouva confronté à de gros problèmes quand il essaya de créer une expérience de vente au détail à partir de rien. En réfléchissant à son concept, il rencontra Bruce, un autre entrepreneur qui avait le même problème. Ils décidèrent de créer un espace de collaboration physique pour partager leurs frais généraux.

Au fur et à mesure de l’avancement de leur projet, ils rencontrèrent d’autres créateurs de marques DTC et décidèrent de concentrer leurs efforts sur ce nouveau modèle de vente au détail.

Le concept Naked Retail était né !

Naked propose un concept de vente au détail en magasin physique rafraîchissant et innovant que les marques en ligne peuvent expérimenter.

Au lieu de proposer une gamme fixe de marques, ce magasin propose des listes en rotation continues. Le magasin Naked qu’on visite maintenant semblera très différent d’ici quelques mois, car une marque ne reste jamais longtemps. Ces apparitions d’une durée limitée insufflent un peu d’urgence à l’expérience d’achat. Si vous souhaitez rester au top des nouvelles marques cool, vous feriez mieux de visiter car vous ne saurez jamais combien de temps la marque tendance restera en magasin !

 

Des économies

Autre avantage de Naked : c’est moins cher que de louer son propre espace pour son magasin. Selon la plateforme immobilière Agorafy, un espace de 140m carrés dans le quartier populaire de SoHo à Manhattan, où de nombreuses marques “digital natives” installent souvent leur présence physique pour la première fois, peut coûter jusqu’à 25000 dollars par mois. Comme Showfields et Naked possèdent déjà des biens immobiliers, dans les zones à fort trafic, les marques peuvent économiser beaucoup d’argent.

Le cofondateur de Naked Retail Group, Justin Kerzner, a déclaré que les marques dépensent la moitié de l’argent qu’elles auraient dépensé pour une expérience de vente au détail autonome traditionnelle. Les honoraires de Naked englobent l’intégralité de l’expérience de vente au détail et comprennent tous les besoins en matière de conception, de construction et de personnel. De ce fait, les frais de cette expérience de curation sont beaucoup plus réalistes pour les petites marques DTC.

Pourquoi visiter le magasin ?

La curation a de l'avenir

Car la curation a de l’avenir !

La pandémie de Covid a changé les habitudes des clients mais aussi renforcé certaines relations avec des marques ou des magasins. Le client a ses marques et fait confiance à certaines enseignes pour proposer des produits. La curation a donc de l’avenir si l’enseigne parvient à proposer des produits qui correspondent à sa clientèle.

L’avenir de la vente au détail ne sera pas d’avoir une grande variété de produits, comme cela a été le cas dans le passé. La prochaine génération de détaillants prospères séduira les consommateurs avec une sélection réfléchie de produits. Ils peuvent organiser un assortiment de produits pour un type spécifique de client, ou centrer leur sélection de produits sur un aspect du mode de vie des consommateurs, à travers différentes catégories de produits.

Visite du Naked Retail Store

Pour le design du lieu

Le magasin se visite comme une longue balade entre différents univers. Du fait du Covid, Naked propose une entrée et une sortie séparées et le magasin se transforme ainsi en une promenade au cœur des différents univers proposés dans un espace presque immaculé où les produits sont mis en valeur.

Diversité des produits

Pour la diversité des produits

L’atout principal de ce magasin est de proposer une large gamme de thématiques. Que cela soit dans le domaine de la beauté, de la mode, de l’alimentation ou du lifestyle, Naked propose des produits qui intéressent le client quel que soit son centre d’intérêt.

Field Trip

Pour les descriptions des produits

Naked ne se contente pas de partager la description du produit proposé par ses partenaires, on a droit aussi à l’explication pour laquelle Naked propose tel ou tel produit et c’est un vrai plus.

Panel de marques

Pour découvrir des produits de marques DTC

On peut soit se promener dans le magasin pour découvrir toutes ces marques qu’on ne découvrira probablement nulle part ailleurs en magasin physique, ou se rendre sur le site de Naked pour voir la liste complète. 

Mais le magasin évolue tout le temps et propose une vraie découverte d’un catalogue de produits en perpétuel mouvement et une expérience qui se renouvelle régulièrement.

Bertrand Leseigneur
Retail Innovation Correspondent USA
Basé à New York, Bertrand est le correspondant Innovation Retail de l'Echangeur aux USA, il décode les derniers concept stores américains !!
Retour en haut de la page

Articles recommandés