Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

Hello Tomorrow 2020 : Deeptechs and the infinitely small to the rescue of humanity

09
dec
2020
Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
4 minutes
The 6th edition of Hello Tomorrow Global Summit ended on November 20 after 5 days of conference on 4 main cycles: Humans, Machines, Space (s) and Planet. A week rich in presentations and pitches from startups that once again demonstrates the universe of possibilities thanks to science and gives hope in the face of the challenges that humanity will have to meet during this decade.

The key figures of Hello Tomorrow

Humans

Biotechnology comes to the rescue of humans to fight chronic diseases and develop personalized medicine. Research on stem cells has made so much progress in recent years that it is becoming possible to transform stem cells into adult cells, but above all for adult cells to become stem cells again, for example from our own blood. These advances point to the creation of adapted, personalized and optimized health for each of us. Today the costs are astronomical to achieve this kind of scientific feats but advances in machine learning could make this type of solutions economically accessible in the future. The fusion of stem cells and gene therapy could enable humans to live much longer than just a hundred years.

stem cells

 

Machines

The future of computing is in Qbit. Yes, quantum computing is still in its infancy, but it is already showing the beginnings of a quantum internet. A quantum network that could be a reality by 2030 according to some experts. Thanks to this network, all the power of quantum computers would then be made available to the user community. Computing power to better secure sensitive data or find new drugs more quickly. Mastery of quantum computing is also a race dominated today by China and the United States which, like artificial intelligence, are the countries filing the largest number of patents in this field. As for the quantum computer in the home, many startups are already starting to work on it. By 2035 will we all be in the Quantum Age?

Internet quantique

Beyond quantum computing, Hello Tomorrow is also the rise of robotics. Exoskeletons like Wandercraft, presented in this edition, will help many patients to walk again, thus giving them autonomy. Robotics is also the creation of soft and flexible elements, perfectly imitating human muscles. Soft robotics inspired by the living world is booming to disrupt traditional, heavy robotics. This flexible robotics relies on flexible organic structures rather than solid materials with rigid movements. In the next decade, flexible robotics could even replace the muscles of the human body, an exoskeleton could become very light to wear, like a simple jacket, while allowing a person with reduced mobility to recover walking.

Robotics

 

Space(s)

The conquest of space is coming back to life and a multitude of startups are being created around the “New Space”, whether it is to clean up space of orbital waste, to create zero G research laboratories or even to create eco-responsible rocket reactors. “New Space” is also the search for life in space, because every month more than 100 planets are discovered by scientists. The search for extraterrestrial life goes through the analysis of the atmosphere of these planets, like the latest publications on the discovery of life on Venus.

New Rockets

Many startups are also working on food production in space, whether through plants, algae or the production of synthetic animal cells. A real challenge to conquer Mars because a space shuttle can only carry 3 years of food ration. The knowledge gleaned by the spatial conquest at the food level could even impact the agricultural and food world on earth thanks to the deployment of new production methods.

Food in space production

Airspace must face up to ecological challenges and the objectives of an Airbus which in 2050 wishes to have a carbon neutral aircraft. The creation of such an aircraft is becoming a little more a reality every day, as with the Flying V project carried out with KLM. This plane could carry more than 300 passengers while consuming 20% ​​less fuel than a comparable plane.

V plane KLM

Urban space is becoming more and more intelligent with solutions for cleaning up the air in buildings or optimizing the water consumption of residents. Smart city technologies are increasingly used in the fight against climate change.

 

Planet

The major challenge is obviously the fight against climate change. To do this, a new generation of nuclear power plants could emerge with molten salt reactors. A technology that brings more stability and eliminates a large part of the risks associated with nuclear power. An essential solution to reduce thermal power plants to nothing and make nuclear the clean energy source in the long term.

Nuclear Salt Energy

The abandonment of fossil fuels can also be made possible thanks to the science of life. Bioethanol can be produced using microbes and yeasts. It is about turning cells into a production plant. Cells can now also produce bioethanol, drugs or food.

Food production

Nanoparticle-scale chemistry and biology can even create new materials and compounds. What if the cellular world came to clean up human errors concerning the environment.

nanoparticules

This digital edition also saw more than 5,000 startups compete in the Global Challenge 2020. They were only 90 selected to pitch at the Global Summit. And it was Agora Energy Technologies that won the first prize. This startup, using electrochemical technology, manufactures batteries that capture CO2 from the atmosphere to transform it into energy.

Once again thanks to Hello Tomorrow, participants regain hope in science to overcome the challenges to come. DeepTechs offer hope for a better world by responding to the challenges facing humanity.

The future of humanity belongs more than ever to the infinitely small, from cell to atom!

 

Article written on december 10th, 2020,
by Nicolas Diacono,
Senior Tech Trends Analyst @Echangeur

> write to him 

Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
As an expert in emerging technologies, Nicolas travels to innovation shows around the world to spot and analyse the new trends.
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

Hello Tomorrow 2020 : Les DeepTechs et l’infiniment petit au secours de l’humanité

09
déc
2020
Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
4 minutes
La 6ème édition d’Hello Tomorrow Global Summit s’est terminée le 20 novembre dernier après 5 jours de conférence sur 4 cycles principaux : Humans, Machines, Space(s) et Planet. Une semaine riche en présentations et pitchs de startups qui démontre encore une fois l’univers des possibles grâce à la science et donne espoir face aux enjeux que l’humanité va devoir relever lors de cette décennie.

The key figures of Hello Tomorrow

Humans

La biotechnologie vient au secours de l’être humain pour combattre les maladies chroniques et développer une médecine personnalisée. La recherche autour des cellules souches a tellement fait de progrès ces dernières années qu’il devient possible de transformer des cellules souches en cellules adultes mais surtout que des cellules adultes redeviennent des cellules souches, par exemple à partir de notre propre sang. Ces avancées laissent entrevoir la création d’une santé adaptée, personnalisée et optimisée pour chacun d’entre nous. Aujourd’hui les coûts sont astronomiques pour réaliser ce genre de prouesses scientifiques mais les avancées en machine learning pourrait rendre ce type de solutions économiquement accessibles dans le futur. La fusion des cellules souches et des thérapies géniques pourraient permettre à l’être humain de vivre bien plus longtemps qu’une simple centaine d’années.

stem cells

 

Machines

L’avenir de l’informatique est dans le Qbit. Oui l’informatique quantique n’en est qu’à ses débuts mais déjà pointe les prémisses d’un internet quantique. Un réseau quantique qui pourrait être une réalité d’ici 2030 selon certains experts. Grâce à ce réseau c’est toute la puissance des ordinateurs quantiques qui seraient alors mis à disposition de la communauté d’utilisateurs. Une puissance informatique permettant de mieux sécuriser les données sensibles ou de trouver plus rapidement des nouveaux médicaments. La maitrise de l’informatique quantique c’est aussi une course dominée aujourd’hui par la Chine et les USA qui, comme sur l’intelligence artificielle, sont les pays déposant le plus grand nombre de brevets sur ce domaine. Quant à l’ordinateur quantique dans les foyers,  bien des startups commencent déjà à travailler dessus. En 2035 serons-nous tous dans l’ère du Quantique ?

Internet quantique

Au-delà de l’informatique quantique, Hello Tomorrow c’est aussi c’est la montée en puissance de la robotique. Des exosquelettes comme Wandercraft, présentés lors de cette édition, vont aider de nombreux patients à remarcher, leur rendant ainsi une autonomie. La robotique c’est aussi la création d’éléments souples et flexibles, imitant à la perfection les muscles humains. La robotique souple qui s’inspire du monde vivant est en plein essor pour disrupter la robotique traditionnelle, lourde. Cette robotique souple mise sur des structures organiques flexibles plutôt que sur des matériaux solides aux mouvements rigides. Dans la prochaine décennie la robotique souple pourrait alors même remplacer les muscles du corps humain, un exosquelette pourrait devenir très léger à porter, comme une simple veste, tout un permettant à une personne à mobilité réduite de recouvrer la marche.

Robotics

 

Space(s)

La conquête spatiale revit et une multitude de startups se créent autour du « New Space » que ce soit pour nettoyer l’espace des déchets orbitaux, créer des laboratoires de recherche en zero G voir même de créer des réacteurs de fusées éco-responsables. Le « New Space » c’est aussi la recherche de la vie dans l’espace, car chaque mois ce sont plus de 100 planètes qui sont découvertes par les scientifiques. La recherche de la vie extraterrestre passe par l’analyse de l’atmosphère de ces planètes à l’instar des dernières publications sur la découverte de vie sur Vénus.

New Rockets

De nombreuses startups travaillent également sur la production alimentaire dans l’espace que ce soit à travers les plantes, les algues ou la production de cellule animale de synthèse. Un véritable enjeu pour conquérir Mars car une navette spatiale ne peut transporter que 3 ans de ration alimentaire. Les connaissances glanées par la conquête spatiale au niveau alimentaire pourraient même impacter le monde agricole et alimentaire sur terre grâce au déploiement de nouvelles méthodes de production.

Food in space production

L’espace aérien doit faire face aux enjeux écologiques et aux objectifs d’un Airbus qui en 2050 souhaite avoir un avion au bilan carbone neutre. La création d’un tel avion devient chaque jour un peu plus une réalité comme avec le projet Flying V mené avec KLM. Cet avion pourrait transporter plus de 300 passagers tout en consommant 20% de carburant en moins qu’un avion comparable.

V plane KLM
L’espace urbain devient de plus en plus intelligente avec des solutions pour dépolluer l’air dans les bâtiments ou bien optimiser la consommation d’eau des habitants. Les technologies de la ville intelligente sont de plus en plus au service de la lutte contre le changement climatique.

 

Planet

L’enjeu majeur est bien évidemment la lutte contre le changement climatique. Pour ce faire, une nouvelle génération de centrales nucléaires pourrait voir le jour avec les réacteurs à sels fondus. Une technologie qui apporte plus de stabilité et élimine une grande partie des risques liées au nucléaire. Une solution essentielle pour réduire les centrales thermiques à néant et faire du nucléaire la source énergétique propre sur le long terme.

Nuclear Salt Energy

L’abandon des énergie fossiles peut également être rendu possible grâce à la science du vivant. Du bioéthanol peut être produit grâce à des microbes et des levures. Il s’agit de transformer des cellules en usine de production. Les cellules peuvent aujourd’hui aussi bien produire du bioéthanol, des médicaments ou de la nourriture.

Food production

La chimie et la biologie à l’échelle des nanoparticules peuvent même créer de nouveaux matériaux et composés. Et si le monde cellulaire venait nettoyer les erreurs humaines concernant l’environnement.

nanoparticules

Cette édition digitale a également vu plus de 5000 startups s’affronter lors le Global Challenge 2020. Elles étaient seulement 90 sélectionnées pour pitcher lors du Global Summit. Et c’est Agora Energy Technologies qui a remporté le premier prix. Cette startup, grâce à une technologie électrochimique, fabrique des batteries capturant du CO2 de l’atmosphère pour le transformer en énergie.

Encore une fois grâce à Hello Tomorrow, les participants reprennent espoir dans la science pour surmonter les challenges à venir. Les DeepTechs laissent entrevoir l’espoir d’un monde meilleur en répondant aux enjeux qu’affronte l’humanité.

L’avenir de l’humanité appartient plus que jamais à l’infiniment petit de la cellule à l’atome !

 

Article rédigé le 10 Décembre 2020,
par Nicolas Diacono,
Senior Tech Trends Analyst @Echangeur

> Lui écrire 

Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
Expert des technologiques émergentes, Nicolas parcourt les salons innovations de par le monde pour sentir les nouvelles tendances.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus