Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

METADAYS 2022, DEBRIEF

29
nov
2022
to
30
nov
2022
Nicolas DIACONO
4 minutes

The first edition of METADAYS, an event dedicated to B2B metavers in France, took place at the end of November in Paris. During two days, 750 participants were able to attend a multitude of quality conferences and meet more than thirty companies specialized in metavers, Web3 and NFTs.

The content and speakers diversity made it possible to address many topics around the growing metaverse industry and more generally Web3, beyond the buzz and media shortcuts.

However, everyone agreed that the metaverse was only in its infancy. Its technological and economic maturity is expected within the next ten years, according to the vast majority of stakeholders. This is reminiscent of the history of the Internet and e-commerce in the early 2000s.

The metavers market was approached from several angles during these two days with HR, real estate, tourism, regulation, inclusion, blockchain, NFTs, cryptocurrencies, etc.

Metavers at the service of employees

These universes can be used to immerse employees in the corporate culture, introduce them to the different businesses or conduct team meetings or recruitment.

With over 80% of the GenZ playing video games, companies will have to adapt to the code of this generation. These metaverse tools will then make sense to recruit and retain the employees of tomorrow

The reality of metaverse real estate

In meta platforms using blockchain, such as Decentraland, The Sandbox or the OtherSide, it is possible to buy land to build experiences. The purchase of these virtual lands is done through the purchase of an NFT (Non Fungible Token). The purchase price of the land will depend on the virtual neighborhood in which it is located, just like what happens in real estate. In The Sandbox, the land near the virtual property of American rapper Snoop Dogg will have the highest prices as this area generates a lot of visitor traffic.

Today there are 23,000 landowners and more than 400 brands in The Sandbox, which can be compared to a real average city. According to Sébastien Borget, COO and co-founder of The Sandbox, the deployment of an experience on one of the terrains of this immersive world will cost an average of €10,000 to €50,000. 

Florian Freyssenand founder of Tokenland, explained very clearly the principles of the market of renting virtual land in metaverse with a logic of yield. The metaverse seems to take the codes of real life real estate.

In another vein, for Sarah Renard CEO of Kahia, the metavers will help preserve geographical sites endangered by climate change by creating digital twins. Digital twins to model the effects of climate change on these sites and find the best solutions to safeguard them. In the worst case to simply keep in memory the missing sites.

Social relations in the metaverse

In the metavers users will be able to fully express their personality. For Aurore Géraud from l’Atelier BNP Paribas, the avatars will make it possible to test styles and personalities much more simply than in real life. The metaverse then becomes a tool for diversity and inclusion.

However, the metavers did not eliminate the idiots and other harassers. Unfortunately, the first cases of harassment have already taken place. For Maitre Julie Jacob, lawyer at the Barreau de Paris, in the metavers it is the law of the user’s country that must be applied and not that of the company managing the virtual world. Metavers platforms will have to rapidly deploy a real moderation strategy to fight cyberharassment and cybertoxicity. Web2 errors should not be reproduced in the metaverse and Web3.

On the other hand, what about the right to digital oblivion and death in the metaverse once we have passed away in real life as expressed by Teddy Pahagbia CEO of Blvck Pixel. What will happen to our avatars and digital twins?

Brands and Web3

The metadays are also brands like Decathlon or Breitling that share their experiments around the Web3. Very pragmatic uses of blockchain and NFTs to ensure traceability and authenticity of products while offering new perspectives for the customer relationship of tomorrow. We also have a podcast on the subject with Valentin Auvinet, Chief Metaverse Officer of Decathlon

It is important to understand that the Web3 and the metavers are not just technological tools, they become geopolitical tools, as Fabien Aufrechter VP Web 3.0 at Vivendi very well recalled. China has the largest patent portfolio in the world on blockchain technology. For Vincent Lorphelin, founder of Controv3rse, we will witness a patent war, no longer between companies but between states. 

This first edition of the Metadays allowed the French metavers ecosystem to meet and exchange in order to better understand the challenges to be overcome for this emerging industry. It is very likely that the second edition will be of a completely different magnitude in view of this first success.

Nicolas DIACONO
As an expert in emerging technologies, Nicolas travels to innovation shows around the world to spot and analyse the new trends.
Back to the top

+ news

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

METADAYS 2022, LE DEBRIEF

29
nov
2022
au
30
nov
2022
Nicolas DIACONO
Technology Trends Manager
6 minutes

La première édition des Métadays, événement dédié au métavers B2B en France, a eu lieu fin Novembre à Paris. Pendant deux jours, 750 participants ont pu suivre une multitude de conférences de qualité et rencontrer plus d’une trentaine d’entreprises spécialisées sur le métavers, le Web3 et les NFTs. 

La diversité des contenus et des intervenants a permis d’aborder de nombreux sujets autour de l’industrie grandissante du métavers et plus globalement du Web3, au-delà du buzz et des raccourcis médiatiques. 

Pour autant, tout le monde s’est accordé pour dire que le métavers n’était qu’à ses débuts. Sa maturité technologique et économique devrait arriver d’ici une dizaine d’années selon la grande majorité des intervenants. Cela n’est pas sans rappeler l’histoire d’Internet et du e-commerce au début des années 2000.

Le marché du métavers a été abordé sous plusieurs angles lors de ces deux jours avec les usages RH, l’immobilier, le tourisme, la réglementation, l’inclusion, la blockchain, les NFTs, les cryptomonnaies …

Le métavers au service des collaborateurs

 Ces univers peuvent être utilisés pour immerger les collaborateurs dans la culture d’entreprise, faire découvrir les différents métiers, réaliser des réunions d’équipe ou du recrutement.

Avec plus de 80% de la GenZ qui jouent à des jeux vidéo, les entreprises vont devoir s’adapter au code de cette génération. Ces outils métavers vont alors prendre tous leurs sens pour recruter et fidéliser les collaborateurs de demain.

La réalité de l’immobilier du métavers

Dans les plateformes métavers utilisant la blockchain, comme Decentraland, The Sandbox ou encore the OtherSide, il est possible d’acheter des terrains pour y bâtir des expériences. L’achat de ces terrains virtuels se fait via l’achat d’un NFT (Non Fungible Token). Le prix d’achat des terrains va dépendre du quartier virtuel dans lequel il se trouve, à l’instar de ce qu’il se passe dans la vie immobilière. Dans The Sandbox, les terrains à proximité de la propriété virtuelle du rappeur américain Snoop Dogg vont avoir les prix les plus élevés car cette zone génère beaucoup de trafic de visiteurs.

Aujourd’hui il y a dans The Sandbox 23000 propriétaires de terrain et plus de 400 marques présentes, on peut en faire la comparaison avec une véritable ville moyenne. Selon Sébastien Borget, COO et co-fondateur de The Sandbox, le déploiement d’une expérience sur un des terrains de ce monde immersif va coûter en moyenne de 10 000 à 50 000 €. 

Florian Freyssenet fondateur de l’entreprise Tokenland, a très clairement expliqué les principes du marché de la location de terrains virtuels dans les métavers avec une logique de rendement. Le métavers semble reprendre les codes de l’immobilier de la vie réelle.

Dans un autre registre, pour Sarah Renard CEO de Kahia, le métavers va permettre de préserver des sites géographiques mis en danger par le changement climatique en créant des jumeaux numériques. Des jumeaux numériques pour modéliser les effets du changement climatique sur ces sites et trouver les meilleures solutions pour les sauvegarder. Dans le pire des cas pour tout simplement garder en mémoire les sites disparus.

Les relations sociales dans le métavers

Dans le métavers les utilisateurs pourront pleinement exprimer leur personnalité. Pour Aurore Géraud de l’Atelier BNP Paribas les avatars vont permettre de tester des styles et des personnalités beaucoup plus simplement que dans la vraie vie. Le métavers devient alors un outil pour la diversité et l’inclusion.

Pour autant le métavers n’a pas éliminé les imbéciles et autres harceleurs. Des premiers cas de harcèlement ont malheureusement déjà eu lieu. Pour Maitre Julie Jacob, avocate au barreau de Paris, dans le métavers ce soit la loi du pays de l’utilisateur qui doit être appliquée et non celle de l’entreprise gérant le monde virtuel. Les plateformes métavers vont devoir rapidement déployer une véritable stratégie de modération pour lutter contre le cyberharcèlement et la cybertoxicité. Il ne faut pas reproduire les erreurs du Web2 dans le métavers et dans le Web3.

Par contre qu’en est-il du droit à l’oubli et à la mort digitale dans le métavers une fois que nous sommes décédés dans la vraie vie comme l’a exprimé Teddy Pahagbia CEO de Blvck Pixel. Que va -t-il advenir de nos avatars et jumeaux numériques ?

Les marques à l’heure du Web3

Les métadays ce sont aussi des marques comme Decathlon ou Breitling qui viennent partager leurs expérimentations autour du Web3. Des usages très pragmatiques de la blockchain et des NFTs pour assurer de la traçabilité et l’authenticité des produits tout en offrant de nouvelles perspectives pour la relation client de demain. Nous avons d’ailleurs un podcast sur le sujet réalisé avec Valentin Auvinet, Chief Metaverse Officer de Decathlon. 

Il est important de comprendre que le Web3 et le métavers ne sont pas que de simples outils technologiques, ils deviennent des outils géopolitiques comme l’a très bien rappelé Fabien Aufrechter VP Web 3.0 chez Vivendi. La Chine dispose d’ailleurs du plus gros portefeuille de brevets dans le monde sur la technologie blockchain. Pour Vincent Lorphelin, fondateur de Controv3rse, on va assister à une guerre des brevets, non plus entre les entreprises mais entre les Etats. 

Cette première édition des Métadays a permis à l’écosystème français du métavers de se retrouver et d’échanger afin d’appréhender au mieux les challenges à surmonter pour cette industrie naissante. Il est fort à parier que la seconde édition sera d’une toute autre ampleur au regard de ce premier succès.

Nicolas DIACONO
Technology Trends Manager
Expert des technologiques émergentes, Nicolas parcourt les salons innovations de par le monde pour sentir les nouvelles tendances.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus