Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

Live from the 2018 VRLA Expo, the latest trends in virtual and augmented reality, by our correspondent Jean Yves Chainon, CEO of JYC, a start-up partnering with L’Echangeur.

15
may
2018
Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
2 minutes
VRLA is one of the world’s largest immersive technology expos showcasing augmented reality, virtual reality and 360 video products. This 5th edition of the annual event took place on 4th and 5th May at the Los Angeles Congress Center, in the heart of the entertainment industry. During this edition, 12,000 visitors browsed their way through the latest VR and AR developments presented by over 100 exhibitors.

Industry leaders sponsoring this year’s event included Intel, Dell, Qualcomm, NVIDIA, Viveport and Microsoft, which also gave support to dozens of freelance developers, empowering them to feature at VRLA.

The show-stoppers

 

This year’s show featured the next generation of immersive technologies like motion simulators, arcade VR, haptic jackets, 360 cameras and the most popular VR/AR/XR product roll-outs.

These innovations include the VR mobile Pico, which provides real 6DOF motion (6 degrees of freedom: i.e. enhanced motion capabilities (left-right, forward-backward, up-down) for users, thanks to its inside-out tracking that senses users’ position in their environment (not just a head rotation, or 3DOF (3 degrees of freedom), which the Samsung Gear VR headset or the more recent Oculus Go can already do).

This year’s show also featured quite a few VR applications focussing on multi-player gaming, generally involving a maximum of 4-6 players and a clear trend towards FPS (First Person Shooters), as well as a virtual reality poker saloon.

AntVR’s augmented reality headgear scored a hit with a 96 degree field of view, and, although still wired and at the prototype stage, this spells promise for the entire industry.

 

Highlights

 

Every edition of VRLA showcases hundreds of new demos and, this year, in partnership with LACMA, a major Los Angeles art museum, the expo’s centrepiece was Mezo, a 20 foot high futuristic temple featuring synchronised LED panels, lasers and spatialised music, not to mention the Hololens demos.

This interactive artistic piece prefigures an alternative future in which ancient meso-American societies became technologically advanced, taking participants on this journey of creative rebirth.

Other noteworthy exhibits included the Scan Truck, a mobile avatar photogrammetry studio that can travel from Hollywood studio to Hollywood studio, although more advanced mobile solutions are under development.

 

Disappointments

 

The number of participants seemed to be on a slight downtrend, and industry experts agree that the show featured few major technical innovations. Doubtlessly, this heralds the end of the first generation VR consumer headgear cycle, with the public showing only moderate enthusiasm, especially in Los Angeles, where lots of users have already tried out VR. People wait patiently as the market prepares the next generation of mobile VR headsets, like the recently announced Oculus Go.

Profile-Jean-Yves-Chainon

 

Article published on may 16th 2018 by

Jean Yves CHAINON
CEO of JYC, a start-up partnering with L’Echangeur

Contact

 

 

JYC is based in Los Angeles with teams in Paris and london. In 2017, JYC was one of few accepted into the incubation program at TF1, the largest private media broadcaster in Europe.

Nicolas MEUNIER
Digital Communication Manager
Editorialist
Back to the top

+ d'actus

image-à-la-une

VRLA est une des plus grandes conférences dédiées à l’industrie des technologies immersives en réalité augmentée, réalité virtuelle et vidéo 360. Cette 5ème édition de l’événement annuel a eu lieu le 4 et 5 mai au Centre des Congrès de Los Angeles, au cœur de l’industrie du divertissement. Lors de cette édition, 12 000 visiteurs ont pu découvrir les dernières nouveautés VR et AR présentées par plus de 100 exposants.
Parmi les entreprises leaders de l’industrie qui sponsorisent l’exposition de cette année, citons Intel, Dell, Qualcomm, NVIDIA, Viveport et Microsoft qui aident aussi à subventionner des dizaines de développeurs indépendants en leur permettant d’exposer à VRLA.

Les Innovations marquantes

 

Qu’il s’agisse d’installations immersives, de simulateurs de mouvement et d’arcades VR, de vestes haptiques, de ​​caméras 360 et des lancements de produits les plus populaires en VR / AR / XR, cette exposition a présenté la prochaine génération de technologies transformatrices à explorer.

Le casque VR mobile Pico figure parmi ces innovations, en permettant un déplacement réel en 6DOF (6 degrees of freedom : C’est-à-dire une plus grande capacité de déplacement (gauche-droite, avant-arriere, haut-bas) de l’utilisateur, grâce à son inside-out tracking qui recense l’emplacement de l’utilisateur dans son environnement (et non une simple rotation de la tête, ou 3DOF (3 degrees of freedom), comme c’est déjà le cas avec le casque Samsung Gear VR, ou le plus récent Oculus Go).

Cette année, on a retrouvé bon nombre d’applications VR centrées autour du gaming en réseau multi-joueurs, avec généralement un maximum de 4-6 joueurs, et une nette tendance pour les jeux FPS (First Person Shooter), mais aussi entre autres une salle de poker en réalité virtuelle.

Enfin, le casque de réalité augmentée de AntVR marque un pas avec un champ de vision de 96 degrés, et quoique celui-ci soit encore filaire et à l’état de prototype, cette évolution est prometteuse pour l’ensemble de l’industrie.

 

Les moments marquants


Chaque édition de VRLA présente des centaines de nouvelles démos et cette année, en collaboration avec LACMA, un des principaux musée d’art de Los Angeles, la pièce maîtresse de l’exposition était Mezo, un temple futuriste de 20 pieds de haut équipé de panneaux LED synchronisés, de lasers et de musique spatialisée, en passant par des démos Hololens.

Cette installation d’art interactif évoque un futur alternatif où les sociétés méso-américaines antiques sont devenues technologiquement avancées, et emmènent les participants dans ce voyage de renaissance créative.

A noter aussi le camion Scan Truck qui permet de faire de la photogrammétrie d’avatar, le tout dans un camion qui peut se rendre directement sur place aux studios Hollywoodiens, bien que des solutions encore plus mobiles soient en développement.

 

Les déceptions

 

Le nombre de participants semblait être légèrement à la baisse ou stagnant, et les experts de l’industrie s’accordent à dire qu’ils y ont découvert peu d’innovations techniques majeures. Cela reflète sans doute cette fin de cycle de la première génération des casques consommateurs VR, avec une appétence du public modérée, d’autant plus à Los Angeles, où beaucoup d’utilisateurs ont déjà pu s’essayer à la VR. Il règne donc une atmosphère attentiste à l’aube de la prochaine génération de casques VR mobiles, comme avec l’annonce récente de l’Oculus Go.

Profile-Jean-Yves-Chainon

 

Article publié le 16 Mai 2018 par

Jean Yves CHAINON
CEO de JYC, startup partenaire de l’Echangeur.

lui écrire

 

 

JYC est un studio de production de contenu en Réalité Augmentée, Réalité Virtuelle et vidéo 360 basé à Los Angeles, Californie avec une présence à Londres et à Paris. En 2017, JYC était l’une des seules start-up accepté dans le programme d’incubation sur TF1, le plus grand diffuseur privé de média en Europe.