Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

COMMERCE RELOADED 10 YEARS! – THE EMERGENCE OF AMBIENT COMMERCE!

09
jun
2021
Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
4 minutes

Ten years ago, Commerce Reloaded was born, an event created by the Echangeur BNP Paribas Personal Finance to examine the changes in the world of commerce and better understand the major trends that structure it. The drafting of this report requires us to follow the weak signals and the decisive points of rupture in contact with the actors of digital innovation and commerce.

Since its first Commerce Reloaded, the Echangeur has never stopped anticipating and following the mutation of the world of commerce! At the beginning of 2010, this world organized around a frontal relationship between brands and individuals, is now a thing of the past. Driven by the connectivity (Internet of Things, smartphones, voice assistants…) of all interactions, it is turning into an economy for the perfect management of our more or less conscious aspirations and needs. This is the “Ambient Commerce“!

It’s time to take stock of these 10 years of Mutation(S)!

Stem cell

Commerce Reloaded’s analysis is enriched by coverage of key trade shows such as the Web Summit in Lisbon, the Consumer Electronic Show (#CES2021) in Las Vegas and Shanghai, the Retail’s big Show(#NRF2021) in New York, and the South by Southwest Festival conferences in Austin.

In 2010, Uber set out to conquer the world. The first manifestations of Uberization would turn our relationship to commerce upside down. Today, the health crisis is accelerating this digital and structural mutation, against a backdrop of sustainable and responsible consumption.

Incubation

The easy life. A world in a click. A meeting in a swipe at the moment T was on the way. Symbolized by Google Now, Ebay Now, Tinder … everything was implemented to simplify our lives as customers and citizens.

In June 2012, the launch of Google Now and Google field whose baseline was “the information you need when you need it”, was the launch of the era of the hyper-personalized contextual!

Interactions generated new forms of dialogue, requirements and ultimately value creation on a daily basis.

Fluidize, automate the act of purchase, and being delivered in an hour became the first markers of an Ambient Commerce totally dedicated to improving the customer journey.

Google CEO Eric Schmidt’s chilling sentence in the Wall Street Journal in 2010 became tangible and irrevocable:

“The reality is, I don’t think people want Google to answer their questions. They want Google to tell them what to do!

@https://numericlandscape.org/

Diffusion

In 2014, the takeover of Nest by Google or the launch of Amazon Echo for Prime members, initialized the spread of the algorithmic “virus”, capitalizing on our slightest daily manifestations, bringing about the emergence of an economy backed by the uninterrupted flows of life or an industry of life. These ecosystems crystallized by Amazon, Alibaba, Google … supported by connected objects have had no difficulty in investing our daily lives.

This vision of all “ambient service” comes neither from the USA nor from China but from Japan. The Telecom giant, NTT Docomo in 2011 announced in its “Heart vision” plan its desire to become the “Personal Life Agent 2011-2020” of millions of Japanese. The improved version of its Iconcier app (pioneer of ‘Super APP’) launched in December 2009, long before the Chinese super-app WeChat reached one billion monthly active users.

In 2021, the Echangeur is convinced that the most successful ecosystem in the world is still in Japan but under the leadership of Rakuten. Or a real service empire, operating in more than 70 different professions including finance, health, distribution or telecoms!

Source @echangeur

Acceleration

Covid-19 has precipitated the digital transformation of our daily lives. For Satya Nadella CEO of Microsoft, we have experienced a digital acceleration of 2 years in just 2 months. For McKinsey E-commerce has gained ten years in just eight months in 2020. According to the GDR firm, British E-commerce could even represent 50% of global commerce by 2025, leading to the closure of 25% of physical stores . Physical stores that change roles and some of which are turning into mini logistics hubs with the phenomenon of “dark stores”.

In the area of ​​payment according to Mastercard, 54% of its users favored contactless payments. At Visa, 78% of its credit and debit card users have changed their payment habits with the pandemic.

This frantic digitization is spreading and it is all the dimensions of our lives that have been forced to transform affecting the last bastions such as Education, Health, Work …

Telemedicine in Europe has grown from 40% in France, 65% in the United States to 70% in the United Kingdom. The penetration of video streaming with Netflix or Disney + has been accelerated by seven years in just five months, according to McKinsey and shared by the Consumer Technology Association (CTA) during the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) 2021. The same study shows that 70% of Europeans want to continue using digital technology as much or even more after the health crisis.

This acceleration of digitization seems irreversible. 

Immunity

Inspired by the functions of living organisms, technological innovation using DNA through synthetic biology is positioned as the salvation for humanity, just like Messenger RNA. This biomimicry is gradually becoming part of our daily life and in the approach of a future business centered on deeptechs and the circular economy, among others.

For the first, the science of the infinitely small, the field of possibilities is vast, like the latest technological advances such as stem cell fusion and gene therapies that could allow humans to live better and longer. For example, nutrigenomics, which already makes it possible to personalize food as well as to individualize nutritional treatment plans for individuals according to their genetic profile, is already underway.

If only 19% of Europeans (according to a Euromonitor study), say today they are willing to give their genetic profile to have more personalized offers, this proportion already reaches 75% in the United States.

Finally, the circular economy must be at the heart of today’s and tomorrow’s economic models. According to analyses by the Ellen McArthur Foundation, by adopting these principles, Europe could achieve a net profit of one thousand eight hundred billion euros by 2030, which is nine hundred billion euros more than the traditional linear economic model.

The circular economy is not a utopia but a market of the future. 

Mutation(S)

During periods of confinement our virtual and computational double had the opportunity to cross Animal Crossing in Gucci or attend a giant concert on Fornite, leaving behind a denervated real world. Between Binge-watching and the management of its virtual identity, many are those who have shifted fluidly in the Metaverses. Thus creating a mutant economy where the new markers are called NFT, Loot box, Skin … 

@epicgames

Gaming with 500 million additional players and a market of over $ 300 billion in 2021. It now weighs more than the cinema and music markets combined, according to a study by Accenture.

Still according to the same firm, forecasts indicate an increase of an additional 400 million gamers by the end of 2023, thus forecasting to reach 3.1 billion players worldwide.

Welcome to the new world! 

Club Echangeur

Echangeur club

Want to access unlimited publications, attend events and enjoy our help?

Join the Club!
Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
Specialist of BATX & GAFA ecosystems and passionate about China, Guillaume analyzes the impact of new technologies on our lives.
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

COMMERCE RELOADED 10 ANS ! – L’ÉMERGENCE DU COMMERCE AMBIANT !

09
juin
2021
Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
5 minutes

Il y a 10 ans naissait Commerce Reloaded, un évènement construit par l’Echangeur BNP Paribas Personal Finance pour passer au crible les évolutions du monde du commerce et mieux comprendre les grandes tendances qui le structure. La rédaction de ce rapport requiert au préalable de suivre les signaux faibles et les points de rupture déterminants en prise avec les acteurs de l’innovation digitale et du commerce.

Depuis son premier Commerce Reloaded, l’Echangeur n’a cessé d’anticiper et suivre la mutation du monde du commerce ! Début 2010, ce monde organisé autour d’un rapport frontal entre marques et individus, relève aujourd’hui d’une époque révolue. Porté par la connectivité (Internet des objets, smartphones, assistants vocaux…) de toutes interactions, il se mue en une économie pour la parfaite gestion de nos aspirations et besoins plus ou moins conscients. C’est le « Commerce Ambiant »!

Il est temps de faire un point sur ces 10 ans de Mutation(S) !

Cellule souche

Les analyses de Commerce Reloaded sont enrichies par la couverture de salons phares comme le Web Summit de Lisbonne, le Consumer Electronic Show (#CES2021) de Las Vegas et Shanghai, le Retail’s big Show (#NRF2021) de New York et les conférences du festival South by Southwest à Austin.

En 2010, Uber partait à la conquête du monde. Cellule souche dont les premières manifestations, très vite qualifiées d’ubérisation, allaient chambouler notre relation au commerce. Aujourd’hui la crise sanitaire, accélère avec force cette mutation numérique et structurelle, sur un fond de consommation durable et responsable.

Incubation

La Vie facile. Un monde en un clic. Une rencontre en un swipe à l’instant T était en marche. Symbolisés par Google Now, Ebay Now, Tinder … tout fut mis en œuvre pour simplifier notre vie de clients et de citoyens.

En juin 2012, le lancement de Google Now et Google field dont la baseline était  » l’information dont vous avez besoin au moment où vous en avez besoin, fut le lancement de l’ère du contextuel hyper personnalisé !

Les interactions généraient de nouvelles formes de dialogue, d’exigence et finalement de création de valeur au quotidien.

Fluidifier, automatiser l’acte d’achat, être livré en 1 heure devenaient les premiers marqueurs d’un Commerce Ambiant totalement dédié à l’amélioration du parcours client.

La sentence glaciale du PDG de Google Eric Schmidt dans le Wall Street Journal en 2010 devenait tangible et irrémédiable :

En réalité, je pense que les gens ne veulent pas que Google réponde à leurs questions. Ils veulent que Google leur dise ce qu’ils doivent faire

@https://numericlandscape.org/

Diffusion

En 2014, le rachat de Nest par Google ou le lancement d’Amazon Echo pour les membres Prime, initialisaient la propagation du « virus » algorithmique, capitalisant sur nos moindres manifestations quotidiennes faisant émerger une économie adossée aux flux ininterrompus de la vie soit une industrie de la vie. Ces écosystèmes cristallisés par Amazon, Alibaba, Google … appuyés par les objets connectés n’ont pas eu de mal à investir notre quotidien.

Cette vision du tout ‘serviciel ambiant’ ne vient ni des USA ni de Chine mais du Japon. Le géant des Telecom, NTT Docomo en 2011 annonçait dans son plan « Heart vision » sa volonté de devenir le « Personal Life Agent 2011-2020 » de millions de japonais. La version améliorée de son appli Iconcier(pionnier des ‘Super APP’) lancé en Décembre 2009, bien avant la super-app chinoise WeChat a atteint le milliard d’utilisateurs actifs mensuels.

En 2021, l’Echangeur est convaincu que l’écosystème le plus abouti au monde est toujours au Japon mais sous la gouverne de Rakuten. Soit un véritable empire de services, opérant dans plus de 70 métiers différents dont la finance, la santé, la distribution ou les télécoms !

Source @echangeur

Acceleration

La Covid-19 a précipité la mutation digitale de notre quotidien. Pour Satya Nadella CEO de Microsoft, nous avons connu une accélération du digital de 2 ans en seulement 2 mois. Pour McKinsey l’E-commerce a gagné dix ans en seulement huit mois sur 2020. Selon le cabinet GDR, l’E-commerce britannique pourrait même représenter 50% du commerce global d’ici 2025 entrainant la fermeture de 25% des enseignes physiques. Des magasins physiques qui changent de rôle et dont certains se transforment en mini hub logistique avec le phénomène des « dark stores ».

Dans le domaine du paiement selon Mastercard, 54% de ses utilisateurs ont privilégié les paiements sans contact. Chez Visa, 78% des utilisateurs de ses cartes de crédit et de paiement ont changé leurs habitudes de paiement avec la pandémie.

Cette numérisation effrénée s’étend et ce sont toutes les dimensions de nos vies qui ont été dans l’obligation de se transformer touchant les derniers bastions tels que l’Education, la Santé, le Travail …

La télémédecine en Europe a connu une croissance allant de 40% en France, 65% aux Etats-Unis à 70% au Royaume-Uni. La pénétration du streaming vidéo avec Netflix ou Disney+ a été accélérée de sept ans en seulement cinq mois, selon McKinsey et partagé par le Consumer Technology Association (CTA) lors du Consumer Electronics Show (CES) 2021. Cette même étude démontre que 70% des Européens souhaitent continuer à utiliser le digital autant voire plus après la crise sanitaire.

Cette accélération de la digitalisation semble irréversible.

Immunite

S’inspirant des fonctions du vivant, l’innovation technologique exploitant désormais l’ADN à travers la biologie de synthèse se positionne comme la planche de salut pour l’humanité, à l’image de l’ARN Messager. Ce biomimétisme rentre petit à petit dans notre quotidien et dans l’approche d’un commerce futur centré entre autres sur les deeptechs et l’économie circulaire.

Pour le premier, soit la science de l’infiniment petit, le champ des possibles est vaste à l’image des dernières avancées technologiques comme la fusion des cellules souches et les thérapies géniques qui pourraient permettre à l’être humain de vivre mieux et plus longtemps. Par exemple, la nutrigénomique qui permet déjà de personnaliser l’alimentation ainsi que d’individualiser les plans de traitements nutritionnels des individus selon leur profil génétique est déjà en cours.

Si seulement 19% des Européens (selon une étude Euromonitor), se disent aujourd’hui prêts à donner leur profil génétique pour avoir des offres plus personnalisées, cette proportion atteint déjà 75% aux Etats-Unis.

Enfin, l’économie circulaire doit être au cœur des modèles économiques d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Selon les analyses de la fondation Ellen McArthur, en adoptant ces principes, l’Europe pourrait réaliser un bénéfice net de mille huit cents milliards d’euros d’ici 2030, soit neuf cents milliards d’euros additionnels par rapport au modèle économique linéaire traditionnel.

L’économie circulaire n’est pas une utopie mais bien un marché d’avenir.

Mutation(S)

Durant les périodes de confinement notre double virtuel et computationnel a eu l’occasion de traverser Animal Crossing en Gucci ou assister à un concert géant sur Fornite, délaissant un monde réel dénervé. Entre Binge-watching et la gestion de son identité virtuelle, nombreux sont ceux qui ont basculé de manière fluide dans les Metaverses. Créant ainsi une économie mutante ou les nouveaux marqueurs s’appellent NFT, Loot box, Skin...

@epicgames

Le gaming avec 500 millions de joueurs supplémentaires et un marché à plus de 300 milliards de dollars en 2021. Il pèse désormais plus lourd que les marchés du cinéma et de la musique réunies, selon une étude d’Accenture.

Toujours selon le même cabinet, les prévisions indiquent une hausse de 400 millions supplémentaires de gamers d’ici fin 2023, prévoyant ainsi d’atteindre les 3,1 milliards de joueurs à travers le monde.

Bienvenue dans le nouveau monde !

Club Echangeur

Club Échangeur

Vous souhaitez accéder à toutes nos publications sans limite, participer à nos évènements et profiter de nos accompagnements ?

Rejoignez le Club !
Guillaume RIO
Responsable Technologies & Partenariats
Spécialiste des écosystèmes BATX & GAFA et passionné par la Chine, Guillaume analyse l'impact des nouvelles technologies sur nos vies.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus