Reading Time: 5 minutes

The International Retail “grand-messe”, which takes place every year in January in New York, took place online over two weeks for its first chapter. Chapter two, which was supposed to take place in June physically in New York, will not finally take place in the American city. This first chapter of the NRF Retail’s Big Show 2021 brought together about 20,000 participants around a major topic: how to rethink trade in the midst of a global pandemic?

It should be noted that e-commerce would have gained 150 million users in the United States since the beginning of the health crisis.


Logistics to the rescue of trade

At the various conferences, the logistical performance of retailers was at the heart of many discussions. Indeed, many have to rethink their processes and offer new delivery or withdrawal services. Surprisingly, it seems that the American distribution industry has discovered the benefits of withdrawing orders by Click & Collect or Drive. The Drive or «Curbside» was a real success since the beginning of the pandemic for the historical actors of the trade that are Walmart or TargetRetailers who have transformed their stores into a «Dark Store» to manage deliveries and withdrawals of e-commerce orders. Bed Bath and Beyond even plans to convert 25% of its stores into logistics centers to improve its delivery times.

Curbside

Drône Walmart

It is also for distributors to optimize their processes in the preparation of orders until delivery. A delivery that becomes strategic when 55% of consumers want delivery in less than two hours for their online orders (source PwC). However, a majority of consumers are ready for a collaborative delivery service, which is excellent news for the start-up ShopopopAnother solution for smaller retailers is also the peer-to-peer sharing of their logistics infrastructure as proposed by start-up Cahoot.

Intro Walmart

Livraison

However, we feel that the triptych 5G, automated logistics micro-centers and delivery by robots is becoming the reality of trade in 2025, especially in urban areas. Moreover, 27% of consumers are ready to automate their food orders for recurring orders.

Robot Walmart

The contactless trade

For Dunnhumby, the consumer today is looking for speed when he goes to the store because he equates speed with health safety. Retailers must therefore invest in systems that speed up checkout, payment and limit queues.

Speed

Many self-scanning solutions were present in the exhibitors, such as Scandit or Nomitri Gmbh. It is also amusing to remember that the first tests in this field took place in France more than 8 years ago. Obviously, the solutions to make the store intelligent, even autonomous, thanks to image recognition were also present, as with the French start-up Belive.ai. It should be noted that Hudson will use Amazon’s “Just walk out” technology in its airport stores.

Nomitri

Contactless payment, meanwhile, is booming with covid-19, today 75% of VISA payment card users prefer contactless payment. 78% have changed their ways of paying for their purchases and 60% prioritize contactless payment stores. A contactless payment that is also found in the rise of startups like Venmo.

The streaming shop still has the wind in its sails since it now represents more than 11% of Chinese e-commerce. In the USA, Lululemon made more than 4,000 online appointments during the last Black Friday.In France, the start-up Caast.TV offers solutions to support retailers in the era of live streaming.

Caast.tv

Towards committed and responsible trade

In parallel with Covid-19, the other key topic was sustainable trade. From Ikea to Walmart, a large majority of retailers are positioned to develop a responsible and committed business.

Sustainability

Moreover, the NRF did not remain insensitive to the attack of the Capitol by strongly condemning this act at its opening conference. According to Jamie Dimon, CEO of JP Morgan, the major American economic players have a duty to fight against social injustices and inequalities. Many of them have donated tens of millions of dollars to fight injustice and support the Americans.

In terms of sustainable commerce, Walmart aims to use 100% renewable energy for the operation of its stores in 2021. H&M remains a textbook case on sustainable trade. Swedish society today uses bio-based or recycled materials. Its mantra has gone from democratizing fashion to democratizing sustainable fashion. Ikea, meanwhile, made the last Black Friday not a commercial event but an event on the circular economy and responsible consumption. The objective was to give a second life to the objects of our daily life instead of going to buy new ones. According to a Microsoft study, two-thirds of consumers include sustainability in their purchasing criteria and more than 50% prefer local products.

HM sustainability


And if this 2021 edition of the NRF Retail’s Big Show was the beginning of the revolution for a socially engaged and sustainable trade. A trade at the service of societal issues. It will therefore be necessary to see at the next edition of the NRF, in January 2022, if this trend has become legion.

 

Article published 27 January 2021 by

Nicolas DiaconoNicolas Diacono

Technology Trends Analyst 

lui écrire

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

Bilan NRF2021 : bienvenue dans l’ère du commerce réinventé !

27
jan
2021
Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
4 minutes
La grand-messe du retail international, qui a lieu chaque année en janvier à New-York, s’est déroulée en ligne sur deux semaines pour son premier chapitre. Le chapitre deux, qui devait se dérouler en juin physiquement à New-York, n’aura finalement pas lieu dans la cité américaine. Ce premier chapitre de la NRF Retail’s Big Show 2021 a regroupé environ 20 000 participants autour d’un sujet majeur : comment repenser le commerce en pleine pandémie mondiale ?

Il est à noter que le commerce en ligne aurait gagné 150 millions d’utilisateurs aux Etats-Unis depuis le début de la crise sanitaire.


La logistique au secours du commerce

Lors des diverses conférences, la performance logistique des retailers fut au cœur de nombreuses discussions. En effet, beaucoup ont dû repenser leurs process et offrir de nouveaux services de livraison ou de retrait de marchandises. Fait étonnant, il semblerait que le secteur de la distribution américaine ait découvert les bénéfices du retrait des commandes en click & collect ou au drive. Le drive ou « Curbside » fut d’ailleurs un véritable succès depuis le début de la pandémie pour les acteurs historiques du commerce que sont Walmart ou Target. Des retailers qui ont transformé leurs magasins en « Dark Store » pour gérer les livraisons et retraits des commandes e-commerce. Bed Bath and Beyond a même prévu de convertir 25 % de ses magasins en centres logistiques pour améliorer ses délais de livraison.

Curbside

Drône Walmart

Il s’agit également pour les distributeurs d’optimiser leurs process dans la préparation de commandes jusqu’à la livraison. Une livraison qui devient stratégique quand 55% des consommateurs souhaitent une livraison en moins de deux heures pour leurs commandes en ligne (source PwC). Pour autant, une majorité de consommateurs est prête à un service de livraison collaboratif, une excellente nouvelle pour la start-up Shopopop. Une autre solution pour les commerçants de plus petite taille est également le partage entre pairs de leurs infrastructures logistiques comme le propose la start-up Cahoot.

Intro Walmart

Livraison

Toutefois, on sent que le triptyque 5G, micro-centres logistiques automatisés et livraison par robots devient la réalité du commerce de 2025, et plus particulièrement en milieu urbain. D’ailleurs, 27% des consommateurs sont prêts à automatiser leurs commandes alimentaires pour ce qui est des commandes récurrentes.

Robot Walmart

Le commerce sans contact

Pour Dunnhumby, le consommateur est aujourd’hui en quête de rapidité quand il va en magasin car il assimile la rapidité à la sécurité sanitaire. Les enseignes doivent donc investir dans des systèmes accélérant le passage en caisse, le paiement et limitant les files d’attente.

Speed

De nombreuses solutions de self-scanning étaient présentes au sein des exposants, comme Scandit ou encore Nomitri Gmbh. Il est d’ailleurs amusant de se rappeler que les premiers essais dans ce domaine ont eu lieu en France il y a plus de 8 ans. Evidemment, les solutions pour rendre le magasin intelligent, voire autonome, grâce à la reconnaissance d’image furent également présentes, comme avec la start-up française Belive.ai. Il est d’ailleurs à noter qu’Hudson va utiliser la technologie « Just walk out » d’Amazon dans ses boutiques en aéroport.

Nomitri

Le paiement sans contact, est quant à lui, en plein boom avec la covid-19, aujourd’hui 75% des utilisateurs de cartes de paiement VISA privilégient le sans contact. Ils sont 78% à avoir changé leurs manières de régler leurs achats et 60% priorisent les magasins acceptant le paiement sans contact. Un paiement sans contact qui se retrouve également dans l’essor de startups comme Venmo.

Le shop streaming a toujours autant le vent en poupe puisqu’il représente aujourd’hui plus de 11% du e-commerce chinois. Aux USA, Lululemon a réalisé plus de 4 000 rendez-vous en ligne lors du dernier Black Friday. En France, la start-up Caast.TV propose des solutions pour accompagner les retailers dans l’ère du live streaming.

Caast.tv

Vers un commerce engagé et responsable

En parallèle du Covid-19, l’autre sujet phare était le commerce durable ou « sustainable » en anglais. D’Ikea à Walmart une grande majorité de retailers se positionnent pour développer un commerce responsable et engagé.

Sustainability

D’ailleurs la NRF n’est pas restée insensible à l’attaque du Capitole en condamnant fermement cet acte lors de sa conférence d’ouverture. Pour Jamie Dimon, CEO de JP Morgan, les grands acteurs économiques américains ont le devoir de lutter contre les injustices et les inégalités sociales. Ils sont d’ailleurs nombreux à avoir fait don de plusieurs dizaines de millions de dollars pour lutter contre les injustices et soutenir les Américains.

Pour ce qui est d’un commerce durable, Walmart a pour objectif d’utiliser 100% d’énergies renouvelables pour le fonctionnement de ses magasins en 2021. H&M reste un cas d’école sur le commerce durable. La société suédoise utilise aujourd’hui des matières biosourcées ou recyclées. Son mantra est d’ailleurs passé de démocratiser la mode à démocratiser la mode durable. Ikea, quant à lui, a fait du dernier Black Friday non pas un événement commercial mais un événement sur l’économie circulaire et la consommation responsable. L’objectif était de donner une seconde vie aux objets de notre quotidien au lieu d’aller en acheter des nouveaux. Selon une étude Microsoft, deux tiers des consommateurs intègrent la dimension durable dans leurs critères d’achat et ils sont plus de 50% à privilégier les produits locaux.

HM sustainability


Et si cette édition 2021 de la NRF Retail’s Big Show était le début de la révolution pour un commerce socialement engagé et durable. Un commerce au service des enjeux sociétaux. Il faudra donc voir lors de la prochaine édition de la NRF, en janvier 2022, si cette tendance est devenue légion.

Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
Expert des technologiques émergentes, Nicolas parcourt les salons innovations de par le monde pour sentir les nouvelles tendances.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus