Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

Results of CES2021: Faced with Covid-19, technology strikes back!

20
jan
2021
Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
3 minutes
For this fully digital edition of CES, there were “only” 75,000 participants, compared to 175,000 last year physically in Las Vegas. The audience was able to try to discover the innovative solutions of the exhibitors of the digitalized show, but with varying degrees of success. The exhibitor pool was also smaller with 1,960 companies present compared to 4,500 last year, including 135 French companies.

Batteries General Motors

Tomorrow, electric mobility for all

Compared to previous editions, the number of car manufacturers present was very limited. Only General Motors had come to make big announcements. The American manufacturer will invest more than 27 billion dollars in the electric vehicles of its brands, as with the famous Hummer. GM has announced the deployment of a fleet of electric delivery vehicles in partnership with Fedex. This is the BrightDrop project which also offers an autonomous vehicle for storage warehouses.

Bright Drop by GM

FLYING CADILLAC GMWhether it is GM, Panasonic, Bosch or Magna with LG, the race for eco-responsible batteries and not dependent on rare materials is on. More and more efficient batteries which, in a single charge, allow at least around 800 kmSono Motors goes even further with its vehicle, the paint of which is replaced by photovoltaic cells which provide a range of 35 km in addition to the 250 km of its battery. At Hyperion Motors, they are banking on hydrogen, which would make it possible to drive over 1,000 km without having to recharge the vehicle.

Regarding autonomous cars, the British Transport Minister, Rachel McLean, announced that these vehicles could run and be marketed in the United Kingdom from 2025. But for the company Mobileye the democratization of autonomous cars among the general public and authorities regulators will only be done by taxi services.

Beyond consumer cars, autonomous vehicles are investing in agriculture, construction sites and even delivery. Cruise, a startup partly owned by GM, will test delivery via autonomous vehicles in Arizona in partnership with Walmart. Caterpillar has launched an autonomous mining truck increasing the productivity of mine sites.

Again, autonomous mobility also happens in the air. This year no Uber, Bell or Hyundai (see our debrief of CES 2020) but an autonomous flying taxi concept presented by General Motors.

Connected masks

The Tech World in the Age of COVID-19

Obviously the global pandemic was present in all the conferences during this CES 2021. Technological players and startups have increased the number of announcements and product launches in order to fight against the virus. Samsung, LG, UbTech presented autonomous robots to disinfect rooms in a house or office using UV lamps.

Adibot

Razer, LG, MaskFone, Xrapid Group or even AirPop Active + have all launched a connected mask. They all compete in ingenuity with features to breathe better with ventilators or with the help of an oxygen cartridge, sensors that alert when to change filters, or even amplifiers of the user’s voice or even in incorporating headphones. The connected mask was clearly the trending product at CES 2021.

Bio Sticker

The fight against the virus also involves the use of biotrackers such as BioButton from the company BioIntelliSense. It works like a patch to stick on the skin. It monitors vital signs and identifies the first symptoms of the disease.

Other solutions present at the show: portable air filtration systems, door handles with integrated disinfection, doorbells with temperature measurement, refrigerators with a UV disinfectant system or even the portable lamp to clean your Motrex car.

Icon AI

The digitization of healthcare is accelerating

The digitization of health has been evident since the arrival of Covid-19. The penetration rate of telemedicine rose in the United States from 11% in 2019 to 76% in 2020. This digitization of medicine has greatly benefited startups like Teladoc, now valued at more than $ 1 billion.

On the CES, there is a multiplication of connected objects targeting health, such as the Oura Ring connected ring, the Sunrise patch to analyze the quality of sleep or even At-Patch for postoperative cardiac monitoring at home. Philips meanwhile offers a remote dental consultation service thanks to the data captured by its Sonicare Prestige toothbrush. Even the rehabilitation of the lower or upper limbs can be carried out at home and without a physiotherapist with H Robotics.


The prize goes to the Korean delegation who proposed the ideal connected health path. With Nuvilab you scan foods or dishes and we inform you if they are compatible with your pathologies. Algocare, for its part, creates food supplements on demand directly in your kitchen and according to your medical profile. A state of health which will first be monitored and analyzed by IconAI. This solution measures vital data such as blood pressure or oxygen saturation.

Dr_Amnon Shashua

A digitized world for better and for worse

For Dr Amnon Shashua, CEO of Mobileye, artificial intelligence will soon take the reading comprehension tests. An AI (Artificial Intelligence) can then read the registration file for a new vaccine with health authorities and compare it with the history of vaccines given to humans. Depending on the vaccine methods used and the patient’s state of health, the AI ​​will say whether or not it is appropriate to have them vaccinated. This should be possible in less than 5 years according to Dr Amnon Shashua. But according to him, the major problem around artificial intelligences is the notion of alignment, that is, the synchronization of artificial intelligence with human values, principles and ethics.

Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
As an expert in emerging technologies, Nicolas travels to innovation shows around the world to spot and analyse the new trends.
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Acteurs du commerce, ensemble, relevons
le défi de l'innovation

Bilan du CES2021 : Face au Covid-19, la technologie contre-attaque !

20
jan
2021
Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
4 minutes
Pour cette édition totalement digitalisée du CES, il y a eu « seulement » 75 000 participants, contre 175 000 l’an dernier physiquement à Las Vegas. L’audience a pu tenter de découvrir les solutions innovantes des exposants du salon digitalisé, mais avec plus ou moins de réussite. Le pool d’exposants était également moins important avec 1 960 entreprises présentes contre 4 500 l’an dernier, dont notamment 135 sociétés françaises.

Batteries General Motors

Demain une mobilité électrique pour tous.

Par rapport aux éditions précédentes, le nombre de constructeurs automobiles présents étaient très limité. Seul General Motors était venu pour faire de grandes annonces. Le constructeur américain va investir plus de 27 milliards de dollars dans les véhicules électriques de ses marques, comme avec le fameux Hummer. GM a d’ailleurs annoncé le déploiement d’une flotte de véhicules de livraison électrique en partenariat avec Fedex. Il s’agit du projet BrightDrop qui propose également un véhicule autonome pour les entrepôts de stockage.

Bright Drop by GM

FLYING CADILLAC GMQue ce soit GM, Panasonic, Bosch ou Magna avec LG, la course à la batterie éco-responsable et non dépendante de matières rares est enclenchée. Des batteries de plus en plus performantes qui en une seule charge permettent à minima de réaliser autour de 800 km. Sono Motors va encore plus loin avec son véhicule dont la peinture est remplacée par des cellules photovoltaïques qui apportent une autonomie de 35 km en complément des 250 km de sa batterie. Chez Hyperion Motors on mise sur l’hydrogène qui permettrait de conduire plus de 1000 km sans avoir à recharger son véhicule.
Concernant les voiture autonomes, la ministre des transports britanniques, Rachel McLean, a annoncé que ces véhicules pourraient rouler et être commercialisés au Royaume-Unis à partir de 2025. Mais pour la société Mobileye la démocratisation des voitures autonomes auprès du grand public et des instances régulatrices ne se fera que par les services de taxi.
Au-delà des voitures grand public, les véhicules autonomes investissent l’agriculture, les chantiers ou encore la livraison. Cruise, startup en partie détenue par GM, va tester, en Arizona, la livraison via des véhicules autonomes en partenariat avec Walmart. Caterpillar a lancé un camion autonome pour l’extraction minière augmentant la productivité des sites miniers.Encore une fois, la mobilité autonome se passe également dans les airs. Cette année pas de Uber, Bell ou Hyundai (cf notre debrief du CES 2020) mais un concept de taxi volant autonome présenté par Général Motors.

Connected masks

Le monde de la Tech à l’heure du COVID-19

Evidemment la pandémie mondiale était présente dans toutes les conférences lors de ce CES 2021. Les acteurs technologiques et les startups ont démultiplié les annonces et les lancements de produits afin de lutter contre le virus. Samsung, LG, UbTech ont présenté des robots autonomes pour désinfecter les pièces d’une maison ou d’un bureau grâce à des lampes à UV.

Adibot

Razer, LG, MaskFone, Xrapid Group ou encore AirPop Active+ ont tous lancé un masque connecté. Ils rivalisent tous d’ingéniosité avec des fonctionnalités pour mieux respirer avec des ventilateurs ou à l’aide d’une cartouche d’oxygène, de capteurs qui alertent quand changer les filtres, ou encore des amplificateurs de la voix de son utilisateur ou même en intégrant des écouteurs. Le masque connecté était clairement le produit tendance sur ce CES 2021.

Bio Sticker

La lutte contre le virus passe également par l’usage de biotrackers comme le BioButton de la société BioIntelliSense. Il fonctionne comme un patch à coller sur la peau. Il monitore les signes vitaux et identifie les premiers symptômes de la maladie.
Autres solutions présentes sur le salon : des systèmes de filtration d’air portatif, des poignées de porte avec désinfection intégrée, des sonnettes avec prise de température, des réfrigérateurs avec un système de désinfectant UV ou encore la lampe portative de nettoyer sa voiture Motrex.

Aux USA, il est même possible de commander et faire chez soi un test covid antigénique dont le résultat est validé par la FDA et accessible sur une application mobile.

Icon AI

La digitalisation de la santé en pleine accélération

La digitalisation de la santé ne fait aucun doute depuis l’arrivée du Covid-19. Le taux de pénétration de la télémédecine est passé aux Etats-Unis de 11% en 2019 à 76% en 2020. Cette digitalisation de la médecine a largement profité à des startups comme Teladoc, valorisée désormais plus d’1 milliards de $.
Sur le CES, il y une démultiplication objets connectés ciblant la santé, comme la bague connectés Oura Ring, le patch Sunrise pour analyser la qualité du sommeil ou encore At-Patch pour un monitoring cardiaque post opératoire à la maison. Philips quant à lui propose un service de consultation dentaire à distance grâce aux données captées par sa brosse à dents Sonicare Prestige. Même la rééducation des membres inférieurs ou supérieurs peut être réalisée à domicile et sans kinésithérapeute avec H Robotics.


La palme revient à la délégation Coréenne qui proposait le parcours de la santé connecté idéal. Avec Nuvilab vous scannez des aliments ou plats et on vous informe s’ils sont compatibles avec vos pathologies. Algocare, de son côté, créée sur demande des compléments alimentaires directement dans votre cuisine et en fonction de votre profil médical. Un état de santé qui sera au préalable monitoré et analysé par IconAI. Cette solution mesure les données vitales comme la pression artérielle ou la saturation en oxygène.

Dr_Amnon Shashua

Un monde digitalisé pour le meilleur et le pire

Pour le Dr Amnon Shashua, CEO de Mobileye, l’intelligence artificielle passera bientôt les tests de compréhension de lecture. Une IA (Intelligence Artificielle) pourra alors lire le dossier d’enregistrement d’un nouveau vaccin auprès des instances sanitaires et le comparer avec l’historique des vaccins donnés à l’homme. En fonction des procédés vaccinaux utilisés et de l’état de santé du patient, l’IA dira s’il est pertinent ou pas de le faire vacciner. Cela devrait être possible d’ici moins de 5 ans selon le Dr Amnon Shashua. Mais selon lui, le problème majeur autour des intelligences artificielles est la notion d’alignement, c’est-à-dire la synchronisation de l’intelligence artificielle avec les valeurs, les principes et l’éthique humaine.

Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
Expert des technologiques émergentes, Nicolas parcourt les salons innovations de par le monde pour sentir les nouvelles tendances.
Retour en haut de la page

+ d'actus