Retailers, let's face the challenges
of innovation together

COLLISION 2021 REPORT: THE TECH INDUSTRY IS READY FOR THE POST-COVID WORLD

28
apr
2021
Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
4 minutes

Collision is the North American version of the Web Summit. An event that is rising in the tech ecosystemand that is gaining more and more attention on the other side of the Atlantic. During this digital edition, more than 30,000 participants gathered to follow the conferences, discover startups or meet investors. This is the entire technological and innovative ecosystem that has been covered and discussed from Dan Schulman CEO of Paypal to David Beckham for UNICEF.

Obviously, COVID-19 was an underlying element of this event. Paddy Cosgrave, the founder of Collision and the Web Summit returned to the fact that he was hopeful that the next editions will receive audiences, especially from next September for his brand new event, the Web Summit Tokyo. However, the event model should certainly remain in hybrid mode, mixing real and digital, even after the pandemic.

Towards a valuable retail

For Casey Carl, head of omnichannel and operations at Walmart, the future of commerce will not be limited to the retail giants Amazon or Walmart. There are going to be multitudes of opportunities for local and hyper-specialized retailers.
The real problem is the soft underbelly of the retail world whose value proposition is almost non-existent. These distributors will then have to adapt, change or disappear. Walmart is also going to remove Bossanova robots from its shelves for a much simpler and more efficient shelf survey solution. A solution that will probably be based on fixed cameras and machine learning. He also returned to the fact that he believed a lot in video streaming to create new sales experiences, like what is done in Asia.

(Source: That Lot)

On this subject David Schneider, founder of That Lot, was very clear: the future is all about listening, sharing and experiencing for brands and retailers. Obviously today it is difficult to break free from social platforms. He estimates that the influencer market will experience growth of at least 15% in 2021.

As for the GenZs, it is important to understand that they are very committed to the fight against social and racial injustices since in the United States, they are 61% to support athletes who have dropped to one knee during of the national anthem at the start of each sporting event, in protest against police violence. At the same time, 61% of Boomers condemned this gesture. For brands, it’s important to understand that this commitment is important if they want to best target this young generation.

As for the next generation, the alphas are much less involved around screens according to Erika Faith, editor at Vice media.

The fight against aging is on

Colin Watts, CEO of Juvenescence, was very clear: “The fight against aging is accelerating thanks to science. Will it be normal to live more than a hundred years? “. The world of health has come a long way in recent years and the latest innovations in the field of gene therapy will allow humans to live longer and in better health within a few years. It is therefore the entire silver economy that will have to be rethought to best address the needs of this population of the future. For many experts, thanks to vaccination, covid-19 is already a thing of the past and now it is about the fight against cancer. For Hans Bishop, CEO of Grail, it all starts with screening tests to treat this pathology as soon as possible.

(source Grail)

Grail will therefore come out with a blood test that will detect up to 50 cancers in a blood test. This screening must become automatic at each annual check-up in order to be able to treat the disease immediately. A disease very often detected in phase 3 which limits the chances of success of the treatments. Screening is the most effective solution today.

Towards clean Supersonic journeys

And if taking a supersonic plane to travel was possible and with a neutral ecological impact. That’s the whole point of Boom Supersonic and its Overture supersonic aircraft project. An aircraft that will take half the time of a conventional long-haul aircraft while being 100% carbon neutral. The first tests of this concept will be carried out by the end of 2021 with a smaller supersonic model with the XB-1.

(Source Boom Supersonic)

For Blake Scholl, it is also about offering an accessible and most eco-responsible long-haul transport solution possible because for him it is in the nature of man to explore the world. Still in mobility but this time on land, it seems that some manufacturers of autonomous vehicles such as Aurora or Zoox are making road transport and taxis a priority far ahead of sales to individuals. According to Zoox founder Jesse Levinson, it will be easier to get the regulator’s approval to launch a commercial offer in these markets.

NFTs & Blockchain are booming

On the blockchain side, it is the NFTs (Non Fongible Token) that have made the buzz on many conferences. Whether in the field of sports, music or video games, the NFT surge took place during Collision. The best example being that of Dapper Labs with the NBA who launched NBA Top Shot. Thanks to NBA Top Shot fans can buy videos of the best actions of their favorite players. They become owners through authentication on the Ethereum blockchain. Depending on the rarity of the videos they can then be resold for several thousand dollars. A new way to engage with fans away from theaters and therefore generate money for the American League.

(source NBA Top Shot)

In the field of digital art it is the same success with Sotheby’s which sold for more than $ 17 million digital objects during its first sale of NFT which took place in mid-April. However, speculation around NFTs poses certain problems such as money laundering in some marketplaces.

To each his own digital double?

Synthetic media are gaining momentum, as with Soul Machines, which will create a digital double of NBA player Carmelo Anthony so that this avatar can be used to chat with fans on various social platforms. The goal is to make him a true ambassador like virtual influencers like Lil Miquela.

At Bank of America, no avatar but a virtual assistant in the person of Erica who, according to Cathy Bessant, CTO of Bank of America, must allow a bank branch in the hands of each of her clients. Not a very encouraging message for bank branches across the Atlantic.

Collision 2021 has succeeded in meeting its bet of a quality online event around technological and societal developments. This is an event that follows on from the Web Summit last December, allowing us to have an American prism on these tech developments.

Read all our debriefings of Collision here!

Club Echangeur

Echangeur club

Want to access unlimited publications, attend events and enjoy our help?

Join the Club!
Nicolas DIACONO
Technological Trends Senior Analyst
As an expert in emerging technologies, Nicolas travels to innovation shows around the world to spot and analyse the new trends.
Back to the top

+ d'actus

Bilan Collision
Reading Time: 6 minutes

Collision est la version nord-américaine du Web Summit. Un événement qui monte dans l’écosystème de la Tech et qui fait de plus en plus parler de lui de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique. Lors de cette édition digitale, ce sont plus de 30 000 participants qui se sont réunis pour suivre les conférences, découvrir les startups ou rencontrer des investisseurs. C’est tout l’écosystème technologique et innovant qui a été couvert et débattu de Dan Schulman CEO de Paypal à David Beckham pour l’UNICEF.

David Beckham at Collision

 

Evidemment, la COVID-19 était un élément sous-jacent de cet événement. Paddy Cosgrave, le fondateur de Collision et du Web Summit est revenu sur le fait qu’il avait bon espoir pour les prochaines éditions de recevoir du public, notamment dès septembre prochain pour son tout nouveau événement, le Web Summit Tokyo. Toutefois le modèle événementiel devrait très certainement rester en mode hybride, mêlant réel et digital, même après la pandémie.

Vers un commerce de valeur.

Pour Casey Carl, responsable de l’omnicanal et des opérations chez Walmart, l’avenir du commerce ne se limitera pas aux géants du commerce que sont les Amazon ou Walmart. Il va y avoir des multitudes d’opportunité pour les commerçants de proximité et hyper spécialisés.
La vraie problématique c’est le ventre mou du monde de la distribution dont la proposition de valeur est presque inexistante. Ces distributeurs vont alors devoir s’adapter, muter ou disparaitre. Walmart va d’ailleurs faire disparaitre les robots Bossanova de ses rayons pour une solution de relevé de linéaires beaucoup plus simple et efficace. Une solution qui sera vraisemblablement basée sur des caméras fixes et du machine learning. Il est d’ailleurs revenu sur le fait qu’il croyait beaucoup au streaming vidéo pour créer de nouvelles expériences de vente, à l’image de ce qui se fait en Asie.

 

(Source: That Lot)

Sur ce sujet David Schneider, fondateur de That Lot, a été très clair : l’avenir est à l’écoute, au partage et à l’expérience pour les marques et enseignes. Evidemment aujourd’hui difficile de s’affranchir des plateformes sociales. Il estime d’ailleurs que le marché des influenceurs va connaitre une croissance d’au moins 15% en 2021.

Pour ce qui est des GenZ, il est important de comprendre qu’ils sont très engagés dans la lutte contre les injustices sociales et raciales puisqu’aux Etats-Unis, ils sont 61% à soutenir les athlètes qui ont mis un genou à terre lors de l’hymne national au début de chaque événement sportif, en signe de protestation contre les violences policières. Dans le même temps 61% des bomers condamnaient ce geste. Pour les marques, il est important de comprendre que cet engagement est important si elles veulent cibler au mieux cette jeune génération.

Sylvain Labs(source Sylvain Labs)

Quant à la génération suivante, les alphas ils s’engagent beaucoup moins autour des écrans selon Erika Faith éditrice chez Vice média.

 

La lutte contre le vieillissement est lancée.

Colin Watts, CEO de Juvenescence, a été très clair : « La lutte contre vieillissement s’accélère grâce à la science. Il sera normal de vivre plus de cent ans ? ». Le monde de santé a beaucoup progressé ces dernières années et les dernières innovations dans le domaine des thérapies géniques vont permettre à l’être humain de vivre plus longtemps et en meilleure santé d’ici quelques années. C’est donc toute la silver économie qui va devoir être repensée pour adresser au mieux les besoins de cette population d’avenir. Pour beaucoup d’experts, grâce à la vaccination, la covid-19 fait déjà partie du passé et maintenant il s’agit de s’attaquer au cancer. Pour Hans Bishop, CEO de Grail, tout débute avec les tests de dépistages pour soigner au plus tôt cette pathologie.

Grail(source Grail)

Grail va donc sortir un test sanguin qui va permettre de détecter jusqu’à 50 cancers en une prise de sang. Ce dépistage doit devenir automatique à chaque bilan annuel pour pouvoir traiter tout suite la maladie. Une maladie bien souvent détectée en phase 3 ce qui limite les chances de succès des traitements. Le dépistage est aujourd’hui la solution la plus efficace.

 

Vers des voyages Supersonic propres

Et si prendre un avion supersonique pour voyager était possible et avec un impact écologique neutre. C’est tout l’objectif de Boom Supersonic et son projet d’avion supersonique Overture. Un avion qui mettra deux fois moins de temps qu’un avion long courrier classique tout en étant 100% neutre en carbone. Les premiers tests de ce concept seront réalisés d’ici la fin de l’année 2021 avec un modèle supersonique de plus petite taille avec le XB-1.

Boom Supersonic(Source Boom Supersonic)

Pour Blake Scholl, il s’agit également d’offrir une solution de transport long courrier accessible et le plus éco-responsable possible car pour lui il est dans la nature de l’homme de partir à la découverte du monde. Toujours dans la mobilité mais cette fois terrestre, il semble que certains constructeurs de véhicules autonomes comme Aurora ou Zoox fasse du transport routier et des taxis une priorité loin devant la vente aux particuliers. Selon le fondateur de Zoox, Jesse Levinson, il sera plus simple d’avoir l’accord du régulateur pour le lancement d’une offre commerciale sur ces marchés.

 

Le boom des NFTs & de la Blockchain

Coté blockchain ce sont les NFTs (Non Fongible Token) qui ont fait le buzz sur de nombreuses conférences. Que ce soit dans le domaine du sport, de la musique ou des jeux vidéo la déferlantes NFT a bien eu lieu lors Collision. Le meilleur exemple étant celui de Dapper Labs avec la NBA qui ont lancé NBA Top Shot. Grâce à NBA Top Shot les fans peuvent acheter des vidéos des meilleurs actions de leurs joueurs préférés. Ils en deviennent propriétaires via une authentification sur la blockchain Ethereum. Selon la rareté des vidéos elles peuvent ensuite se revendre pour plusieurs milliers de dollars. Une nouvelle manière de s’engager auprès des fans absents des salles et donc de générer de l’argent pour la ligue américaine.

NBA Top Shot(source NBA Top Shot)

Dans le domaine de l’art numérique c’est le même succès avec Sotheby’s qui a vendu pour plus de $17 millions d’objet digitaux lors de sa première vente de NFT qui a eu lieu mi-avril. La spéculation autour des NFTs posent toutefois certains problèmes comme le blanchiment d’argent dans certaines places de marché.

 

A chacun son double digital ?

Les médias de synthèse prennent de l’ampleur comme avec Soul Machines qui va créer un double digital du joueur NBA Carmelo Anthony afin que cet avatar puisque discuter avec les fans sur les différentes plateformes sociales. L’objectif est d’en faire un véritable ambassadeur à l’instar des influenceurs virtuels comme Lil Miquela.

Chez Bank of America, pas d’avatar mais un assistant virtuel en la personne d’Erica qui selon Cathy Bessant, CTO de Bank of America, doit permettre d’avoir une agence bancaire dans la main de chacun de ses clients. Un message pas très encourageant pour les agences bancaires de l’autre côté de l’atlantique.

Collision 2021 a réussi à tenir son pari d’un événement en ligne de qualité autour des évolutions technologiques et sociétales. C’est un événement qui se trouve dans la continuité du Web Summit de décembre dernier permettant d’avoir un prisme américain sur ces évolutions tech.

Retrouvez l’intégralité des débriefs de Collision ici.

 

Article publié le 28 avril 2021 par

Nicolas DiaconoNicolas Diacono

Senior Technology Trends Analyst 

lui écrire