CR20ECH
Reading Time: 5 minutes

 

IS THE DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION ACCELERATING THE RISE OF AMBIENT COMMERCE?

 

For 2020, Echangeur BNP Paribas Personal Finance announced the renewal of Commerce and Consumption. We’ve arrived!

The 9th edition of Commerce Reloaded 2020, the event dedicated to the impact of technological innovation on commerce, is marking the milestones of Ambient Commerce.
With the Covid-19 crisis, the heralded transformation is accelerating. This new form of Commerce borne by digital technology will play an even greater role in our lives. A new generation of stakeholders will establish themselves.
Having learned a great deal from a decisive year, on 17th September 2020 the experts at Echangeur shared the opportunities generated by recent generations, the health breakthrough, the offensive of ecosystems beyond GAFAM, new forms of mobility, retail dynamics, and more at a time when it’s about projecting yourself further.
This fully digital international event has brought together a number of professionals from the world of Commerce and stakeholders from the BNP Paribas Group.
The analyses shared at this event are featured in a 100-page report.

 

Watch below the key takeaways presented during the press conference below.


WHAT IS AMBIENT COMMERCE ?


SURF THE WAVE OF AMBIENT COMMERCE

Before the Covid-19 crisis had inevitably impacted the evolution of Commerce and Consumption, 2020 already represented a notable shift.

 

When Commerce becomes unquestionably ambient, frictionless and liberating, Consumption will reinvent itself by placing people and their empowerment at the core of the reactor.

This new wave suggests a rich and varied future harbouring countless possibilities, given the complexity of our environment and its many potential breaking points;

 


THE NEW PLAYERS OF AMBIENT COMMERCE

Beyond the giants of tech, GAFAM and BHATX*, which will be the obvious developers of it, are all the retail players, as well as the stakeholders in our everyday lives (cities, transport, health etc.) which will support this era of complete connectedness.

*GAFAM : Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft  / *BHATX : Baîdu, Huawei, Alibaba, Tencent, Xiaomi

 

AI Generation

A more demanding digital native generation, accustomed to the use of new, emerging technologies but pursuing them ethically.

 

Digital and inventive commerce in all channels and, a fortiori the point of sale, a place where the relationship is crystallised and the human remains central to the conversation.

 

Cities and transport increasingly connected with our new lifestyles, and led to reinvent our mobility and uses.

 

The new players of Care when health, its democratisation, as well as life expectancy and quality, are becoming major concerns.

 

Platforms connected directly to our daily lives, provided by the giants of tech and commerce, and encapsulated in the broad services ecosystems.

 


WELCOME AI GENERATION! – Our algorithmic lives

 

The Alpha generation, those born from 2010 onwards, who will have grown-up with the pandemic, will be made up of two billion individuals by 2025 (source: McCrindle institute). Their digital reference points will be 5G, voice assistants, Amazon Go and mixed reality. It is also a generation that will be born with an abundance of technological choice.

 


NEW RETAIL! – Human at the heart of digital commerce

 

The big winners of Covid-19 are local stores, short supply chains, the automation of points of sale, contactless technologies, drive-throughs, optimised queueing, serviced offerings and shopstreaming. From voice to streaming, these are the pre-requisites for implementing frictionless ambient commerce.

 


MOBILITY – The challenges of the smart city and new forms of mobility

 

More than half of the global population now live in cities, compared to 30% in 1950 and probably 68% in 2050 (according to the UN). This exponential urbanisation invites us to redefine how we manage flows right across the spectrum. While traditional or new players of all kinds are taking to the road of mobility, Tesla, or rather Teslism, embodies an automobile revolution at the heart of which software and the energy transition will play a more important role than bodywork and the engine.

 


CARE – Retailization of health

 

Big tech players as well as numerous start-ups have contributed to fighting Covid-19, clearly displaying their ambition in the domain of healthcare. In parallel with the advances of Amazon Care, Apple is offering its employees screenings and DNA analyses in “AC Wellness” clinics.
The aim? In the long term to provide personalised advice and treatments to the general public according to DNA and other data gathered by connected objects.

 


ECOSYSTEMIC – Industry of life

 

The life platforms advocated by the giants of technology (GAFAM, BATX) are exceeding our hopes and fears. They raise questions because they intrude on your personal lives, and impact the balance of all organisations. Their incursion into retail, the automotive industry, the smart home and health is becoming finer and finer. Other major retail players, like Walmart, Suning or Rakuten, are expanding their offer by investing in health of the smart home…

 


SCENARIOS – Who will be the big winner?

Regarding the digital transformation, Echangeur has delivered recently 4 scenarios for the future of consumption and retail during the next decade.

 

 

Life Control is the most influential scenario of this sixth technological wave while the 3 remaining scenarios are short term of long term regarding our changing world.

 

While GAFAM have reached record valuations during the crisis and large businesses and brands have overshadowed smaller businesses made more fragile by it, this poses the question of the survival of the fittest and its influence on our consumption. Civil society is in turmoil and is acting increasingly in favour of public interest and having a positive impact. Its actions are emancipating themselves from the established powers and growth at any cost. The question remains as to whether or not it will be evolution of our society that will take precedence over the growth of oligopolies generated by ambient commerce… or the contrary

 


TOMORROW? The 7th wave

Space conquest will then re-open a range of possibilities. The old world will crack under the assault of a more radical approach. And human beings will attempt to conquer this world beyond the Earth’s atmosphere. The visionaries of the private world like Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos and Richard Branson have grasped this well.

At the dawn of this new decade, a new generation of individuals and exchanges are emerging. A new world is being prepared with its codes, organisations, technologies and dreams. With hyper-acceleration comes radical change. It will be like… breaking the sound barrier. Whether it’s about organising the movements of connected cars, monitoring climate change variables or guiding a delivery to a home, the New Space will be one of the essential keys of our future.

However, shouldn’t we attempt to do the impossible when our future is in the stars?

 

Cécile Gauffriau
Director of l’Echangeur

cgauffriau@echangeur.fr

CR20ECH
Reading Time: 5 minutes

 

l’hyper-digitalisation accélère-t-elle l’avènement du Commerce Ambiant ?

 

L’Echangeur BNP Paribas Personal Finance annonçait pour 2020 le renouveau du Commerce et de la Consommation. Nous y sommes !

La 9ème édition de Commerce Reloaded 2020, l’événement dédié aux impacts de l’innovation technologique sur le commerce, marque les jalons du Commerce Ambiant.

Forts des enseignements d’une année décisive, les experts de l’Echangeur ont partagé le 17 septembre 2020 leur vision d’un futur tout connecté auprès de 500 professionnels du Commerce et de la Distribution sur plus de 24 pays et la valorisation d’un rapport toujours très attendu.

 

Nous nous vous proposons de découvrir dans la vidéo ci-dessous les principaux enseignements restitués en conférence de presse le même jour.

 


C’EST QUOI LE COMMERCE AMBIANT ?


SURFER SUR LE COMMERCE AMBIANT

Avant que la crise du Covid-19 n’impacte inévitablement l’évolution du Commerce et de la Consommation, 2020 représentait déjà un virage notable.

 

Quand le Commerce deviendra incontestablement ambiant, sans friction et libératoire, la Consommation se réinventera en plaçant l’humain et sa responsabilisation au cœur du réacteur.

Cette nouvelle vague invite à envisager un avenir riche et varié, porteur de plusieurs futurs, tant la complexité de notre environnement et ses multiples points de rupture ouvrent le champ des possibles.

 


LES NOUVEAUX ACTEURS DU COMMERCE AMBIANT

Au-delà des géants de la tech GAFAM* et BHATX*, qui en seront des promoteurs évidents, c’est l’intégralité des acteurs du commerce, ainsi que les parties prenantes de notre quotidien qui soutiendront cette ère du tout connecté.

*GAFAM : Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft  / *BHATX : Baîdu, Huawei, Alibaba, Tencent, Xiaomi

 

AI Generation

Une génération digital native plus exigeante, rompue à l’usage de nouvelles technologies émergentes mais en quête d’éthique.

 

Un commerce digitalisé et inventif sur tous ses canaux et a fortiori le point de vente, lieux de cristallisation de la relation et du maintien de l’humain comme pivot de la conversation.

 

Des villes et des transports de plus en plus connectés avec nos nouveaux styles de vie, et amenés à réinventer notre mobilité et les usages.

 

Les nouveaux acteurs du Care quand la santé, sa démocratisation, ainsi que l’espérance et la qualité de vie, deviennent des préoccupations majeures.

 

Des plateformes en prise directe avec notre quotidien, portées par les géants de la Tech et du Commerce et encapsulées dans de larges écosystèmes de services.

 


WELCOME AI GENERATION! – Nos vie algorythmiques

 

La génération Alpha ou GenZ, soit les enfants nés à partir de 2010, aura grandi avec la pandémie. Elle sera composée de 2 milliards d’individus en 2025 (source institut McCrindle). Ses repères digitaux seront la 5G, les assistants vocaux, Amazon Go et la réalité mixte. Elle sera la plus informée et la plus connectée de l’histoire de l’humanité.

 


RETAIL PHYSIQUE – L’humain au cœur du digital

 

Les grands gagnants du covid19 sont les magasins de proximité, le circuits-courts d’approvisionnement, l’automatisation des points de ventes, les technologies sans contact, drive, les files d’attente optimisées, l’offre servicielle ou, le shopstreaming. De la voix au streaming, ils sont les prérequis de toute implémentation d’un commerce ambiant sans friction.

 


MOBILITE – Enjeu de la Smart City et des nouvelles mobilités

 

Plus de la moitié de la population mondiale vit dans des villes, contre 30% en 1950 et 68% en 2050 (selon l’ONU). Cette urbanisation exponentielle redéfini la gestion des flux tous secteurs confondus. Les acteurs historiques ou nouveaux de tous bords se lancent sur la route de la mobilité. Tesla ou plutôt le Teslisme y incarne une révolution automobile au cœur de laquelle le logiciel et la transition énergétique auront plus d’importance que la carrosserie et le moteur.

 


CARE – Retailization de la Santé

 

Des acteurs de la big tech aussi bien que de nombreuses start-ups, ont participé à la lutte contre le Covid-19, affichant clairement leur ambition. Quand Amazon Care avance ses pions, Apple propose à ses employés des dépistages et des analyses ADN dans ses cliniques ‘AC Welness’. La cible ? Fournir à terme conseils et traitements personnalisés au grand public en fonction de l’ADN et d’autres données collectées par les objets connectés.

 


ECOSYSTEMIC – Industrie de la vie

 

Les plateformes de vie prônées par les géants de la technologie (GAFAM, BHATX) dépassent nos espérances ou nos craintes. Elles interpellent car elles s’immiscent dans notre intimité, et impactent l’équilibre des organisations. Leur incursion dans le commerce, l’automobile, la smart home ou la santé est de plus en plus fine. D’autres grands acteurs du commerce comme Walmart, Suning ou Rakuten étoffent leur offre en ce sens.

 


SCENARIOS – Qui sera le grand gagnant ?

Face à cette transformation, l’Echangeur a livré récemment 4 scénarios du futur de la Consommation et du Commerce pour mieux nous projeter dans la décennie à venir.

 

Les 4 scénarios

 

Life Control, sera le scenario le plus influent de cette 6ème vague technologique quand les 3 autres scenarios représentent une réponse à court, moyen et long terme aux changements qui impacte notre monde.

 

Alors que les GAFAM ont atteint des niveaux de valorisation records pendant la crise et que les grosses enseignes et marques ont pris le pas sur des établissements plus petits et fragilisés par celle-ci, se pose la question de la loi du plus fort et de son emprise sur notre consommation. La société civile est en ébullition et agit de plus en plus en faveur d’une utilité publique et d’un impact positif. Ses actions s’émancipent des pouvoirs établis et de la croissance à tout prix. La question reste de savoir si ce sera l’évolution de notre société qui prendra le pas sur l’accroissement des oligopoles générées par le commerce ambiant… ou le contraire.

 


ET DEMAIN ? Vers une 7ème vague

La conquête spatiale (ré)ouvre un champ des possibles. Au-delà de la globalisation et de l’automatisation exacerbées qui soutiennent le Commerce Ambiant, le progrès reposera sur le mieux vivre ensemble durablement. Les nouvelles générations auront à inventer ce nouveau monde.

L’Echangeur ose imaginer la prochaine vague technologique qui secouera notre environnement. L’aérospatial y jouera un rôle majeur.

A l’aune de cette nouvelle décennie, une nouvelle génération d’individus et d’échanges émergent et marque l’avènement du Commerce Ambiant. Un monde se prépare avec ses codes, ses organisations, ses technologies et ses rêves. Avec l’hyper-accélération c’est la rupture qui nous attend. Ce sera comme… passer le mur du son. Qu’il s’agisse d’organiser le déplacement des voitures connectées, de surveiller les variables du changement climatique ou de guider un livreur à domicile, le New Space sera l’une des clés essentielles de notre hyper-futur.

Ne doit-on pas décrocher la Lune quand notre avenir est dans les étoiles ?

 

Cécile Gauffriau
Directrice de l’Echangeur

cgauffriau@echangeur.fr